BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Secrets over Sweet Tea

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been

Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been patiently anxiously waiting a new book for TWO YEARS, so I was STOKED when I received a copy of Secrets Over Sweet Tea for review two months before it was "technically" available!

Denise starts ...
Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been patiently anxiously waiting a new book for TWO YEARS, so I was STOKED when I received a copy of Secrets Over Sweet Tea for review two months before it was "technically" available!

Denise starts by introducing readers to a fantastic—and diverse!—cast of characters. I immediately connected with Grace—feeling both sorry for her situation and frustrated that she wouldn't stand up for herself. She seemed like such a feisty, independent woman, except in her marriage. I suppose we all have our secrets and "masks" that we slip on and off depending on where we are and who we're with.

And Scarlett Jo! She was gregarious, hilarious, and outrageous! But her love for the Lord and for the people around her was palpable. I loved her habit of praying and walking every morning and actually think it's something I'll try in my own neighborhood. She's a force to reckon with, but her compassion for Grace and Zach (and others) really drove the story. Of course, Scarlett Jo has her own secrets as well, and I really loved how the roles reversed between Grace and Scarlett Jo. I thought it was a great picture of the give and take in relationships.

Denise has outdone herself with this emotional yet hopeful story. Tackling such a bevy of heart-wrenching topics (divorce, reconciliation, adultery) could have taken over the story and/or left readers in despair. Instead, the author used these subjects to move the story along and show God's grace in life-like circumstances.

Secrets Over Sweet Tea is a beautiful story about friendship, hope, and grace. My recommendation? Rush out and purchase a copy as soon as it becomes available next month! I believe you will be as touched as I was by this incredible book. [5 stars]

I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my fair and honest review.

posted by iblog4books on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Chr

Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Christianity-that's not a bad thing, but at times both topics get a little heavy handed in this book.
Set in the South, the book follows the lives of a handful of characters whose lives continue to cross paths...
Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Christianity-that's not a bad thing, but at times both topics get a little heavy handed in this book.
Set in the South, the book follows the lives of a handful of characters whose lives continue to cross paths-in church, as neighbors and friends.
Although a little preachy- the stories are entertaining, especially the character Grace.
Her relationships and career are pretty interesting.

posted by nj2az on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been

    Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been patiently anxiously waiting a new book for TWO YEARS, so I was STOKED when I received a copy of Secrets Over Sweet Tea for review two months before it was "technically" available!

    Denise starts by introducing readers to a fantastic—and diverse!—cast of characters. I immediately connected with Grace—feeling both sorry for her situation and frustrated that she wouldn't stand up for herself. She seemed like such a feisty, independent woman, except in her marriage. I suppose we all have our secrets and "masks" that we slip on and off depending on where we are and who we're with.

    And Scarlett Jo! She was gregarious, hilarious, and outrageous! But her love for the Lord and for the people around her was palpable. I loved her habit of praying and walking every morning and actually think it's something I'll try in my own neighborhood. She's a force to reckon with, but her compassion for Grace and Zach (and others) really drove the story. Of course, Scarlett Jo has her own secrets as well, and I really loved how the roles reversed between Grace and Scarlett Jo. I thought it was a great picture of the give and take in relationships.

    Denise has outdone herself with this emotional yet hopeful story. Tackling such a bevy of heart-wrenching topics (divorce, reconciliation, adultery) could have taken over the story and/or left readers in despair. Instead, the author used these subjects to move the story along and show God's grace in life-like circumstances.

    Secrets Over Sweet Tea is a beautiful story about friendship, hope, and grace. My recommendation? Rush out and purchase a copy as soon as it becomes available next month! I believe you will be as touched as I was by this incredible book. [5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Chr

    Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Christianity-that's not a bad thing, but at times both topics get a little heavy handed in this book.
    Set in the South, the book follows the lives of a handful of characters whose lives continue to cross paths-in church, as neighbors and friends.
    Although a little preachy- the stories are entertaining, especially the character Grace.
    Her relationships and career are pretty interesting.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Involve yourself with the characters in the book ~ read to find

    Involve yourself with the characters in the book ~ read to find out what takes place, but not wanting the book to end because you have grown to enjoy these "cast of characters". Engaging; enter the world of Franklin, TN and be ready to sit down with your own glass of sweet tea as Denise Hildreth Jones takes you on a journey to reclaim your own heart. I can't wait for Ms. Jones next book, as her gift of writing is EXCEPTIONAL!


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    O

    Please, plot spoilers, do not tell everything about the book, then brag how you got the book for free for your 'honest ' review. First, it wont be an honest review in my opinion, and second, we have to buy our book. You got yours for free. Dont ruin it for us by spoiling the story. We can read, and contrary to your belief, we would like to read it for ourselves and be surprised by what we read, not have you read it and regurgitate it back for us, so in the future, please do not rewrite the book. Just state if you like the book or not. That is a true review.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    I've said it before and I will say it again: Denise Hildreth spe

    I've said it before and I will say it again: Denise Hildreth speaks my language. :)  I'm willing to bet she speaks yours, too....so you'd better hurry up and get this book to find out.  "Secrets Over Sweet Tea" managed to make me laugh out loud numerous times - and cry, too.  I cannot recommend it enough.  While you're at it, get one for you and your bestie, too.




    Unconventional Pastor's wife Scarlett Jo Newbury is gifted in that she can sense hurt in others that they may think they have covered well; and she is willing to love them where they are.  Her new neighbor, news reporter Grace Shepherd is deep in grief over a long-time-coming divorce and isn't sure what her life should look like next.  Divorce Attorney Zach Craig seems like he has it all together - but his secrets run so deep, even he doesn't have it all figured out.  These three main characters come together in the town of Franklin, Tennessee and share a story with us that is life changing.




