Customer Reviews for

Secrets of the Crown (Familiars Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

BookHounds

The story picks up four weeks after the Familiars leaves off. The Loyals and the Familiars are now being educated in magical defensive arts when there is a flash of green light disenchanting the human Loyals who lose their abilities to cast spells and which leaves the ...
The story picks up four weeks after the Familiars leaves off. The Loyals and the Familiars are now being educated in magical defensive arts when there is a flash of green light disenchanting the human Loyals who lose their abilities to cast spells and which leaves the animals as the only magical creatures. As part of a prediction that the animal will now rule, the Familiars must now race to save the humans against the evil intentions of the queen's familiar, Paksahara who has tried to overthrow her in her quest to dominate the humans. The go on a quest to find The Crown of the Snow Leopard and Aldwyn finds his fathers footsteps which they follow. This leaves the Loyals behind fighting for their lives with hand to hand combat.

There is a lot of action in this follow up to The Familiars and we find the threesome matching wits and talents against a series of evil creatures such as goblins, a creature that can turn you to crystal by the touch of his tail and Aldwyn's uncle, who clearly is on another path in this quest. When Malvern, Aldwyn's uncle, escapes, there is a big opening for another one in this series and I can't wait to read what happens next. This story will appeal to kids of all ages and especially those a bit too young for Harry Potter. If you enjoyed the Spiderwick Chronicles, you will love this one. I also just read that a move of the first book is going to be made.

posted by BookHounds on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

read first and second both great

this book is a fun book that will keep u on the edge of your seat

posted by purplepanda on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    BookHounds

    The story picks up four weeks after the Familiars leaves off. The Loyals and the Familiars are now being educated in magical defensive arts when there is a flash of green light disenchanting the human Loyals who lose their abilities to cast spells and which leaves the animals as the only magical creatures. As part of a prediction that the animal will now rule, the Familiars must now race to save the humans against the evil intentions of the queen's familiar, Paksahara who has tried to overthrow her in her quest to dominate the humans. The go on a quest to find The Crown of the Snow Leopard and Aldwyn finds his fathers footsteps which they follow. This leaves the Loyals behind fighting for their lives with hand to hand combat.

    There is a lot of action in this follow up to The Familiars and we find the threesome matching wits and talents against a series of evil creatures such as goblins, a creature that can turn you to crystal by the touch of his tail and Aldwyn's uncle, who clearly is on another path in this quest. When Malvern, Aldwyn's uncle, escapes, there is a big opening for another one in this series and I can't wait to read what happens next. This story will appeal to kids of all ages and especially those a bit too young for Harry Potter. If you enjoyed the Spiderwick Chronicles, you will love this one. I also just read that a move of the first book is going to be made.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Recommended-Read Review.

    Very good way of writing and picking up the pace. Sometimes the book feels like it moves to quickly, but all the same, excellent. With many surprises and twists, this book really holds promise. In my opinion, the first one was better. But then again, Aldwyn didn't know he had power, and it was exciting watching him dodge using it. But this book is very good. You should buy it.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    read first and second both great

    this book is a fun book that will keep u on the edge of your seat

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good book but there is a big cliffhanger at the end. The third book comes out in September.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    This series is absolutely fantastic! My 12-year old son loved it

    This series is absolutely fantastic! My 12-year old son loved it and so did I.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    I love this book.

    The end is quite sudden becaus all it says is There, adancing across the plains, was an army of thousands. Skeletal wolves, zombie bears, and ghoulish animals of every size and shape marched in step. It was Paksahara's dead army. The uprising had begun. That's all it says and now I have to wait for the next book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    gtjbgjnvghh

    i would give it 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 stars if i could.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Good

    I checked out all the books and of corse reead them all. Sometimes it gets so good i stay up late reading one of the books. (My dad has a problem with that.) I recommend these books it is a trilogy

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Gd

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Anomas saturday sept 29

    Its the best book ever . Cats frogs birds mixed with magic my fav.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book was really cool. Because the cat does more with his mind. This is a really interesting series. I Highly recommend all books.












    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Good

    I liked it.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I loved this book

    I am a giant clown. This book made me laugh like a pair of giant shoes.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    A Really Good Book!

    If you love magic and adventure this is the book for you. This was one of my favorite books and I can't wait to finish the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    Omg!!! I love The Familiars!!! Gilbert is hilarious!! But the book is awesome overall. I can't wait to buy the third book and read as they win the battle against the Dead Army!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Aldyn is awson Aldyn,the magic cat.

    This book is soo good,cats that can levitate anything,birds that can create illusians,frogs that can see pics in water,awsome!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    awesome

    I love these books!they are so amazing.i hope another instalment in the familiars series comes out soon

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To people who dont like this series r CRAZY!!

    Red this series.LUVD IT!!!!! Cant wait for the 4th book to this series hope Aldwyn(the cat) finds his sister Leadley!!! I think they should make a movie outta this series!!!
    ~Urs truly Artemis~

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    This book was EPIC

    Ok so ususally when you read a series the first book is always
    Better, but i think i like this one even more. If you havent read the first wet you are missing out on a world full of magical beast, magic, animals..... and AWESOMENESS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    These books are so awsome !

    I really love these books. I recomend that you should read it to.









    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7