Customer Reviews for

Secrets of a Summer Night (Wallflower Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Loved it!!!!

    Well I've been a sucker for a romantic chase between a devilishly handsome, charming, rake since Rhett Butler and Scarlett in 'Gone With The Wind', yet I didn't know it was possible to ever love 4 characters more than them. I was pleasantly suprised after I read Stranger in my Arms I didn't think any of Lisa's books would compare but it keeps getting better. I loved this story, the setting, the era and especially Mr. Simon Hunt. I became lost in this book, totally attached to the characters and saddend when it came close to the end. I have only 2 chapters left to go but I am so happy the story goes on after their wedding it leaves the reader feeling very connected to the couple. I am also happy that there are 3 more Wallflower books I have to look forward to. Even though I've read the other book reviews, It seems hard to believe that this book is the least of the best in the Wallflower series. I loved it so much so I can only wonder how fascinating the others are. I will be moving on to Part 2, 'It Happened One Autumn, but I really don't want to leave Simon and Annabelle behind. How can the other wallflowers top her, and how can any other heroin top Simon...he's so delicious.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A hearwarming story

    In 1841, Annabelle Peyton and her brother Jeremy cannot afford the price of a show so wealthy Simon Hunt, son of a butcher, lends them the money. During the show, the entrepreneur kisses the aristocrat, who to her chagrin enjoyed the moment. However, her upbringing insures she puts a halt to Simon¿s intentions............................ Two years later, Annabelle and three other young females (Evangeline Jenner, Lillian Bowman, and her younger sister Daisy Bowman) form the Wallflowers squad, whose vision is to have each member happily married in the near future. Though she would prefer marrying for love, Annabelle hopes her teammates will help her find a wealthy spouse. Of course, Simon is still enticing and has loot, but can she really wed someone from the working class even if he is willing, which he insists he is not?............................ This early Victorian romance is fun to follow because the support cast, predominantly the other Wallflowers provide depth with their all 'four' one and one for all philosophy of assisting each other in spousal hunting. This teaming freshens up the typical class warfare tale that serves as the prime issue between the lead couple. Fans of husband hunting on an Olympic level will appreciate SECRETS OF A SUMMER NIGHT and look forward to the tales starring Annabelle¿s band of sisters................ Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I enjoyed this novel because the female protagonist didn't marry the usual peer. Instead she fell in love with a "commoner". It was refreshing, and very intriguing seeing these two come together. Although, it is your typical "she hates him, then loves him" story, nonetheles, it has its quirks.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Fantastic!!

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I read the back and expected a typical regency romance, but it was far from it. I found the whole story, from beginning to end, to be hugely romantic and very entertaining. All of the Wallflowers make for a really fun cast of characters and you really feel the friendship and fun between them. I thought the hero was a refreshing change. He wasn't the most sought after man with titles and class and all that typical stuff. He was just a man who worked hard and made a great life for himself and he just wanted the woman of his dreams to share it with. It was heartbreaking to read about her snubs towards him when he was clearly so in love with her. When she finally comes around you want to cheer. I just loved this book and I am going to make a point of tracking down more books by Lisa!! I am really looking forward to the rest of the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    ** spoiler alert ** I would probably give this book 4.5 stars, b

    ** spoiler alert ** I would probably give this book 4.5 stars, but there's no place to do that. This was a refreshingly wonderful read! It was the first time I ever really read a romance novel. It was certainly a good choice. 




    I was instantly drawn to the story since it took place in the 1800's in England. I love historical novels, so this fit right in. 




    I fell in love with the main male character--Simon Hunt. He was a charming man--rugged, yet gentle. Annabelle, the object of affection, was has-been aristocrat. The majority of the novel deals with her hunt for a titled, wealthy man. She decides that she needs to marry a titled man and not marry for love. She keeps the company of three other women who are "wallflowers." No aristocrat wants to marry them.




    As the novel goes along, Annabelle struggles to keep her resolve as Simon pursues her. I won't give away the storyline, but it takes a predictable turn three quarters of the way through the book. 




    Towards the end of the book, Lisa Kleypas inserts an incident that takes the reader by surprise. And finally, Annabelle and Simon come face to face with their true feelings. The final scene between them is certainly worth the read.




    Since the story is the first in a series, she inserts an epilogue that sets things in motion for the next books in the series. I think she accomplishes her purpose of giving a teaser for future books.




    I was very pleased with Lisa Kleypas's writing style. She was very descriptive in the way she told the story. It was a predictable romance novel, I but I felt that she held my interest quite well.




    One side note--yes, it had a few bedroom scenes, but how refreshing it was that they only occurred after the two got married. (Yes, I guess that is a spoiler.) It may offend some readers, but I felt that it was handled in a delicate manner, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. I was not embarrassed in the least. And thankfully, the language used in the book was not what I would call true profanity. That was nice, too!! I would recommend this romance novel to women in their 20's and beyond.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Lisa is just great

    I find it difficult with writers of this time period to balance a good story with a good sexual aspect. I find that Lisa does this very well. I have read all of this series and the following group of siblings. You will not be disappointed reading any of them. She keeps you caring about the characters.....thats the most important thing. I have reread all of the books i own of hers at least three times. They are all good investments of my money. Thank you Lisa for doing your readers proud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    One of my favorites

    This book is a great read & has become one of my all-time favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UNDOUBTEDLY AN INVIGORATING PASSIONATE NOVEL

    Annabelle Peyton is a beauty beyond compare. Any pure lineage peer would be well compensated for she is resourceful, kind-hearted, confident, and a head-strong woman. Never giving up on her family's misfortunes at any cost, especially since her father died. As her mother Philippa, younger brother Jeremy, and she have been living without. Constantly wearing out of date clothes, using paste to replace the jewels that were sold in their rings, necklaces, and etc., and any funds they do receive is put forth to Jeremey's school, debts, and bare essentials. Annabelle is determined to marry a peer with an exclusively well accomplished fortune. However, the only man she manages to attract is someone she absolutely has no desires for what so ever, Simon Hunt. Even if his stolen kiss has been playing over & over again in her mind for the past two years; and occasionally running into him in London, she spews his insufferable actions towards her to Philippa. Annabelle is undoubtedly curtain she can overwhelmingly do better than Mr. Hunt. A man who has an infinite repurtation for seducing women, as his mistresses, than cast them aside when he tires of them.

