Customer Reviews for

Seduce Me at Sunrise (Hathaway Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Absolute pleasure to read!

I thought Seduce Me at Sunrise was an awesome book. Ever since Lisa introduced us to Cam Rohan in The Devil in Winter, I was hoping for a book about him. And we got an excellent one where we met Amelia, Win, Merripen, Poppy, Leo, etc. After Mine Till Midnight, I was fas...
I thought Seduce Me at Sunrise was an awesome book. Ever since Lisa introduced us to Cam Rohan in The Devil in Winter, I was hoping for a book about him. And we got an excellent one where we met Amelia, Win, Merripen, Poppy, Leo, etc. After Mine Till Midnight, I was fascinated by the Hathaway family. During the reading of that book I could tell Win and Kev were destined for each other and I was anxiously awaiting the release of Seduce Me at Sunrise. I was not disappointed in the least. I highly recommend this book to historical romance fans and to Lisa Kleypas fans. Now I am awaiting a book about Leo and Miss Marks.
Go read this amazing book if you haven't already and if you have, read it again. I know I will! I re-read many of Lisa's books because they are absolutely a pleasure to read.

posted by 159656 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

DITTO

No EBOOK for book #2????????
I read very fast (a book a day) and I buy a series at a time. I won't buy any of these books unless all of them are available in the same format.
I have my nook. Seriously, can we have a response of some sort as to WHY book #2 is NOT in e-...
No EBOOK for book #2????????
I read very fast (a book a day) and I buy a series at a time. I won't buy any of these books unless all of them are available in the same format.
I have my nook. Seriously, can we have a response of some sort as to WHY book #2 is NOT in e-format???

posted by ZebraNookReader on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolute pleasure to read!

    I thought Seduce Me at Sunrise was an awesome book. Ever since Lisa introduced us to Cam Rohan in The Devil in Winter, I was hoping for a book about him. And we got an excellent one where we met Amelia, Win, Merripen, Poppy, Leo, etc. After Mine Till Midnight, I was fascinated by the Hathaway family. During the reading of that book I could tell Win and Kev were destined for each other and I was anxiously awaiting the release of Seduce Me at Sunrise. I was not disappointed in the least. I highly recommend this book to historical romance fans and to Lisa Kleypas fans. Now I am awaiting a book about Leo and Miss Marks.<BR/>Go read this amazing book if you haven't already and if you have, read it again. I know I will! I re-read many of Lisa's books because they are absolutely a pleasure to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Seductive Read

    There's something about the Hathaway's and their love interests... They are quirky and intriguing. I was looking forward to this book and found it to be very enjoyable.


    I love Kev. His character is dark, understandably so. He feels a love so powerful and deep that he is willing to deny it. Does that make sense? It didn't to Win either. He will do anything to protect her, even denying himself what they both long for. Her love has been thwarted for years by Kev's demons and the onset of Scarlet Fever. It left Win with weak lungs.


    Win's arrival back from the clinic that made her well results in a passionate encounter with Kev. However, Win also brings a potential suitor. This sets off a fiery set of events culminating in passion and discoveries for multiple characters.


    The only thing that left me a bit dissatisfied was the fact that the point of view switched back and forth from character to character (major and not so major). I was satisfied as Cam and Kev's pasts were revealed, but I did not really enjoy the multiple views. Also, Leo is introduced to the new governess. His POV on her is necessary for the following books, but it tended to distract me from the main storyline.


    Overall it is a good book. If you enjoy the Hathaway series, read this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    an engaging tale starring a wonderful extremely tolerant female

    In 1836 the English attack a Gypsy camp. The youngster Kev Merripen tried to fight, but was knocked in the head by the butt of a rifle and stabbed in the back by a bayonet. His tribe fled leaving him behind to die. A hated Gadjo the Hathaway patriarch saves his life though Kev¿s disdain would have someone think otherwise. Filled with gypsy superstitions, Kev is raised in the home of a rationalist. However, his host¿s daughter Winifred softens his hostile outlook. Kev loves Win who is sent to France to recover from an illness. ------------ A dozen years later she comes home only to find her childhood friend angry and nasty towards her and seemingly everyone else. He tries to drive her away even as she only shows him kindness. Win knows she loves her gypsy and considers seduction to win his heart. However, she begins to give up on him leaving room for other suitors as Kev struggles between his desire for Win and his belief that a Gadjo and Romany cannot unite even in love.------------- Lisa Kleypas¿ latest Victorian romance (see MINE TILL MIDNIGHT and THE DEVIL IN WINTER) is an engaging tale starring a wonderful extremely tolerant female and a somewhat self defeating hero. Kev is the posterboy for the self fulfilling prophecy as he assumes the worst of others so takes no chances on his heart. Readers will appreciate the determined Win trying to persuade the obstinate Kev they belong together although his stubbornness can become a trifle frustrating.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Seduce Me at Sunrise

