Customer Reviews for

Secrets of a Wedding Night (Secret Brides Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Sexy, Fun, Engaging!

    Disclaimer - the author, Valerie Bowman, is one of my critique partners and my friend. However, I only review a book if I love it. If I read a book I don't love, I don't write a review.

    With that being said, this book is funny and sexy, a delightful Regency romp. Valerie's humor reminds me very much of Julia Quinn, with her own unique twist. So, if you like Julia Quinn, add Valerie Bowman to your watch list. This is her debut novel, and there are two more in the series coming after this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gambling on Love Light, sparkling, with the feeling of a French

    Gambling on Love

    Light, sparkling, with the feeling of a French farce as the hero and heroine rekindle their former romance.

    They come together (the premise feels somewhat contrived) after Lily's scandalous pamphlet, "Secrets of a Wedding Night," causes Devon's fiancee to break their engagement. Lily is suspected of being the author, but cannot admit it, lest she be ruined in polite Society.

    Each has more secrets than the other knows, and each had their plans of eloping, five years previously, cut short by parents who forged a "Dear John" letter to stop the impetuous lovers in their tracks. So both Lily and Devon have felt betrayed for years.

    Lily, now widowed (but secretly, still a virgin) is trying to stave off creditors and care for her sister Anne, on the eve of Anne's come-out. Devon is on the verge of fulfilling his oath to his dead gambler father, and reclaiming the family ring from the hand of the man who cheated it away from him.

    Of course, love (and champagne) conquer all in the end. A great debut and I'll be reading more by this author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SECRETS OF A WEDDING NIGHT by Valerie Bowman is an exciting Rege

    SECRETS OF A WEDDING NIGHT by Valerie Bowman is an exciting Regency historical romance. What an delightful debut novel by this author filled with passion, witty banter,a bit of humor,a lot of sensual tension,secrets, love and did I mention seduction. Cleverly written,fun to read,charming characters,and an interesting plot. Follow Lily Andrews, Countess of Merrill and Devon Morgan, Marquis of Colton on a merry chase of seduction,forgiveness,healing and a scandalous pamphlet that has all of London in a uproar. "Secrets of a Wedding Night" is a fantastic read! I loved it and can hardly wait for the next installment of "Secret Brides" trilogy. If you enjoy witty dialogue,a bit of controversy,with strong characters,a secret or two,historical romance and Regency you will enjoy this read. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,St. Martin's Press, and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Join SunClan

    At 'esyay' first result.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Secrets of a Wedding Night BLG11.18.2012 by Valerie Bowman I am

    Secrets of a Wedding Night BLG11.18.2012
    by Valerie Bowman
    I am so excited to read and write about this much awaited book. Congratulations Valerie, it so reflects your vibrant, humourous personality!

    Who knew a little pamphlet could become the Pandora's Box of this London season. It is an informational booklet, written anonymously, about the horrors of marriage, specifically the wedding night. It has spread fear in virgins throughout the city. No one knows the author's identity...except Devon Morgan, newly crowned, Marquis of Colton. He is sure it is his love of 5 years ago, the dowager Lady Lily (Andrews) Merrill. Her one month marriage to Lord Merrill, 30 years her elder, was anything but happy and fulfilling.

    Five years ago Colton and Lily had been in love and were planning to run away to marry in Gretna Greene. Man-made circumstances prevented this from happening. As a result, Lily was forced to marry Lord Merrill. He died one month later and left Lily in financial ruin. Meanwhile, Devon completed his education and silently made a fortune. He is in need of an heir and decides to marry Miss Amelia Templeton, who cries off after reading Secrets Of A Wedding Night. This infuriates Colton and he confronts Lily, demanding she write a retraction. Lily did not fess up to being the author of this scandal rag. Colton is sure it is her doing and "threatens" (for lack of a better term) that he is going to seduce her and show her how a woman is to be bedded and made satisfied. He is tall, dark and insanely good looking, so why not!?! Let's sit back and enjoy the ride. So begins a colossal game of cat and mouse...but there is more than one cat in this game. There is the interference and manipulation of both parents.

    Lord Merrill forgave Lord Colton (father) a large debt for his cooperation and assistance in keeping Devon from Lily, which he did by writing a note to her, as Devon, saying he was not coming to pick her up. Lily's mother was so anxious for her to marry ($$$) well that she too wrote a note, as Lily, saying she had changed her mind.

    Devon's best friend, Jordan Holloway, the Earl of Ashbourne does not believe in love and does his utmost to divert his attention away from marriage. And Devon has a larger, more important secret. All this deception, all these secrets create a light hearted, entertaining, sensual and fun read. I am a Valerie Bowman fan and cannot wait for her next blossom on the bush.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    *

    Fun reading with sexy story. Enjoyed it very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    Yummy Read!

