Customer Reviews for

Seduce Me at Sunrise (Hathaway Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Absolute pleasure to read!

I thought Seduce Me at Sunrise was an awesome book. Ever since Lisa introduced us to Cam Rohan in The Devil in Winter, I was hoping for a book about him. And we got an excellent one where we met Amelia, Win, Merripen, Poppy, Leo, etc. After Mine Till Midnight, I was fas...
I thought Seduce Me at Sunrise was an awesome book. Ever since Lisa introduced us to Cam Rohan in The Devil in Winter, I was hoping for a book about him. And we got an excellent one where we met Amelia, Win, Merripen, Poppy, Leo, etc. After Mine Till Midnight, I was fascinated by the Hathaway family. During the reading of that book I could tell Win and Kev were destined for each other and I was anxiously awaiting the release of Seduce Me at Sunrise. I was not disappointed in the least. I highly recommend this book to historical romance fans and to Lisa Kleypas fans. Now I am awaiting a book about Leo and Miss Marks.
Go read this amazing book if you haven't already and if you have, read it again. I know I will! I re-read many of Lisa's books because they are absolutely a pleasure to read.

posted by 159656 on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

DITTO

No EBOOK for book #2????????
I read very fast (a book a day) and I buy a series at a time. I won't buy any of these books unless all of them are available in the same format.
I have my nook. Seriously, can we have a response of some sort as to WHY book #2 is NOT in e-...
No EBOOK for book #2????????
I read very fast (a book a day) and I buy a series at a time. I won't buy any of these books unless all of them are available in the same format.
I have my nook. Seriously, can we have a response of some sort as to WHY book #2 is NOT in e-format???

posted by ZebraNookReader on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    DITTO

    No EBOOK for book #2????????
    I read very fast (a book a day) and I buy a series at a time. I won't buy any of these books unless all of them are available in the same format.
    I have my nook. Seriously, can we have a response of some sort as to WHY book #2 is NOT in e-format???

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolute pleasure to read!

    I thought Seduce Me at Sunrise was an awesome book. Ever since Lisa introduced us to Cam Rohan in The Devil in Winter, I was hoping for a book about him. And we got an excellent one where we met Amelia, Win, Merripen, Poppy, Leo, etc. After Mine Till Midnight, I was fascinated by the Hathaway family. During the reading of that book I could tell Win and Kev were destined for each other and I was anxiously awaiting the release of Seduce Me at Sunrise. I was not disappointed in the least. I highly recommend this book to historical romance fans and to Lisa Kleypas fans. Now I am awaiting a book about Leo and Miss Marks.<BR/>Go read this amazing book if you haven't already and if you have, read it again. I know I will! I re-read many of Lisa's books because they are absolutely a pleasure to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Worst...

    but certainly not the best romance I've ever read. It was entertaining and held my interest. However, I've read much better. Would recommend though for anyone who likes historical romance with brooding men that can't express their emotions. HA!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Where's the ebook?

    Why no ebook? Hard to rate something I haven't read yet. I prefer to download from b&n but since they have no ebook, I will have to buy this from someplace else. Fortunately, I have a netbook and can download from any source.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    Frustrated

    Why is this book not in ebook format when all the others in the series are? I have finished the first one, and it was excellent. But, I guess I'll have to wait to finish the series until this one comes out in the ebook format :( So, while I know it is more than likely a good book, I can't give it a excellent rating until I've read it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    This was a very good book! Lisa Kleypas cant go wrong.

    I thought this book was very romantic and i loved the way it kept my attention through out the whole book. I couldn't read it fast enough. But that is Lisa Kleypas for ya. All her books are so good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    Liked the book, minus some inconsistencies

    I enjoyed reading Mine Till Midnight and loved the chemistry between Cam and Amelia. I looked forward to SMaS and Merripen and Win's story. In SMaS I could feel the struggle Merripen experienced about his feeling for, and interactions with, Win. <BR/>My only issues with the story is I'm a stickler for details. In the beginning, the story starts off a couple of months after MTM ends; year 1848 (MTM takes place fall 1848). In SMaS there is a good part of Merripen's background revealed in several chapters which are dated "12 years earlier"; that would be 1836. However, in MTM, when Amelia is recollecting the past about Merripen; he had lived with the family for 15 years; which would be 1833. Also, Merripen's Romany tribe used him as a fighter in bets against others; because of his size and brute strength; according to SMaS. But in MTM, Amelia says Merripen was rescued by them as a "small and rather slight lad". I get hung up on little details like that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Make it an ebook already!

    This is my favorite series and I want all of them on my nook. Come on, what gives!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    Agreeing with Frustrated!

    I just spent all this money on a Nook and the second book I want to buy is not available! What gives! I am seriously displeased!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Seductive Read

    There's something about the Hathaway's and their love interests... They are quirky and intriguing. I was looking forward to this book and found it to be very enjoyable.


    I love Kev. His character is dark, understandably so. He feels a love so powerful and deep that he is willing to deny it. Does that make sense? It didn't to Win either. He will do anything to protect her, even denying himself what they both long for. Her love has been thwarted for years by Kev's demons and the onset of Scarlet Fever. It left Win with weak lungs.


    Win's arrival back from the clinic that made her well results in a passionate encounter with Kev. However, Win also brings a potential suitor. This sets off a fiery set of events culminating in passion and discoveries for multiple characters.