    I loved this book immensely. I loved Kev, Rohan, and Leo. This book made me feel so connected to Win, who is my favorite Hathaway female. Even in the first book in which she was sickly I could feel her strong spirit and connection to Kev. I liked the way the author went back into the history of the characters lives in order to clarify why characters behaved or thought a certain way. This story gave details about the love between Win and Kev that was introduced in book 1. I loved all the referenes to the gypsy lifestyle and beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A truly Captivating read

    Merripen is an intriguing character similar to Sin in "Born in Sin" by Kinley MacGregor. They both have deep resonating personalities and values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Read!!!

    Love everything by Kleypas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    fantastic addition to the series

    I adored the first book in this series and was afraid that the second book would not live up to my expectations. I am happy to report that Seduce Me At Sunrise did not disappointed and I fell in love with the Hathaways all over again.

    My heart went out to Merripen in the first book. Haunted by a dark and violent past, he’s resigned himself to never having the one thing he wants most in life - Win. He’s afraid to hurt her, afraid that the violence he did in his youth will come out one day and harm her. He’s the very definition of a tortured hero. He is intense and moody but also extremely loyal with a great capacity for love. He’s also the most infuriatingly stubborn man I've ever met! He kisses Win passionately one moment and pushes her away the next. His mixed signals were enough to drive any girl a little batty.

    Luckily, Win is a persistent woman who knows what she wants. I like that she isn’t cowed by Merripen and stands up to him. Even when Merripen made me want to throw up my hands and give up, Win holds her ground. She has a quiet inner strength that anchors the entire family.

    I am also happy to say that we see more of Cam and Amelia in this one. They are one of my favorite couples and seeing them as a married couple only solidifies my love for them. Cam and Merripen also find answers to the mysterious origins of their tattoos. I won’t spoil it but let’s just say that the revelation is a big one that has great significance for both of them.

    I really can’t say enough about this series. I thought I was fully invested after the first book but now I am totally addicted. These characters are so well developed that I feel like I actually know them. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My goodness!

    I can't believe I have been deprived of Mrs. Kleypas' books until a month ago.
    There is one word to describe this book "Sigh". My goodness! Merripen's love for Win was devastating. He isn't charming and smooth like some heroes but like a storm to be reckoned with.

    The storyline is exciting, all the characters are fully developed and make you want to know more about them and Win and Merripen are the most romantic couple I have read written by the author.

    It's almost like Catherine and Heathcliff without the horrible personal flaws in their characters. Tormented love, more painful than pleasurable. Again, SIGH! All should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love love loved this book...

    It's hard to believe that I liked this one better than Cam's but I do believe I did.. And to have the secret revealed that I was hoping would turn out the way it did was wonderful. In the end Merripen and Win are amazing together and nothing can pull them apart. I would totally read this book again and not just on a rainy day! They are perfect together although there was one part where I wanted to slap Kev. But he came around and did the right thing. Now I'm lookin forward to Leo's bk comin out this summer!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Shining Example of Love and Passion!

    Merripen is a true Kleypas hero--darkly seductive with a deep noble streak. This is one of the best pairings I have read of in a romance novel--Merripen, the wild gypsy and Win, the delicate, gentlebred invalid. The novel was extremely touching because their love for eachother was so strong and their attraction didn't pop up from thn air but had been simmering for years. Although it is the second in the Hathaway series, I recommend not bothering with the first one (Amelia and Cam's book). The only problem I have with Seduce Me at Sunrise is that Kleypas clearly favors Amelia and Cam and has section's from their point of view way too often. That continues to happen in the next novel, Tempt me at Twilight (Poppy and Harry's) but the books are still worth reading. This is definitley a book that any regency romance fan should have in their library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A TRULY MAGNANIMOUS LOVE STORY!

    Having been left for dead by his gypsy tribe, Kev Merripen has lived with the Hathaway family since a very young age. Kev was an untamed snarling & snapping beast, when he arrived; until he caught view of Win, the second oldest daughter of the Hathaway family. For Kev it was love at first sight. Wishing Win would make her presence known, instead of always lurking in Kev's doorway, never entering his room.

    Until the morning Kev was going to leave forever, Win had been intrigued by him. To bare witness to such a savage boy, who could barely contain his anger at times. Win felt it was her duty to help Kev be a better person. As the two became friends, a growing & undeniable love had taken possession over their hearts.

    Kev is an exotic wild stubborn robust brute, & Win is a beautiful cunning gentle angel. Kev is set on keeping Win happy at all cost, even when she became ill with Scarlet Fever. Kev being afraid of heights would climb above a ladder & clean Win's bedroom window, as she lie in bed recovering, so that she may never see a gray sky, & watch a robin who had laid eggs in a nearby nest in a tree just outside her window.