    It's not until she attends another ball, sitting in her usual section, against the wall amongst the other wallflowers. As Annabelle has seen the same faces at all the other balls she has attended, she forms a long-lasting friendship with these women. The undisciplined Bowman sisters, Lillian and Daisy from America, and a lonely stuttering girl, Evangeline "Evie" Jenner. Both the Bowman's and Miss Jenner possess a prestige wealth. Since Annabelle is the eldest and this being her last season, they have devised a plan to endow her with all the funds necessary, (dresses, information, & etc.) to attract a peer at Stony Cross Park, Lord Westcliff's estate. The location where a fair amount of peearge will venture towards the end of the season.

    Once becoming full aware of Mr. Hunt's presence at Stony Cross Park, Annabelle is determined to put as much distance between them as possible. Simon has also developed his own diverse plan to entrap Annabelle. Knowing full well of her money circumstances, and the fact she will eventually circum to his advances, and be a willing participant as his mistress. Of course, with no intentions of ever marrying her, just humiliating her honor. The more Annabelle despires him, the more they are drawn to each other. Simon always appears at the exact moments Annabelle is in dire need of his or any assistance. Especially from the many various scenarios hurtling in her direction. However, when a peer with an immense amount of wealth attracts Annabelle's interest, and the involvement of the wallflowers at her disposal, will she be able to turn her back on the hidden passion she's developing for Mr. Hunt? Will Simon be able to stand aside for Annabelle's happiness or fight to obtain what he desires most?

    This book has quickly became one of my favorites. Due to the fact, it possesses many intriguingly aspects of the "Cat & Mouse" game often played amongst future lovers. The buildup of the unforeseen passionate emotions, that becomes explosive once fully discovered; and indulging in my own chess game or escapades in the linen closet with my lover, is much to be desired for as well. A galvanizing, mind-blowing introduction to the Wallflower Series. Once again another SIZZLING, ENTCINGLY written novel, well done Lisa Kleypas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read

    I was really excited to read this book. I have recently "discovered" Lisa KLeypas and her books and have been collecting as many of them as I can get my hands on (I'm doing really well, being as I have almost almost all of her books now).

    I had extremely high hopes for this book. It was good, but perhaps my expectations were just a bit too high. I thought the plot was really intriguing (come on, the idea of four wallflowers bading together to find husbands :) ). I thought that Simon Hunt was a great hero. He is quite charming. Annabelle is headstrong and knows what she wants. However, there were definitely points where I found myself frustrated with her and the other Wallflowers' scheming.

    I laughed and found myself unable to put the book down at times, while at others I was a bit frustrated. In the end, I found the story extremely moving and charming. You can understand both characters and where they are coming from emotionally. While this book is clearly meant to set readers up for Lillian's book, I found myself a bit frustrated by her. I am actually really looking forward to Daisy's story, as she is quite different from the other three headstrong ladies. This is a strong book to launch the series, but not my favorite book by Kleypas so far. I do recommend it though, for there are some truly brilliant moments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    My Favorite of the Series.

    I read the Wallflowers Series all out of order, so this was the last one I got to and it turned out to be my favorite, although Lillian's story (#2) is a close second. Everything you'd expect from Lisa Kleypas - perfect for a rainy Saturday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS

    I loved this book. It was fun and entertaining. I loved Anabelle's character and the wallflowers relationship and loyalty to eachother. I also loved Simon's determination not to let Anabelle push him away. He continued to pursue her after years of trying, I loved the fact that he was finally able to win her and spoil her, yet not loosing himself. I also liked that it consentrated mostly on the story, not on the sex scenes. It had alittle of everything! drama, laughter, excitement and I most of all friendship. I couln't wait to read about the other Wallflowers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    excellent book

    excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Not what I expected

    I was really into the first half of the book and then it just went no where. I honestly kept reading it only because I thought something of importance would eventually happen. It, unfortunately, didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Enjoyed the book and loved Simon and the wallflowers. Sometimes

    Enjoyed the book and loved Simon and the wallflowers. Sometimes not sure I loved Annabelle but the story was very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good

    A great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I have been looking for a historical romance novelist that would compare to the likes of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. I have finally found her! From the first page I was enthralled and could not put it down! I cannot wait to complete this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Love this book and author!

    I just found this author and love her writting style. Her characters are interesting and well developed. This book was so good I couldn't put it down.
    Loved Annebelle, she really grew up, matured and became such an interesting character. Simon was determined, strong, intense and even sweet. Loved the way their relationship grew to something very special, it had some of the banter that was the chase so to speak, but not too much just enough- all around this is a great book! Looking forward to the next in this series.. I want to see what happens to the rest of the Wallflowers.
    G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Amazing! I loved every minute. Highly recommend! 

    Amazing! I loved every minute. Highly recommend! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book.  It was the perfect combination of h

    I really enjoyed this book.  It was the perfect combination of historical fiction/romance novel.  The other books in the Wallflower series are just as enjoyable and allow you to continue the stories of the couples from the previous novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Donna

    Love love loved this book!!! One of my favortes from Lisa KLeypas!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15