    Secrets of a Wedding Night is my favorite type of story: a reunion romance set in the glittering world of Regency London.

    Recently widowed Lily has a young sister, a charming dog and two hapless servants all in her care. Broke and struggling, she refuses to give into despair or let anyone know her means are so thinly stretched. She writes a pamphlet warning young women about the horrors that await them in the marriage bed. The pamphlet becomes a sensation and brings her both the satisfaction of ending her first love’s engagement and some much needed money to help her through her sister’s season.

    Lily’s first-love Devon reacts in rage, vowing to seduce Lily if she does not write a retraction. He believes Lily purposefully abandoned him on the night of their elopement five years ago and he cannot countenance the fact she is also responsible for his fiancée’s cold refusal. He will make her pay…one sizzling kiss at a time.

    I sighed, laughed out loud and bit my lip in worry as I followed Lily and Devon through a wonderfully woven web of secrets, lies, sensuality and, ultimately, redemption. The Author’s wit and humor are a rare find. I highly recommend Secrets and look forward to more of Valerie Bowman’s titles.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by  Book provided by the publisher for review Review or

    Reviewed by 
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    This is one historical romance book that everyone should read.

    Lilly Andrews is a woman that has to let her dreams of marrying the man she loves and marrying someone that her parents want her to marry. She was going to run away to Gretna Green to marry but the groom never showed up. She is ussed to always making sure that everyone is taken care of no matter what she has to do to get it done. So when she writes “Secrets of a Wedding Night” to make ends meet she gets more than she bargained for.

    Devon Morgan is the Marquis of Colton and the man that Lily was in love with five years ago. When the woman he was going to marry reads the “Secrets of a Wedding Night” and calls off the wedding he see’s red and decides to do something to Lily to make her regret what she wrote and get her to admit that she wrote it.

    When she says no, that is when things start heating up in the story.

    I loved watching these two hide their feelings for each other. It made my day watching them fight back and forth. Sometimes I even wondered who was seducing who. They both had secrets that they didn’t want the other to find out. I love when I get the chance to read a great historical romance. I don’t read them all the time, but when one gets my attention I know that I better read it.

    The cover of the book really caught my attention and that is what made me read what the book was about. I had to see what Secrets of a Wedding Night was about. What could scare all these women off of marriage? It had to be something good and I just had to get to the bottom of this. I loved the plot of the story. I enjoyed how the characters interact with each other. Made me feel like I was in the story and experiencing everything for myself.

    This is the first time that I have read a book by this author and I will be looking for the next book in this series. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book. I get so excited just thinking about it. I know that Lily is a handful so that means that her sister Annie will be even more.

    I would recommend this book to everyone who love a great romance read. It is one that will keep you on your toes and make you laugh out loud. Made me wonder what the characters would do next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Easy Read

    I enjoyed this novel. Contain all the elements of a good love story - discord, humor and hot love scenes. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    SELENA GOMEZ

    I VOTE SELENA GOMEZ!!!! &#9852

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Great easy reading!

    Loved it. It keeps you wanting to know what's going to happen next! I fell in love with the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Put this in ur newspapr

    Join RandomClan at sea bird all res

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Great book!!

    I luv dis buk

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    I call...

    Puting in information about the MLP RPG at sta! And every once in a while the Equestria Girls RPG at pony girls!

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Can u put in ur newspaper

    The kk silverclaw war? Ill explain later gtg bbl.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Angel

    Got it, so, SunClan, MLP (I keep say the friendship of magic), and Pony Girls for ads. KK vs Sikverclaw for recent news.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This book was really entertaining after this book I just had to read numer 2 !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    :-)

    :-)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    ~I recently finished Secrets of a Wedding Night and found it to

    ~I recently finished Secrets of a Wedding Night and found it to be a very clever and charming read! This book took me back to another place and time as if I were watching a scene from a movie. I was immersed in every detail as the plot thickened thus keeping me on the edge of my seat with anticipation. Valerie has a brilliant way of making each character come alive in such a likeable way. I loved the playfulness between Devon Morgan (who sounds dreamy btw) and Lily Andrews (a stubborn beauty with some sass). This was a story that had me rooting for love and hopeful for a happy ending yet pride and fear "almost" get the best of Devon & Lily until they can no longer fight their true feelings. It teaches a real life lesson about listening to your gut and following your heart and by the last chapter I was totally smiling! Delightful & entertaining through & through!  Can't wait for the next book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Trivial and boring

    This book is just poorly plotted with little character development. Dialog is wooden and emotions ring false.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2