Customer Reviews for

Secrets of the Tudor Court: The Pleasure Palace

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One Word: WOW!!!!!

For anyone who is obsessed with the Tudor story this is a must read. It gives the story of Jane Popyncourt, a young woman who comes from France with her mother in order to escape rumors. You get to see how Henry Tudor became King Henry VIII and how even as a child he ...
For anyone who is obsessed with the Tudor story this is a must read. It gives the story of Jane Popyncourt, a young woman who comes from France with her mother in order to escape rumors. You get to see how Henry Tudor became King Henry VIII and how even as a child he possessed many similar qualities he did as an adult. This book gives a new perspective and instead of focusing on one of Henry's wives you get a feel of how he ruled and exactly how courtiers were expected to behave. This book has everything we have come to know and expect from King Henry VIII: romance, thrills, and of course drama, drama, drama. You will have a hard time putting this book down and once you finish it you want more.

posted by Tired_of_Being_Sorry on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boring buy a Phillipa Gregory book instead

This was so boring. No suspense no romance booooooooring.

posted by LeslieWils on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Very detailed

    I liked the author's writing style.it was easy to understand. Good use of language. O felt the book a bit short on plot. It was apparant that she did her research particularly on regards to clothing, etc. I think at times the book got a bit boring and the thin plot was stretched even thinner to make it last to the end. I enjoy this period of history and would not call this book a page Turner however looking forward to book number two of the trilogy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Boring buy a Phillipa Gregory book instead

    This was so boring. No suspense no romance booooooooring.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    If you are in the mood for some fluff

    Even though I did not like Emerson's first novel The Pleasure Palace, I thought I'd try her again. This book left out the annoying pages and pages of dress and pageantry details that bored me in the first book. In this one Emerson paints a story about lesser known Nan Bassett who serves as a Lady in Waiting to 4 of Henry VIII's wives and Queen Mary. She is not very likable, but that is because her Mother made her that way. It was all about scoring titles and ignoring love. I did not like Emerson's descriptions of Queen Jane and Catherine Howard. If the characters weren't likeable, then why did I enjoy it? I think timing. I haven't read a Tudor book in awhile, so I enjoyed reliving that era again. Plus after my recent trip there, the author's descriptions took me back to those amazing destinations. Would I recommend this? If you are in the mood for some fluff, yeah, why not. Is it a must read, No.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed...

    I loved the first book in the Secrets of the Tudor Court series, and the second one was alright. That's all I can really say about Kate Emerson's third installment. The first and last third of the book bored me. Also, in this novel, she introduces so many characters and people that are at court that I have a hard time keeping up with who's who; I did not have this problem with the first two novels. I hope the fourth one is a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not as good as the first...

    The first book in the series, The Pleasure Palace, was fantastic. It had me hooked the whole time. With Between Two Queens, Emerson's second book in the Secrets of the Tudor Court series, it took me some time to get into it. The first half seemed a little dull, but by the second half there was more character development and drama. It is definitely worth reading once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Enjoyable

    It was enjoyable...not one of those 'gotta read again' books, but it did stir the imagination.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2