Customer Reviews for

Secrets of the Tudor Court: The Pleasure Palace

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One Word: WOW!!!!!

For anyone who is obsessed with the Tudor story this is a must read. It gives the story of Jane Popyncourt, a young woman who comes from France with her mother in order to escape rumors. You get to see how Henry Tudor became King Henry VIII and how even as a child he ...
For anyone who is obsessed with the Tudor story this is a must read. It gives the story of Jane Popyncourt, a young woman who comes from France with her mother in order to escape rumors. You get to see how Henry Tudor became King Henry VIII and how even as a child he possessed many similar qualities he did as an adult. This book gives a new perspective and instead of focusing on one of Henry's wives you get a feel of how he ruled and exactly how courtiers were expected to behave. This book has everything we have come to know and expect from King Henry VIII: romance, thrills, and of course drama, drama, drama. You will have a hard time putting this book down and once you finish it you want more.

posted by Tired_of_Being_Sorry on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boring buy a Phillipa Gregory book instead

This was so boring. No suspense no romance booooooooring.

posted by LeslieWils on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    One Word: WOW!!!!!

    For anyone who is obsessed with the Tudor story this is a must read. It gives the story of Jane Popyncourt, a young woman who comes from France with her mother in order to escape rumors. You get to see how Henry Tudor became King Henry VIII and how even as a child he possessed many similar qualities he did as an adult. This book gives a new perspective and instead of focusing on one of Henry's wives you get a feel of how he ruled and exactly how courtiers were expected to behave. This book has everything we have come to know and expect from King Henry VIII: romance, thrills, and of course drama, drama, drama. You will have a hard time putting this book down and once you finish it you want more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Very detailed

    I liked the author's writing style.it was easy to understand. Good use of language. O felt the book a bit short on plot. It was apparant that she did her research particularly on regards to clothing, etc. I think at times the book got a bit boring and the thin plot was stretched even thinner to make it last to the end. I enjoy this period of history and would not call this book a page Turner however looking forward to book number two of the trilogy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    A very AWESOME read!!

    i really enjoyed this book. just like philippa gregory's books, but better. I loved every word of it, am going to read more from her. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't wait for the next one

    I have read all three of the series. I really have enjoyed each of the books and can't wait till the next one comes out in Sept!! I would recommend the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is OK for a bargain read.

    I am a huge fan of historical fiction, but this book never grabbed me. Since we don't know much about the real Jane Popyncourt, the author had a lot of room to make things interesting. She never really brought her to life. She seemed to not really know where the character was going. One minute she wanted Charles Brandon, the next she easily jumps into bed with the Duc. Then she starts having feelings for someone she didn't even notice in the beginning. It just didn't flow for me. I never cared about Jane. The fictional part of why She and her Mother left France never even got interesting. I did skip a lot of the pageantry stuff that just seemed to go on and on (decorations, costumes, etc). This book is OK for a bargain read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Boring buy a Phillipa Gregory book instead

    This was so boring. No suspense no romance booooooooring.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    If you love the Tudors and Philippa Gregory...you should read this book.

    Read this as my first Nook purchase. Took me about three days...couldn't put it down. It was easy reading, interesting, and added a different perspective on the court happenings than from Gregory's Queens. Truly enjoyed this story. Emerson builds a quality main character, Nan Bassett, who is based on a historical figure who attended Queen Jane, Queen Anna, and Queen Catherine. She plays a key role in Henry's court and, of course, as a one-time lover. The writing flowed nicely and I was quickly absorbed. Her one fictional addition to the story was the only flaw. But it did not detract from the story. A must read for any Tudor fan.

    NiceChick

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging historical novel

    In 1637 sixteen year old Anne "Nan" Bassett crosses the Narrow Sea from Calais, France to Dover, England along with her older sister Catherine. Nan wants to join the court as a maid of honor to Queen Jane Seymour. Surprisingly King Henry selects her to become a member of his wife's entourage.

    When Jane dies in childbirth, Nan leaves the court to move in with her cousin, the Countess of Sussex. Henry not forgetting the élan of Nan orders her back to the court when he marries again and again. With intrigue everywhere inside Henry's court, Nan falls in love, but to survive she must give away her child as her family is no haven since they are caught up in Cromwell seditious activities.

    The latest secret at King Henry's court (see Secrets of the Tudor Court: The Pleasure Palace) is an engaging historical starting a maid of honor who keeps her head by keeping her head in crisis. Based on a real maid of honor, Nan is a terrific heroine, but in many ways the aging monarch steals the show as the King seems to obsessively need to prove his manhood as he goes through a few more wives following the death of Jane. Fans will relish Kate Emerson's strong historical tale of life and death at King Henry's court.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Serena

    She glanced at Charles and hurried away, a tear streaming down her cheek

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    &chess



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Great read!