    One of the things I love best about Denise's writing is that nothing is sugar coated and very little is sacred...her characters are just plain real.   The choices they are faced with are more common in conventional "Christian circles" than one might think. Her characters don't always make the "right decision"....but grace shines through.




    Please read this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I loved this book! Jones did an excellent job in developing the

    I loved this book! Jones did an excellent job in developing the plot carefully and slowly and an equally excellent job peeling back the layers of the characters. The characters were believable and I could see a little of myself in each of them and the struggles they have with vulnerability, being authentic, opening their hearts, and owning their secrets. Although it was a fictional book, I got the idea while reading it that it could be a how-to manual on how to develop deep, meaningful relationships.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoy reading about the multiple facets of relationships and the struggles between private selves and public selves. I also think the glimpse into the culture of the South was interesting. I can't wait to read another book by Jones!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I expected to love this book¿and I did. The story takes place in

    I expected to love this book—and I did. The story takes place in Franklin, Tennessee, which is a huge plus for me since I love Tennessee, and southern fiction is my favorite kind of read.

    Scarlet, the preacher’s wife, is the central character and what a character she is! Actually, all the characters are believable and well developed. Though they are Christians, they’re human, and make mistakes, which is another thing I loved about this book. It isn’t a fluffy tale with fairytale-like issues. It delves into realistic faults, situations, and emotions. 

    Oftentimes, throughout the story, I could picture people I know stepping into the characters. It’s uncanny how an author can do that. And entertaining as well. ¿ I loved being exposed to the misfortunes, trials of friendship, and art of forgiveness in this book. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    I really like this book. It was uplifting and had just the right

    I really like this book. It was uplifting and had just the right amount of humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Martha

    This book is so good! I loved every thing about it and hated it when I finished it because I just wanted more. The story really made me think about how my life has been similar to some of the characters. This book not only made me happy but it shows how our faith can always make things right for us. I have found a great new author to add to my reading list,and she may just be my favorite! Please read this book , you will love it. Thank you Denise for making me see some things I needed to remember. I hope there will be a sequel because I loved all the characters and want to see how their lifes continues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Great

    What a great book this was! One of those that made me feel horribly sad when it was over. I can't wait to read Ms. Jone's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Wjdvdkwer

    J hv brg

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Read as part of the Tyndale House summer reading program and lov

    Read as part of the Tyndale House summer reading program and loved it! It's very witty, real, and relatable. I read it in a couple days because it was so entertaining. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Beautiful book, full of lives with numerous problems and how you

    Beautiful book, full of lives with numerous problems and how you should and should not deal with them. It had you so sad for the characters at times, then laughing out loud and snorting with them at others. I want some of these broken, people of God to be my friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Scarlett Jo has a secret, and so do others in town, including Gr

    Scarlett Jo has a secret, and so do others in town, including Grace and Craig. As a pastor's wife, Scarlett Jo seeks to help those in need, like Grace and Craig.

    I really liked this book. Scarlett Jo is funny and crazy, something others don't always appreciate. She is friendly to those in her neighborhood and church, wanting to help those who are struggling, like Grace. Other characters in the book have their quirks as well, which makes for a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Three different people with three very different secrets. Secret

    Three different people with three very different secrets. Secrets they may not like, but as they discover each other they realize that they can help each other heal through Jesus. The author did an awesome job painting a picture of what life is like when we have a relationship with Jesus, one that may not be easy, but filled with hope. I am looking forward to reading more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Better than I anticipated

    I actually enjoyed this book. When I realized it was a Christian book I was sort of dreading it because they tend to preach and be a tad boring. However, the first half of this book kept me very engaged as I got to know the characters. Scarlett Jo is a riot and will have you laughing out loud. The characters lives were realistic to me and I could relate. Around 3/4 of the way in it seemed to drag a bit and I was ready for it to be over, but than they threw in another story that actually brought tears to my eyes. It was definitely worth finishing and I finished it with a smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Good Christian Fiction

    Sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I loved this inspiring book.!!! It was totally awesome book and I laughed and cried on some parts. You should read this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Scarlett Jo Newberry is as outspoken and flamboyant as her name,

    Scarlett Jo Newberry is as outspoken and flamboyant as her name, but her unique personality and good heart have also make her a dynamic part of her minister husband's ministry.  So no one is surprised when Scarlett decides to find out more about the newest neighbors in Franklin.  Never did she expect to find beautiful news anchor Grace Shepherd, who along with her hockey star husband, has made yet another move, to yet another strange house.  Little does anyone suspect that within weeks, Grace will find herself the client of another nearby neighbor, divorce lawyer Zach Craig, and that both Zach and Grace will face a summer of scandal, survival, and the deepest desire to find a lives that honor themselves and God.




    The secrets that the title refers to are the secrets that we keep from even ourselves -- the secrets that dishonor the person we were meant to be, the secrets that can weave themselves so deeply into our lives that we lose almost  every sense of joy in our lives.  These secrets dictate how we treat others and decisions we make.  For both Zach and Grace, the decisions have led to shattered marriages and lifeless careers.  And it is perfectly clear that as each secret gains strength and power, it has led the owner further and further away from the life and person God has created.




    Even though entertaining, some Christian fiction books read like fiction from the first sentence to the last.  Not so Secrets over Sweet Tea.  At times it was almost too painful to continue reading, especially if you've watched someone deal with broken dreams and shattered hearts recently.  Denise Hildreth Jones writes in her author's notes that book comes from her own struggle out of a broken place.  She also writes that this fiction book is a counterpart to her nonfiction book Reclaiming Your Heart: A Journey Back to Laughing, Loving, and Living.  I have not read that title, but plan to investigate it further.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved this story! Can't wait to read more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5