BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

sed & awk

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    A kit

    *limps into camp, bloody, and collapses*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Hello, i am dovenose.

    I would like to join, i am a pretty she-cat. I can be a queen!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Leafspirit

    Can i be med cat?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Flamestar to silveetree

    Im a warrior and im firery orangae and striking blue eyes an d i will always protect u and kits if i was ur mate so van pls be ur mate?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    A kit

    A small kit stumbles into camp. She is bleeding a tad on her back. Hello my name is treekit. May i plese join. My mum got killed by some big scary animal. Tree kit is very small. She is an orange she cat with blackish blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Leafkit to maplestar

    Can I join just so you know I'm a black she-cat with green eyes and I'm timid and I forgot to say I have cuts and thorns all over me and I'm very thin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Good book

    I thought it was good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Moonblossom

    Can i join your clan?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Pineshadow

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    JOIN SKYCLAN!

    Hello, Sunstar here. I am leader of Skyclan, which has all open positions, including deputy and medicine cat! Our territory features green wooded hills, a tropical climate, a river, and a completely new and uniqe way of sharing with Starclan, Glowing Tree! Join at sun in the sky first result! P.S. sorry for tresspassing, but Im locked out of all the warriors books. Once I get some new warriors who can advertise there, then I'll stop posting advertisments on clan territorys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Leafshadow

    "Hi everybody!" (Sorry i was gone!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Can i join?

    My name is Cherryflower and i am a pinkish gray she cat with golden eyes. I would like to be medicine cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    LORD OF THE RINGS RP

    At gundor al results. For sourons sid go to black gates all results

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Maplestar

    *Maplestar pads into camp, looking disappointed.* I was hoping more cats would come to the gathering. Silvertree was te only cat there. Anyway, how is Alderpaws training going, Brackenclaw?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    Indispensible tools for text manipulation

    Unix has earned itself quite a reputation for its potent tools, used for batch editing of text files (like program output). Sed and Awk are two of these tools. Sed is a direct descendent of Ed, the original Unix line editor, which employs <I>regular expressions</I>, a powerful method for description of patterns in text, for operations like substitute, append or delete. Awk is a complete scripting language with programming structures like conditionals, loops, functions etc., developed in 1970's by Alfred Aho, Brian Kernighan and Peter Weinberger (hence A-W-K). The trio has also written a book on Awk. <P>Dale Dougherty (in the 2nd edition with Arnold Robbins, maintainer of GNU Awk and author of several more books on Awk programming language) have made a good job in making a thoroughly readable tutorial on Sed and Awk. However, it remains a mystery to me how they succeeded to fill no less than 407 pages with it. Mind you, Sed and Awk are not really some big monsters. There exist something like two dozens of operators in Sed (most of them you will probably never use), and the syntax of Awk mimics those of C programming language, so it is likely that you know it already. Once you grok the idea of regular expressions, you should become a proficient user of Awk in about 30 minutes. <P>In conclusion, go buy the book if your need to manipulate text files on Unix and you think you need a lengthy tutorial with a gentle learning curve. Otherwise, short references on Awk and Sed, like the ones in <I>Unix Power Tools</I> and a bunch of examples showing some tricks you might not think of, will probably be more useful. In addition, it is good to know that during the nineties, much of the focus has drifted from Awk to Perl, so you might consider a book on Perl as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    Wonderful Book

    You will get sick of hearing from your co-workers how 'they gotta get this book'. It's that good. Both of these fantastic tools helped out as we needed to provide detailed file information during the latest ILOVEYOU virus fiasco on over 250 servers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2