    Since Win never completely recovers from Scarlet Fever, leaving her lungs weak & fragile. Cam & Amelia send Win away to a clinic in France, to be admitted under the care of renown Dr. Harrow, who has performed mircles with other respiratory patients. Win is accompanied to France by her now sober & reformed brother, Leo. Having to leave her family & the ONLY man she will ever love behind to become well again. Will Win be able to return & pick up from where she had left off?

    Kev's past also is accompanied with a dangerous secret that may destroy any future with Win. Upon Win's return home she too is harboring her own secrets as well. Will Kev & Win be able to deny their ignited passion for each other? Would either one be able to let go & have a normal life without the other? I guess your going to have to read the book to retrieve the conclusion, but you will NOT be disappointed.

    Once again Lisa Kleypas will capture you into a world of unrestricted sexual pleasure. You are transported to a time & place where your every actions are scrutinized by high society. The slightest hint of a scandal, you & your whole entire family's reputation is at stake. This book contains precise humor, along with the unending twist & turns that will leave you breathless. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK, DESERVES WELL BEYOND 5 STAR RATING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    secude me anytime...

    This book starts up right after MTM, a couple of months after Amelia and Cam are married which was great for continuity. We also get glimpses of some of the Wallflower characters for fans of Lisa Kleypas' other series! Merripen has loved Win since they were children. She is everything to him even though he feels he has nothing to offer her. None of this matters to Win because she has also loved Merripen since they were also children. Once she returns from France healthy and vibrant, Merripen has a very hard time denying her.
    The intimate parts of the books are steamy and tender. This book has everything a romance novel lover wants. Two fantastic and likeable characters, intresting and fast moving story, and not a lot of "backstory". The focus was ROMANCE! Thank you!. As of late I have purchased too many books labeled romance that were anything but.
    It is a brilliantly well rounded novel with some incredibly touching and laugh out loud funny moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book by Lisa Kleypas

    Seduce Me at Sunrise is my favorite Lisa Kleypas books some far. Love Kev and Win's story. Can't wait for the next Hathaway sister's story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This book about the second Hathaway sister Win who is desperately in love with Merripen a Rom who was rescued from death by her family when he was young. Win is very much in love with Merripen, but Merripen being the Rom that he is finds it very hard to embrace his feeling for Win. Finally after a series of events they both end up together and this makes this book a great love story.
    I loved reading this book from beginning to end. I loved all the colorful characters, the mystery and the romance. If you love historical romance novels then this book is definitely for you and as other reviewers have said you must read the first book in the series "Mine til Midnight" (Amelia's story) to fully understand this book.
    There's also another 3rd book in the series "Tempt Me at Twilight" (Coming in October 2009) and an excerpt can be found on Lisa Klepyas website this book is about Poppy's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Kleypas Book

    I really liked this one. BUT, you have to read the Prequel "Mine till Midnight" to understand a large portion of the book. However, once read, it makes Seduce Me at Sunrise so fantastic! Lots of questions get answered and it makes the prequel that much better.

    It's a good story for getting into another time and another environment. For historical romance lovers, it's a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    Loved it

    Loved the story & the characters. Great follow up to Mine til Midnight. Can't wait to read Leo & Miss Marks story next!! Possible title..."Afternoon Delight" ??? LOL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Greatest Romance Ever!

    Kev Merripen is the best romance character ever. I was so infactuated with his deep love for Win. He cared for her with every ounce of his being. My heart skips a beat everytime I think of when the Dr. Harrow is helping Win exercise and Merripen flies into a rage because another man is touching his woman. His character was so well-developed, he was so real. Lisa Kleypas is an extremely talented writer. This is the first book of hers I read, but it definately will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Klepas at her best!!

    Loved this book! I had just finished reading the companion book to this one: Mine til Midnight and found this one at the store. Romance at its best. Of course, I love all her books and can't wait for another one to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Awesome

    I Love all her books I was totally hooked from the first chapter to the last page! I can't wait for the next book!!! I hope she keeps going with this series for a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    Could not put it down!!

    Let me say first off how much I love to read anything by Lisa Kleypas!!<BR/>She writes in such a way that she draws you into the story as though you are there watching it all happen. I have to say that so far this is my favorite compared to Mine til' Midnight. The love and devotion that you feel that Kev has for Win is so breathtaking. You feel his pain when she leaves him to get well and then the anticipation as she's comtemplating to knock on his door or not when she gets back (read the story you'll understand!!) Loved the book and totally recommend anyone who is a die hard romantic at heart to read this book and anything by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6