    Throughly enjoyed for a short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    If you are in the mood for some fluff

    Even though I did not like Emerson's first novel The Pleasure Palace, I thought I'd try her again. This book left out the annoying pages and pages of dress and pageantry details that bored me in the first book. In this one Emerson paints a story about lesser known Nan Bassett who serves as a Lady in Waiting to 4 of Henry VIII's wives and Queen Mary. She is not very likable, but that is because her Mother made her that way. It was all about scoring titles and ignoring love. I did not like Emerson's descriptions of Queen Jane and Catherine Howard. If the characters weren't likeable, then why did I enjoy it? I think timing. I haven't read a Tudor book in awhile, so I enjoyed reliving that era again. Plus after my recent trip there, the author's descriptions took me back to those amazing destinations. Would I recommend this? If you are in the mood for some fluff, yeah, why not. Is it a must read, No.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed...

    I loved the first book in the Secrets of the Tudor Court series, and the second one was alright. That's all I can really say about Kate Emerson's third installment. The first and last third of the book bored me. Also, in this novel, she introduces so many characters and people that are at court that I have a hard time keeping up with who's who; I did not have this problem with the first two novels. I hope the fourth one is a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not as good as the first...

    The first book in the series, The Pleasure Palace, was fantastic. It had me hooked the whole time. With Between Two Queens, Emerson's second book in the Secrets of the Tudor Court series, it took me some time to get into it. The first half seemed a little dull, but by the second half there was more character development and drama. It is definitely worth reading once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining historical novel

    Aging and ailing King Henry VIII chooses Katharine Parr as his sixth wife. Not long after the monarch remarries, Elizabeth Brooke arrives at court as a lady in waiting to the new queen. There she meets Katharine's married brother Will. Elizabeth and Will become friends as he helps her with the backstabbing intrigue. They are deeply attracted tone another and she believes she loves the kind Will, but marriage is traded on a royal exchange as an item for bartering.

    Years later Will is single having had his marriage annulled while his Bess also is free as her fiancé died. They become lovers at a time an era ends with the death of the monarch; Henry's son Edward becomes king. The widow queen Katharine remarries but dies in childbirth. Lady Jane Grey ascends to the throne, but not for long as less than two weeks later Princess Mary becomes queen. Mary a devout Catholic married to the Spanish king also an extremely deeply religious Catholic accuses many at court especially Bess of seditious support of Jane.

    The latest Secrets of the Tudor Court (see Between Two Queens) is an entertaining historical made fresh by the lead protagonist Bess Brooke, a real person. She brings an interesting perspective to the overly written era as an optimist in a dangerous curt filled with nasty intrigue and stays up beat even when accused of treason in allegedly placing Jane on the throne and in support of her cousin's failed revolt. Sub-genre fans will enjoy Kate Emerson's enjoyable look at the Tudors.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Started out promising...but then nothing happened and I got mad...

    I read the synopsis and was intrigued enough to download the sample. It started out promising, but then the storyline went stagnant. This book could have been way shorter and still would have gotten its point across...even though it doesn't really matter b/c it still would have been a total snooze-fest. Some parts of the book were so drawn out and jam packed w/ monotonous details. There is no romantic storyline and it's all equally boring. And the author is very repetitive, which I believe is due to the fact that so many characters had the same names and were married to other folks of common names several times over, also causing title changes.

    SPOILER **just to save you money and time**
    The main character Jane and her mother flee French court after the King's suspicous passing. They flee to England and are taken into court to serve the Queen and Princesses. Jane is sent away to serve the Princesses at a different location as her mom, who then passes away mysteriously. Jane grows up. Out of nowhere, she suddenly develops a burning need to uncover her mother's past and reason for fleeing France in the 1st place. And she is annoyingly relentless about it. She pesters anyone who will listen to dig for details on her mom's life before she died. She reconnects w/ an old childhood friend who helps her dig up even more information. Turns out, her parents were killed off b/c of their royal-bastard lineage and investment properties. It was all very underwhelming and disappointing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    Secrets of the Tudor Court

    It just added more information and intrigue to all the Tudor series. Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Enjoyable

    It was enjoyable...not one of those 'gotta read again' books, but it did stir the imagination.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    secrets of the tudor court

    a very exciting book to read. I love the twist that the author put on the tudor court.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6