BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Secrets over Sweet Tea

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been

Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been patiently anxiously waiting a new book for TWO YEARS, so I was STOKED when I received a copy of Secrets Over Sweet Tea for review two months before it was "technically" available!

Denise starts ...
Denise Hildreth Jones has long been a favorite author. I've been patiently anxiously waiting a new book for TWO YEARS, so I was STOKED when I received a copy of Secrets Over Sweet Tea for review two months before it was "technically" available!

Denise starts by introducing readers to a fantastic—and diverse!—cast of characters. I immediately connected with Grace—feeling both sorry for her situation and frustrated that she wouldn't stand up for herself. She seemed like such a feisty, independent woman, except in her marriage. I suppose we all have our secrets and "masks" that we slip on and off depending on where we are and who we're with.

And Scarlett Jo! She was gregarious, hilarious, and outrageous! But her love for the Lord and for the people around her was palpable. I loved her habit of praying and walking every morning and actually think it's something I'll try in my own neighborhood. She's a force to reckon with, but her compassion for Grace and Zach (and others) really drove the story. Of course, Scarlett Jo has her own secrets as well, and I really loved how the roles reversed between Grace and Scarlett Jo. I thought it was a great picture of the give and take in relationships.

Denise has outdone herself with this emotional yet hopeful story. Tackling such a bevy of heart-wrenching topics (divorce, reconciliation, adultery) could have taken over the story and/or left readers in despair. Instead, the author used these subjects to move the story along and show God's grace in life-like circumstances.

Secrets Over Sweet Tea is a beautiful story about friendship, hope, and grace. My recommendation? Rush out and purchase a copy as soon as it becomes available next month! I believe you will be as touched as I was by this incredible book. [5 stars]

I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my fair and honest review.

posted by iblog4books on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Chr

Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Christianity-that's not a bad thing, but at times both topics get a little heavy handed in this book.
Set in the South, the book follows the lives of a handful of characters whose lives continue to cross paths...
Secrets Over Sweet Tea is saturated in Southern comforts and Christianity-that's not a bad thing, but at times both topics get a little heavy handed in this book.
Set in the South, the book follows the lives of a handful of characters whose lives continue to cross paths-in church, as neighbors and friends.
Although a little preachy- the stories are entertaining, especially the character Grace.
Her relationships and career are pretty interesting.

posted by nj2az on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Nice Read!!!

    I so enjoyed this book, felt like I was hanging with some girlfriends... knowing their good times and some bad times too...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Enjoyed Very Much!!

    Really Liked the book. Very fresh story of Women from all different walks of live coming together. Story so good you wanted to visit the little Town...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    liked this one very much

    Tackles many problems of life and love. Characters are so diverse but all are real. Makes me wish I knew these people when I was faced with worries and problems. Since one of the main characters is a preacher's wife, problems and solutions have a religious point of view, but it definitely is not judgmental or preachy.

    I would recommend this to a friend. It is a light read even though there are tough decisions and sad problems to be faced. Friendship is so important to these women and men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I love this book and wished that it didn't end. I would love to see these characters over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A Wonderful Find!!!!

    First I must admist, I bought this book through Bookbub because it was either free or .99....but what I wonderful find. First book I have read by this author and I will read others. I lived in Nasvhille for about 20 years so it was fun to read a book where I knew about the area and stores she wrote about. Second, I fell in love with the characters, they are very real. I love that the Christian characters' flaws are seen, struggles are revealed and hearts are changed as we see them grow. And I loved that there is a "happy ending" though it might not be what you expect as you read this book.
    A new favorite author!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Excellent! More than you would expect.

    "Secrets over Sweet Tea" was unexpected. This was the first Denise Hildreth Jones that I have read. I thought it would be a light fun book, just something to pass the time. I was wrong. Easy and interesting to read, yes. Just something to pass the time, no. It is rich and full of truth and warmth. "Secrets" offers genuine lessons on living life to it's fullest.
    I am recommending it to my family and friends. It is Not a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    very good read

    I really enjoyed this book and would love to have Scarlett Jo as a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    very enjoyable read

    The book captured your attention right from the start. The characters were very lifelike and easy to relate to. The message was strong enough to make the reader squirm a little without being preachy. Will read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    My first Denise Hidreth Jones book - Will have to read some of

    My first Denise Hidreth Jones book - Will have to read some of her other works while waiting on a sequel - hope one is in the works! Leaves you wanting to know more about how everything turns out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    A Book of Stories....... Denise Hildreth Jones combines the stor

    A Book of Stories.......
    Denise Hildreth Jones combines the stories of Scarlett Jo, Jackson, Rachel, Grace, Tyler, Zach & Caroline into one terrific read. Grace, Zach & Caroline must overcome their brokenness and discover their own path in life with help from Rachel, Jackson, and the lovely vibrant Scarlett Jo who must overcome her own past which she thought was buried deep.
    I loved Scarlett Jo and was disappointed the book ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Loved this!

    Such a refreshng boo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Interesting

    I found it hard to get into at first but it just got better abd better.
    Amazing what we let happen to ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    So much fun!

    I loved this book. It is real and speaks to the real reason marriages get into trouble. You will thoroughly enjoy the main character scarlet jo. Don't pass this book up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I loved this book; makes me thirsty for some good old Southern S

    I loved this book; makes me thirsty for some good old Southern Sweet Tea.  What struck me the most in this book was the emphasis on finding your own heart.  Until you know who you are and where you are headed, you will find it hard to help someone else or even resolve relationship issues.  I have to love Scarlet Jo who was as authentic as they came; but even she needed to remember her heart and the hearts of those around her so she could pick up the pieces and move on.  It was a good read for me for the stage in life I am in right now.  It has helped me to want to know my own heart and to live passionately and authentically.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great

    Everyone should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Made me laugh and cry and so made me dig deep into my own self. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Fun.

    Its so fun just buy it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Nice book right

    Biseds i cant find any to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Hello

    Good book, srt dialougu e

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Zimmerman case

    5

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3