BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Secrets to the Grave

Average Rating 4
( 536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

GRIPPING!

Set in the mid-eighties, the story opens, immediately hitting you in the face with the bloody aftermath of the murder of a single mother where her four year old daughter was left for dead also but she managed to stay alive for two days with her mother's dead body before...
Set in the mid-eighties, the story opens, immediately hitting you in the face with the bloody aftermath of the murder of a single mother where her four year old daughter was left for dead also but she managed to stay alive for two days with her mother's dead body before they were discovered. It's interesting how far we've come in modern technology and it brings it to the fore in this as the crime scene takes so much more to figure it out. There are plenty of plot twists and interesting characters to hold the suspense as the reader tries to figure out who the culprit is. Faced-paced, lots of action, gripping who-dun-it, this one will keep you on the edge of your seat.

posted by -TESSA- on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Don't give away the names of the suspects

In reading excerpts of novels and Reviews from customers, please don't give away the names of the suspects. I just purchased Tami Hoag's 2 novels and in perusing the excerpts of Secrets to the Grave, the excerpts from Barnes and Noble give away the whole plot and killer...
In reading excerpts of novels and Reviews from customers, please don't give away the names of the suspects. I just purchased Tami Hoag's 2 novels and in perusing the excerpts of Secrets to the Grave, the excerpts from Barnes and Noble give away the whole plot and killer's name of the first book, "Deeper Than the Dead." Also, some of the Customer Reviewers gave it away!!! Bummer!!!

posted by 675628 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GRIPPING!

    Set in the mid-eighties, the story opens, immediately hitting you in the face with the bloody aftermath of the murder of a single mother where her four year old daughter was left for dead also but she managed to stay alive for two days with her mother's dead body before they were discovered. It's interesting how far we've come in modern technology and it brings it to the fore in this as the crime scene takes so much more to figure it out. There are plenty of plot twists and interesting characters to hold the suspense as the reader tries to figure out who the culprit is. Faced-paced, lots of action, gripping who-dun-it, this one will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Another Masterpiece of Suspense from Hoag!

    Wow! Another masterpiece by Tami Hoag! Secrets to the Grave, picks up a year after where Deeper Than The Dead left off. Once again, Hoag's readers are instantly transported to Oak Knoll, California where another murder has once again occurred. Tami Hoag brings us another roller coaster suspense novel.

    Secrets to the Grave is written in a wonderfully detailed style that brings the readers up to date on the murders happening in Oak Know, leaving the story perfect as a stand alone title, or a perfect continuation to Deep Than The Dead. Hoag brings back characters we met in book 1, along with some new characters that really grip the readers' souls.

    Secrets to the Grave is just as intense with the crime of murder as Deeper Than The Dead was, if not more so. Hoag's ability to create these stories so life like is absolutely powerful. I felt as if I, myself, was trying to escape the "bad daddy" killer. And when I wasn't felling the out-of-breath fear of running from a killer, I was feeling the deep, spine-tingling thrill of trying to figure out the cliff hangers and who-dun-its of this awesome novel.

    Yet another novel that deserves 5 stars. If you're an edge-of-your seat, always looking over your shoulder, white knuckle, gasping breath suspense lover, then look no further than Tami Hoag's work. She has a brilliant, masterful skill for writing heart stopping, blood pumping, murderous suspense that will leave you DYING for more! I can't wait until her next release!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    positive

    Hoag is at her finest with this novel, I would recommend this to anyone who loves an intense read full of intrigue and thrilling at the same time. Loved the protagonists to0!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Don't give away the names of the suspects

    In reading excerpts of novels and Reviews from customers, please don't give away the names of the suspects. I just purchased Tami Hoag's 2 novels and in perusing the excerpts of Secrets to the Grave, the excerpts from Barnes and Noble give away the whole plot and killer's name of the first book, "Deeper Than the Dead." Also, some of the Customer Reviewers gave it away!!! Bummer!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Another Oak Knoll Masterpiece!

    Another great 80's Oak Knoll Mystery! I enjoyed reading this while snowed in. It made the time fly by. There were so many twists and turns as well as "family" secrets to uncover. If you like murder mysteries and/or remember the 80's you are sure to enjoy this book. Be sure to read "Deeper Than the Dead" first...not that you need to, however you will want to. I hope there is another Oak Knoll Mystery in the works. I can't wait!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    2nd time reading her book

    I read the deeper then the dead and I was disappointed about the ending, but this book explains what happens with another murder. I have to say it was a good book. It took me 2 days to read it and I could not put this book down. I will continue to read her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a gripping suspense police procedural

    In 1986 in Oak Knoll, California, Peter Crane, the notorious See-No-Evil killer awaits trial (see Deeper Than the Dead). Meanwhile someone assaults twenty-eight year old single mom Marissa Fordham ruthlessly mutilating the artist before killing her. A little voice calls 911 to say her daddy was hurting her mommy. The cops find Marissa's four years old daughter Haley strangled but with a faint pulse. She survives the lethal attack though she is traumatized.

    Police Detective Tony Mendez leads the investigation. He obtains help from Anne Navarre Leone who will try to obtain the identity of the "Bad Monster" from the frightened child; and from her husband former FBI agent Vince Leone to look into Melissa's background. The former effort makes little progress while the latter is bewildering as if Marissa lived two lives.

