Customer Reviews for

Secrets of a Proper Lady

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    This story was simple and a little shallow at times, i found myself scanning and speed reading to get through the chapters,,, disappointed in the book although i liked the characters, the idea was simplistic and kind of silly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Listen!

    I'm honestly not sure if it was the performer reading this book (Charlotte Parry), or the pretty bad story line of the written word in this particular book, but the story was boring and the narriation was absolutly terrible. I thought the basic premise of the series was just fine for a series idea (a bet between single gentlemen to see who would be the last man to marry), but each book still needs to stand up on it's own, and this one doesn't even come close. One of the standard but overused plot points used here is that the two main characters lie to eachother about who they are. Fine, fine, (yaaaaawn) fine. It was difficult to listen to the two characters slog through this premise, but absolutely incredulous that the "deception" continued (waaaaaaaaay too) long well after *both characters* knew the truth of the matter! It was ridiculous! Worse than that was the nearly monotonal reading of all the characters by the narriator.

    Interestingly enough, I stumbled upon this series by downloading Seduction of a Perfect Gentleman, the last book of the series. The story line of that one was a bit better and the narriation was much better (read by Maxwell Caulfield). If you must listen to one of the books of this series, skip this one and purchase that one. ~audiobook addict

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    most boring romance author

    i keep trying to find a book by this author that is good. i read all these reviews for her and i frankly dont see how she is good. this book was sooo boring the characters were plain and in my opinion stupid. and i dont like stupidity.there was nothing interesting or exciting. this story could have easily been a one chapter book. i skipped through most of it and could fill in the blanks for myself. not in my opinion something i like and enjoy in a book. i liked to be kept on edge and have my heart strings pulled. nothing of the sort happened to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining historical.

    In 1854 London, visiting American businessman Daniel Sinclair is determined to win the wager of one pound each and a bottle of cognac he made with three English aristocrats as to who would be the last one standing single. Two are down and though he fears their tontine is cursed, Daniel does not plan on being next although he is betrothed to Lady Cordelia Bannister, as the competition is between him and Oliver Leighton.--------------- Cordelia and Daniel have never met so she decides to learn more about the American she is to marry if she finds him unsatisfactory she will call off the nuptials. She goes undercover pretending to be her companion, Sarah. However, Daniel needs time to put off his wedding if he is to win the wager when his fiancée¿s companion visits him he pretends to be a friend of Daniel. As they fall in love, both fears the truth will destroy their chance at lifetime of love.------------------- Readers will appreciate the madcap third Victorian romance that is a wild gender battle based on deception, misdirection, and love. The amusing story line is fun to follow as Daniel insists he¿s not in love and Cordelia fears her masquerade will cost her the love of a lifetime. As with WHAT A LADY WANTS and LITTLE BIT WICKED, sub-genre fans will toast Victoria Alexander for an entertaining historical.------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Not her best work

    I found the characters' ideas to be highly frustrating and, for supposedly intelligent people, extremely stupid. The ending was lackluster at best! I have read and enjoyed many of Victoria Alexander's works and was very disappointed in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Story Filled with Laughter and Love

    In SECRETS OF A PROPER LADY, the third book in Victoria Alexander's fabulous and fun 'Last Man Standing' series, the author takes us back to 1854 Victorian England and gives us a thoroughly delightful tale that's set partly in London, but also offers us a refreshingly different setting, that of the picturesque seaside resort town of Brighton¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿. Lady Cordelia Bannister, the youngest daughter of the Earl of Marsham, is pretty, intelligent and has a very independent nature. She is very well traveled for a young woman of her time and is also a talented writer who has written several articles for ladies magazines and eventually plans to write a book on travel for women. At almost 26 Cordelia has yet to marry--though she had had several offers, she never felt her affections were engaged. She wants to marry a man who'll accept her for herself, respect her and her opinions and also--to marry for love¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿ In the past her parents had always supported her endeavors, as well as, her desire to wed for love, but now her father's having some financial problems with his shipping enterprise and he wants Cordelia to accept an arranged marriage to the only son of Mr. Harold Sinclair, a wealthy and well respected American businessman who owns a very successful steamship line because both families would benefit--socially and financially--from the union¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿ The only thing Daniel Sinclair, a handsome, intelligent, hardworking and ambitious American railroad entrepreneur--and all around nice guy--knows about Lady Cordelia is that his father has (again) taken it upon himself to arrange a marriage for him to a British heiress. Daniel is quite angry about his father's highhandedness because at 31 he would prefer to choose his own wife--and he definitely doesn't want one as part of a business arrangement. Yet, Daniel's a man of integrity and he feels honor bound to uphold the family name and keep the commitment his father made with Lord Marsham. He knows his only way out is if Cordelia refuses to marry him¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿. Cordelia is a responsible young woman as well, and understands the importance of her marrying to save her family from possible financial ruin...But can she actually marry someone for mainly monetary reasons and her sense of filial duty--thereby giving up her chance at finding her 'one true love'? Or is Daniel's coming into her life really 'fate' at work???...................................... Cordelia decides to take fate into her own hands and determine for herself what kind of man Mr. Sinclair is and if he's someone she can spend the rest of her life with. She pretends to be her cousin Sarah so she can ask Daniel's secretary, Mr. Warren Lewis, questions about her 'intended'. Unbeknownst to Cordelia, when she approaches the man she thinks is Mr. Lewis as he walks in the park--it's actually Daniel. After learning this charming woman is Lady Cordelia's companion, he decides to continue pretending to be Warren to learn more about Cordelia...and because he can't resist the urge to talk to the pretty woman with the lovely green eyes again.***** ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿. There were so many things I loved about SOAPL. Daniel and Cordelia were perfect for each other their interactions and conversations were such fun (with many laugh out loud moments) and it was a delight to watch them both try to fight their attraction--try to keep up their deceptions--and still try to do the right and honorable thing as their conscience demanded. I was completely enthralled to the very end of the story because I had no idea how Cordelia and Daniel were going to get out of the 'grand' mess they had both created, but I knew I wanted them to have their HEA ending¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿.. This was such a fun story with great characters and so many amusing plot twists and turns. Ms. Alexander's storytelling 'voice' is always wonderfully smooth a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1