Customer Reviews for

Secrets of the Lost Summer (Swift River Valley Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Interesting mix of romance and mystery

Olivia Frost is still reeling from the knowledge that one of her close friends has stabbed her in the back professionally, when she decides to move to a historic home she owns in Knights Bridge, Mass, She plans to make the home into a B&B but her neighbor’s dilapidated...
Olivia Frost is still reeling from the knowledge that one of her close friends has stabbed her in the back professionally, when she decides to move to a historic home she owns in Knights Bridge, Mass, She plans to make the home into a B&B but her neighbor’s dilapidated home is definitely detracting from the ambiance. She writes a letter to the absentee owner, letting him know she would be glad to clean up his property if he can’t do so.
Dylan McCaffrey, gets Olivia’s letter, chiding him for his maintenance of a home he didn’t even know he owned. It turns out his treasure seeking father had bought the home and left it to him in his will. Dylan decides to go to Knights Bridge and see what this little old lady ( he thinks) is nattering on about.
The first meeting between Olivia and Dylan is not a rousing success but gradually they develop a friendship and then something more. There are a lot of things going on in this book. Olivia’s mom has a phobia about leaving the house but is planning a big trip to California. Dylan has to figure out why his father bought this particular house. The previous owner, Grace, had lived in one of the towns that was deliberately flooded to create the Quabbin reservoir and now lives in a local senior community. Then, there is the story of long ago stolen gems that were never found.
I enjoyed this book and the way the romance took time to develop. The story of the Ashworth jewels and how Grace’s family was destroyed by the reservoir being built add a great deal of interest to the story. Olivia’s family story and Dylan’s friends in California all contribute to the plot. A very enjoyable read all around!

posted by SharonRedfern on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing special

Predictable and way too lengthy for the storyline

posted by Tinkerbell119 on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting mix of romance and mystery

    Olivia Frost is still reeling from the knowledge that one of her close friends has stabbed her in the back professionally, when she decides to move to a historic home she owns in Knights Bridge, Mass, She plans to make the home into a B&B but her neighbor’s dilapidated home is definitely detracting from the ambiance. She writes a letter to the absentee owner, letting him know she would be glad to clean up his property if he can’t do so.
    Dylan McCaffrey, gets Olivia’s letter, chiding him for his maintenance of a home he didn’t even know he owned. It turns out his treasure seeking father had bought the home and left it to him in his will. Dylan decides to go to Knights Bridge and see what this little old lady ( he thinks) is nattering on about.
    The first meeting between Olivia and Dylan is not a rousing success but gradually they develop a friendship and then something more. There are a lot of things going on in this book. Olivia’s mom has a phobia about leaving the house but is planning a big trip to California. Dylan has to figure out why his father bought this particular house. The previous owner, Grace, had lived in one of the towns that was deliberately flooded to create the Quabbin reservoir and now lives in a local senior community. Then, there is the story of long ago stolen gems that were never found.
    I enjoyed this book and the way the romance took time to develop. The story of the Ashworth jewels and how Grace’s family was destroyed by the reservoir being built add a great deal of interest to the story. Olivia’s family story and Dylan’s friends in California all contribute to the plot. A very enjoyable read all around!

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Carla Neggers is a must read.

    I have read all of her books. When my world gets crazy I know I can get lost in her wonderful stories. I e- mailed her once and was most impressed when she responded. Carla also sent me a signed copy of her book. I have been a fan since.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved this book. Carla Neggers is a favorite author and this book is the best one she has wriyten. The story of the Quabbin grabbed my heart.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    great read :)

    i loved the story in this book, the blend of mystery and romance. Carla never fails to get my attention and keep it when i start one of her books :) this was no exception. i definitely will recommend this to my friends and family :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Good book.

    Really enjoyed this book. Didn't expect the ending. Give it a try.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great read from beginning to end.

    I had never read Carla Neggers before, but I am looking forward to more of her books. This book was wonderful, I would recommend it to anyone. I loved it!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Nothing special

    Predictable and way too lengthy for the storyline

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    This book held my attention. She spins a really good story.

    This book held my attention. She spins a really good story. I would recommend to anyone. I will be reading more of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Wow!

    Wonderful read, all the way around! This was my first of hers and i will be reading more! I highlybreccomend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Okay

    Nice read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was...okay. It just felt like something was missing--

    This book was...okay. It just felt like something was missing--the mystery didn't really draw me in all that much, the romance was pretty tame, and the characters were just so-so. For the most part it felt like a book with real possibilities that just never fully came to be. It hasn't really inspired me to look for more from this author, though if a later book has really outstanding reviews I might be tempted to give her another chance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Terrible!

    HATE THIS STUPID BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Heartwarming

    I really liked this book. It had a little bit of mystery and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Oh Man!

    I could not would not put this book down. Ty for the type of book you find in the classics section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Stop being rude

    This was agoog bookand why you being rude it was the book she made and she can stick with it how bout you write a story and i will see which ones best and i garantee you this who said to say something bout your high schoolers so wat there writing is better its just a got damn book and if her book so bad you should have read the sample before you bought the book you was in such a hurry to buy a book of read a book you didnt even read the sample that wat a smart person would do unlike you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Great!

    Book one in the Swift River Valley Series. What a great book. Great romance, great mystery, very well developed characters, supporting characters and plot. I can't wait to read book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    I have seen better writing from my high school students. The wri

    I have seen better writing from my high school students. The writing did not flow. One minute Dylan is talking, and the next Olivia is dropping her coffee cup for no apparent reason. You don't really get a feel of a developing relationship as I have experienced in previous novels by other authors. I realize that Ms. Neggers is a New York Times Best Seller, thus I expected more. I only finished it because I spent money on this book and wanted to learn what not to do while writing romance novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Good Plot

    Really great story. The characters are fun and interesting. I won a book on one of Carla's monthly contests, and have been hooked on her books ever since. It was hard to find some of her older books, but I finally found most of them on a used book site.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Excellent mystery!

    A great contemporary novel about a young designer who is renovating an old house and becomes involved with a neighbor's secret past. The descriptions of the property are lovely. The development of the characters' past activities and personality traits are intriguing. The previous neighbor's past is written in a different font so that you can differentiate between the present and the past story lines. It is a romance between several characters, as well as, a mystery of stolen jewels. It is a pleasant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5