Customer Reviews for

Secrets of a Summer Night (Wallflower Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I stayed up late finishing "Secrets of a Summer Night,"

    I stayed up late finishing "Secrets of a Summer Night," and the moment I read the last page, I nearly wanted to cry because there was nothing more to read. Finally, a romance novel about love instead of lust! The novel was so engaging and so satisfying that I couldn't wait to read more from Kleypas, and the very next day, I went out and bought two more of her books. If you're looking for a more realistic development of a romantic relationship between two characters, this would definitely be a book to try. Where most books end with the happy marriage, the author takes it further. It's clear that when they marry, it's probably more out of lust and the beginnings of love. They barely know each other. Annabelle even acknowledges it to herself shortly after she and Simon marry--she hardly knows him, she doesn't have a clear idea what he does for work, and she didn't even have any idea where he lived! (Their romance blossomed at a week-long party at the estate of a mutual acquaintance.) The meat of the book, instead of being how they finally marry and everything's happy, is actually about how they get to really know and care for one another after they marry, and how these two very practical, guarded characters finally acknowledge their love for each other, and this is a process that changes them both. Lisa Kleypas is virtually unbeatable in the hero department. Her heroes are an incredibly potent mix of tender, loving, sexy, arrogant bad boys that I simply can't resist and Simon is no exception. I also have to commend the author for pushing the envelope with Annabelle. She is unapologetically selfish and mercenary and she will stop at nothing to get what she wants. She clearly wants to marry a peer not only for the well being of her mother and brother but also for her own well being. She makes no bones about wanting to be part of high society and having money and servants.     

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Loved it!!!!

    Well I've been a sucker for a romantic chase between a devilishly handsome, charming, rake since Rhett Butler and Scarlett in 'Gone With The Wind', yet I didn't know it was possible to ever love 4 characters more than them. I was pleasantly suprised after I read Stranger in my Arms I didn't think any of Lisa's books would compare but it keeps getting better. I loved this story, the setting, the era and especially Mr. Simon Hunt. I became lost in this book, totally attached to the characters and saddend when it came close to the end. I have only 2 chapters left to go but I am so happy the story goes on after their wedding it leaves the reader feeling very connected to the couple. I am also happy that there are 3 more Wallflower books I have to look forward to. Even though I've read the other book reviews, It seems hard to believe that this book is the least of the best in the Wallflower series. I loved it so much so I can only wonder how fascinating the others are. I will be moving on to Part 2, 'It Happened One Autumn, but I really don't want to leave Simon and Annabelle behind. How can the other wallflowers top her, and how can any other heroin top Simon...he's so delicious.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A hearwarming story

    In 1841, Annabelle Peyton and her brother Jeremy cannot afford the price of a show so wealthy Simon Hunt, son of a butcher, lends them the money. During the show, the entrepreneur kisses the aristocrat, who to her chagrin enjoyed the moment. However, her upbringing insures she puts a halt to Simon¿s intentions............................ Two years later, Annabelle and three other young females (Evangeline Jenner, Lillian Bowman, and her younger sister Daisy Bowman) form the Wallflowers squad, whose vision is to have each member happily married in the near future. Though she would prefer marrying for love, Annabelle hopes her teammates will help her find a wealthy spouse. Of course, Simon is still enticing and has loot, but can she really wed someone from the working class even if he is willing, which he insists he is not?............................ This early Victorian romance is fun to follow because the support cast, predominantly the other Wallflowers provide depth with their all 'four' one and one for all philosophy of assisting each other in spousal hunting. This teaming freshens up the typical class warfare tale that serves as the prime issue between the lead couple. Fans of husband hunting on an Olympic level will appreciate SECRETS OF A SUMMER NIGHT and look forward to the tales starring Annabelle¿s band of sisters................ Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Fantastic!!

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I read the back and expected a typical regency romance, but it was far from it. I found the whole story, from beginning to end, to be hugely romantic and very entertaining. All of the Wallflowers make for a really fun cast of characters and you really feel the friendship and fun between them. I thought the hero was a refreshing change. He wasn't the most sought after man with titles and class and all that typical stuff. He was just a man who worked hard and made a great life for himself and he just wanted the woman of his dreams to share it with. It was heartbreaking to read about her snubs towards him when he was clearly so in love with her. When she finally comes around you want to cheer. I just loved this book and I am going to make a point of tracking down more books by Lisa!! I am really looking forward to the rest of the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    One of my favorites

    This book is a great read & has become one of my all-time favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UNDOUBTEDLY AN INVIGORATING PASSIONATE NOVEL

    Annabelle Peyton is a beauty beyond compare. Any pure lineage peer would be well compensated for she is resourceful, kind-hearted, confident, and a head-strong woman. Never giving up on her family's misfortunes at any cost, especially since her father died. As her mother Philippa, younger brother Jeremy, and she have been living without. Constantly wearing out of date clothes, using paste to replace the jewels that were sold in their rings, necklaces, and etc., and any funds they do receive is put forth to Jeremey's school, debts, and bare essentials. Annabelle is determined to marry a peer with an exclusively well accomplished fortune. However, the only man she manages to attract is someone she absolutely has no desires for what so ever, Simon Hunt. Even if his stolen kiss has been playing over & over again in her mind for the past two years; and occasionally running into him in London, she spews his insufferable actions towards her to Philippa. Annabelle is undoubtedly curtain she can overwhelmingly do better than Mr. Hunt. A man who has an infinite repurtation for seducing women, as his mistresses, than cast them aside when he tires of them.