    The only thing that left me a bit dissatisfied was the fact that the point of view switched back and forth from character to character (major and not so major). I was satisfied as Cam and Kev's pasts were revealed, but I did not really enjoy the multiple views. Also, Leo is introduced to the new governess. His POV on her is necessary for the following books, but it tended to distract me from the main storyline.


    Overall it is a good book. If you enjoy the Hathaway series, read this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    Really Good Read

    This is a truly sentimental book with characters that grew over time. As a reviewer suggested, it may be best to read the prequel as I was wondering about the supporting cast. However, once I started reading I did not want to put the book down. The chemistry between the two leads was "wow'. I felt that it was love grown over time and not the sudden type which made the hero/ heroine more poignant. This book paints a picture of that love flourishing over time and its lasting impression on the hero and heroine. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Bit Disappointing Actually.

    I love Ms. Kleypas' novels. She has a wonderfully engaging writing style and I have read all of the wallflower novels and Mine Until Midnight featuring Cam Rohan. I was really looking forward to Seduce Me at Sunrise because after reading about Merripen I decided I liked him better than Cam and couldn't wait for the next book to read his and Win's story. However, I had trouble getting through this book. Merripen was downright FRUSTRATING. His attitude toward Win grew tiresome long before the two finally (even in the book Lisa Kleypas herself writes "She was going to be kidnapped and ravished. Finally.") got together. If even the author thought it was too long in coming then why didn't she cut out some of the "Oh, no I can't! You're to good for me, I'd hurt you" babble. These two characters have known each other since childhood, since before Win's illness and invalidity; it was incredibly annoying to create a character that supposedly knew Win better than anyone and yet have Merripen treat her as though she was a piece of breakable glass with no courage or mind of her own. Merripen's reluctance - or rather inability - to trust Win to make her own decisions lasted for most of the book. I like Merripen, I like Win and I was glad to have their story told - it just wasn't all I'd hoped for. I would recommend it though for anyone who is a fan of either Merripen or Win. Plus, you get more of the Hathaway's background and set-up for future books featuring the remaining Hathaway siblings.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    an engaging tale starring a wonderful extremely tolerant female

    In 1836 the English attack a Gypsy camp. The youngster Kev Merripen tried to fight, but was knocked in the head by the butt of a rifle and stabbed in the back by a bayonet. His tribe fled leaving him behind to die. A hated Gadjo the Hathaway patriarch saves his life though Kev¿s disdain would have someone think otherwise. Filled with gypsy superstitions, Kev is raised in the home of a rationalist. However, his host¿s daughter Winifred softens his hostile outlook. Kev loves Win who is sent to France to recover from an illness. ------------ A dozen years later she comes home only to find her childhood friend angry and nasty towards her and seemingly everyone else. He tries to drive her away even as she only shows him kindness. Win knows she loves her gypsy and considers seduction to win his heart. However, she begins to give up on him leaving room for other suitors as Kev struggles between his desire for Win and his belief that a Gadjo and Romany cannot unite even in love.------------- Lisa Kleypas¿ latest Victorian romance (see MINE TILL MIDNIGHT and THE DEVIL IN WINTER) is an engaging tale starring a wonderful extremely tolerant female and a somewhat self defeating hero. Kev is the posterboy for the self fulfilling prophecy as he assumes the worst of others so takes no chances on his heart. Readers will appreciate the determined Win trying to persuade the obstinate Kev they belong together although his stubbornness can become a trifle frustrating.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    very sexy

    MACHISIMO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Seduce Me at Sunrise

    I loved this book immensely. I loved Kev, Rohan, and Leo. This book made me feel so connected to Win, who is my favorite Hathaway female. Even in the first book in which she was sickly I could feel her strong spirit and connection to Kev. I liked the way the author went back into the history of the characters lives in order to clarify why characters behaved or thought a certain way. This story gave details about the love between Win and Kev that was introduced in book 1. I loved all the referenes to the gypsy lifestyle and beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A truly Captivating read

    Merripen is an intriguing character similar to Sin in "Born in Sin" by Kinley MacGregor. They both have deep resonating personalities and values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Cute

    Romantic and sweet. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Read!!!

    Love everything by Kleypas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Something good to read when you want to escape and be of good humor...

    This was almost better than the first Hathaway series book. Love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    fantastic addition to the series

    I adored the first book in this series and was afraid that the second book would not live up to my expectations. I am happy to report that Seduce Me At Sunrise did not disappointed and I fell in love with the Hathaways all over again.

    My heart went out to Merripen in the first book. Haunted by a dark and violent past, he’s resigned himself to never having the one thing he wants most in life - Win. He’s afraid to hurt her, afraid that the violence he did in his youth will come out one day and harm her. He’s the very definition of a tortured hero. He is intense and moody but also extremely loyal with a great capacity for love. He’s also the most infuriatingly stubborn man I've ever met! He kisses Win passionately one moment and pushes her away the next. His mixed signals were enough to drive any girl a little batty.

    Luckily, Win is a persistent woman who knows what she wants. I like that she isn’t cowed by Merripen and stands up to him. Even when Merripen made me want to throw up my hands and give up, Win holds her ground. She has a quiet inner strength that anchors the entire family.

    I am also happy to say that we see more of Cam and Amelia in this one. They are one of my favorite couples and seeing them as a married couple only solidifies my love for them. Cam and Merripen also find answers to the mysterious origins of their tattoos. I won’t spoil it but let’s just say that the revelation is a big one that has great significance for both of them.

    I really can’t say enough about this series. I thought I was fully invested after the first book but now I am totally addicted. These characters are so well developed that I feel like I actually know them. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11