    This is a gripping suspense police procedural that brings to life mid 1980s investigative skills with significant elements that enhance the story line. For instance 911 not providing an address (enhanced 911 had cost a lot of money) so that the victim rots for two days and the daughter lying on her dead mom's shoulder almost joins her in death due to the time lag. Although the killer is obviously crazy with rage, the psychopath still manages to hides in plain sight; which felt wrong especially when the villain is revealed. Fast-paced, filled with action, a troubled witness, and a strong law enforcement team, readers appreciate the return to Oak Knoll with a twisting whodunit filled with misdirection.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Could not put this book down!

    I love Hoag books and this is no exception. It keeps you guessing to the very end. Hope there is a third book with these characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Need to read the prequel first

    "My daddy hurt my mommy", a very young girl told the 911 operator. When the police arrived at the home, they found artist Marissa Fordham brutally murdered and her daughter Haley lying on her mother's body, badly injured but still alive. It looks like an open and shut case if they can locate Haley's father, but no one knows who Haley's father is and the police can't find a birth certificate.

    SECRETS TO THE GRAVE is a sequel to DEEPER THAN THE DEAD by the same author. Child Advocate Ann Leone, who was the victim of a killer in Hoag's previous book, and her husband, former FBI Agent Vince Leone, take custody of Haley while the police search for the child's relatives.

    Unfortunately for lead Det. Tony Mendez, Marissa was a single mother and Haley called every man in her mother's life daddy which creates an ever increasing suspect list. The investigation reaches a roadblock when no one can find anything about Marissa before her move to this small California town; it's as if she never existed. The hope is that Marissa's best friend can provide some background, but she quickly goes missing.

    I figured out fairly early on who "daddy" was but Ms. Hoag throws so many protagonists into the mix (including a very troubled adolescent who was a student of Mrs. Leone's when she was a teacher) that it's almost exhausting to read SECRETS TO THE GRAVE all the way through. If you're already a fan of Ms. Hoag's books, you'll probably enjoy this one. If, like me, you haven't read anything by her before, this isn't the book to start with. I felt like I had arrived at the dance just as the band was packing up to leave. Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth a read

    This book is highly recomended. It's not easy to find well-written mysteries that make you think after you have put down the novel. This one will linger in your mind. Along the lines of Van Rae's new stff, or Koontz at his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well Written

    "Secrets to the Grave" by Tami Hoag is a fictional mystery featuring the recurring characters we met in "Deeper than the Dead". The novel takes place in the same town of Oak Knoll, CA and is set in the mid 1980's.

    While still trying to recover from the "See-no-evil" serial killer which shook the small town of Oak Knoll, CA a year ago, another gruesome murder has been committed. Marissa Fordham is a mysterious resident of Oak Knoll, she is murdered and Haley, her four year old daughter, the only witness, barely survives.

    The sheriff's office has procured the services of FBI agent and profiling expert Vince Leone, who happen to fall in love with fifth grade teacher teacher Anne Navarre and stay in town. Detective Tony Menedez heads up the investigation and uses his human resources well.

    Together Tony and Vince piece together a mystery which involves Oak Knoll's elites while Anne is trying to restore the memory of Hayley to point out the killer. But is Anne doing Hayley a favor? Is the memory of a four year old can be trusted?

    "Secrets to the Grave" by Tami Hoag is a well written book, while "Deeper than the Dead" was about families breaking apart, "Secrets to the Grave" seem to be about families coming together. The strength of the book comes from the interaction of the well developed characters. The mystery was not as involved as the previous book, I figured out who the killer is a bit before the ¾ mark. However, I found the side stories much more compelling; the dilemmas Anne Navarre finds herself in are fascinating and thought provoking.

    I'd certainly recommend reading "Deeper than the Dead" first even though it is not a necessity, but you'll enjoy this book more and have a better understanding of the characters and their interaction, which as I mentioned is the strong point of this book.

    Tami Hoag is a gifted author, her narrative flows and her style is both unique and easy to digest. The multi-tier (n-tier for all you IT folks) plot of the book is both interesting and fast paced. As a child of the 80s I certainly enjoyed all the puns and shots at the pop-culture icons, as well as the lack of CSI technology. To this day I remember the debate around DNA and how it will be used in the court of law.

    For more book reviews please visit ManOfLaBook dot com

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    I love this author's work. Her plots are well done, her characte

    I love this author's work. Her plots are well done, her characters are well developed, and she has a great sense of humor. Honestly....she cracks me up. Kudos, Ms. Hoag.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Excellent

    I couldn't put it down. Tami Hoag, is a great Author, and this book didn't disappoint! It was well written, and kept interested until the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Very exciting and draws in immediatly and keeps you reading to t

    Very exciting and draws in immediatly and keeps you reading to the last page
    alot of dips and turns to keep wondering what is going to happen next.
    But alot unnecessary back story in MY opinion. maybe for another one of her books. But alot back stories with alot charactersbut this is absolutlely worth reading!! do not miss this book!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great book

    This book is a must read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Secrets to the Grave

    The storyline is classic Tami Hoag. Only disappointment I found was in the actual production of her novel: words left out, typos in the editing - very poorly published. Huge disappointment for BN. Unsure if i will continue to purchase books online after this. Tammy Hoag would be upset at this poor publishing of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I read Deeper Than the Dead and I LOVED it...but I found the sequel to be too reminiscent of the first novel. Tami Hoag still does a great job with keeping the reader reading though. Her characters, whatever their part in the book, were well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Good storyline, but some of the narrative was corny and not nece

    Good storyline, but some of the narrative was corny and not necessary, like the two chapters side by side devoted to Vince and Anne's internal thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Fj

    Rrueieyvm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Incredible

    Tammi writes another great read. Suspensful and tugs at your heart a bit. Her characters are so great. Keeps you guessing and makes you not want to stop reading. READ IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28