    It's not until she attends another ball, sitting in her usual section, against the wall amongst the other wallflowers. As Annabelle has seen the same faces at all the other balls she has attended, she forms a long-lasting friendship with these women. The undisciplined Bowman sisters, Lillian and Daisy from America, and a lonely stuttering girl, Evangeline "Evie" Jenner. Both the Bowman's and Miss Jenner possess a prestige wealth. Since Annabelle is the eldest and this being her last season, they have devised a plan to endow her with all the funds necessary, (dresses, information, & etc.) to attract a peer at Stony Cross Park, Lord Westcliff's estate. The location where a fair amount of peearge will venture towards the end of the season.

    Once becoming full aware of Mr. Hunt's presence at Stony Cross Park, Annabelle is determined to put as much distance between them as possible. Simon has also developed his own diverse plan to entrap Annabelle. Knowing full well of her money circumstances, and the fact she will eventually circum to his advances, and be a willing participant as his mistress. Of course, with no intentions of ever marrying her, just humiliating her honor. The more Annabelle despires him, the more they are drawn to each other. Simon always appears at the exact moments Annabelle is in dire need of his or any assistance. Especially from the many various scenarios hurtling in her direction. However, when a peer with an immense amount of wealth attracts Annabelle's interest, and the involvement of the wallflowers at her disposal, will she be able to turn her back on the hidden passion she's developing for Mr. Hunt? Will Simon be able to stand aside for Annabelle's happiness or fight to obtain what he desires most?

    This book has quickly became one of my favorites. Due to the fact, it possesses many intriguingly aspects of the "Cat & Mouse" game often played amongst future lovers. The buildup of the unforeseen passionate emotions, that becomes explosive once fully discovered; and indulging in my own chess game or escapades in the linen closet with my lover, is much to be desired for as well. A galvanizing, mind-blowing introduction to the Wallflower Series. Once again another SIZZLING, ENTCINGLY written novel, well done Lisa Kleypas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS

    I loved this book. It was fun and entertaining. I loved Anabelle's character and the wallflowers relationship and loyalty to eachother. I also loved Simon's determination not to let Anabelle push him away. He continued to pursue her after years of trying, I loved the fact that he was finally able to win her and spoil her, yet not loosing himself. I also liked that it consentrated mostly on the story, not on the sex scenes. It had alittle of everything! drama, laughter, excitement and I most of all friendship. I couln't wait to read about the other Wallflowers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2015

    Recommend.

    I really enjoyed this one! Very romantic and great chemistry between the protagonists. Action with suspence and swooning also involved! I recommend this book.

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Good read

    Always a pleasure, I plan to reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I have been looking for a historical romance novelist that would compare to the likes of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. I have finally found her! From the first page I was enthralled and could not put it down! I cannot wait to complete this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Amazing! I loved every minute. Highly recommend! 

    Amazing! I loved every minute. Highly recommend! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book.  It was the perfect combination of h

    I really enjoyed this book.  It was the perfect combination of historical fiction/romance novel.  The other books in the Wallflower series are just as enjoyable and allow you to continue the stories of the couples from the previous novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Donna

    Love love loved this book!!! One of my favortes from Lisa KLeypas!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Passion, insight, love, and humor are the ingredients of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Loved everything about it!

    Loved everything about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    first of really good series

    this series is one that you might want to read in order. It's not strictly necessary, like Harry Potter is, but this one sets up the premise and introduces the four heroines, each of whom will have her own book. The main series stops at 4, one for each season, but a 5th Christmas one is added later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    could not put it down!

    this book has wonderful characters that are full of life! i was never bored with the story line. i could not put this book down. . .. going on to wallflower book #2 now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend the entire series!

    This is a good "escape reality" book. If you have no romance, this will provoke your thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to the Wallflower series

    This was my first Lisa Kleypas book and I found "Secrets of a Summer Night" to be a great romance. It was nice to have female characters who were friends and wanted to help each other, rather than see each other as competition on the marriage mart. I did not find Annabelle snotty; I found her reactions to poverty understandable, given her situation and the fear of having to survive as her mother has had to. Although Simon initially asks Annabelle to be his mistress, I find it quite clear that he wants more than a sexual connection to her. This was a light, very enjoyable read, with room for laughter as well. I look forward to the rest of the Wallflower books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    summer love

    this is great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8