Customer Reviews for

Seduced by Magic

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    McCray does it again...Bravo

    Fae, witches, magic, sensuality, great characters and superb writing make Seduced by Magic a must read by Cheyenne McCray. As a long-time fan of this author, I always look forward to each of her releases and this one did not disappoint. The characters bring this story to life, the writing seduce a reader and we're swept away into out-of-this-world adventure. The plot is quick, an adrenaline rush, and the author keeps the reader enthralled. Though a stand alone title, it's a suggestion to readers to pick up a copy of Forbidden Magic, the prequel to Seduced by Magic. The series would read better together, though not mandatory, but reading them together, a reader gets double-McCray and better enjoyment. Charismatic and exciting characters, passion, exceptional world building and transfixing imagery, pick up Seduced by Magic ASAP. This reader, and continued fan, was disappointed, others shouldn't be either. Bravo once again, Ms. McCray.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good plot, cut and paste job on the steam though

    Ok, so I've read some of this series (out of order) and I like the ideas and the plot. Some of the story lines are a little standard though. Someone is torn between duty and love and chooses love, etc, etc. The characters are cool, the plot is interesting mostly, but the sex scenes are all the same. And quite frankly, they seem to be something more like what a man would write. I wonder if Ms. McCray owns any Pugs or has been to the Netherlands? Anyway, the books are good if not redundant. Good for entertainment but not enthrallment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bedazzling, Imaginative and Crafty

    I recommend you read the previous book in this series Forbidden Magic, before undertaking this book. This story was bewitching and exciting. I was completely entertained, enchanted, entranced and intrigued. Cooper Ashcroft has been trapped in a magical shield in Otherworld for over a year. Slaving and toiling again and again over her spells trying to break the shield has been fruitless. Not only did her magic backfire on her and trap her but she also managed to trap the faerie queen aboveground with her, as well as the Drow King and his followers underground. Meanwhile on earth, Tiernan a Tuath D'Danann warrior has been assisting Silver and the rest of her grey magic coven in locating Darkwolf and Junga. Unbeknownst to himself, he has become attached to Cooper and just as frustrated as Silver over Coopers disappearance. Leaving for Otherworld to take care of some personal business, Tiernan manages to get sucked into Cooper's magic prison with her. Cooper knows she is feisty and smart and will eventually figure a way to free all trapped with her within the bubble. Nevertheless, Darkwolf has found another way to free Balor the god of death and sets out in executing his plan. Unfortunately for him and everyone else involved, Balor is not the only powerful being trapped in Underworld. Darkwolf's actions unleash a powerful being that auspiciously turns the tables on him. My favorite part of the book is how a new reality dawns on Darkwolf. I predict in the next installment we are going to see a whole knew submissive side to Darkwolf and I can't wait. I really hope Junga can break the hold Darkwolf has over her. She is a formidable opponent but her one flaw keeps her underfoot instead of on top. I really enjoyed this book. I particularly loved Cheyenne's description of Otherworld and the Drow King's kingdom. I categorize this as an "almost" hybrid between dark paranormal romance and dark urban fantasy. Like the previous book in the series; had there been less sex (regardless of how hot they all were) it would've been a hybrid. I highly recommend this series to dark urban fantasy readers who have a vast tolerance for lots of sex scenes and don't mind skipping them to stick with the plot. I also look forward to reading the next book in the series Wicked Magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sexy, Erotic Fun Paranormal Romance

    After reading Ms. McCrays short story in "No Rest for the Witches" I decided to try this series out. After researching them I realized that the short story was an extension to her Magic Series.

    I was pleasantly surprised when this series had much more eroticism to it than your average romance novel! As far as I can tell, so far there are 5 books to this series. And all the characters play a part in all the books. So it pays to read them in order. I'm really hoping for more to the series!

    These books are listed in Paranormal Romance...so if your looking for just paranormal this isn't for you, I suggest reading the reviews a bit closer before picking up the book. It's not just paranormal or just straight up erotica or plain old romance. For those who like erotic description and actual sex in their romance novels, and not just romance, as well as the paranormal, then this is for you. There are plenty of paranormal entities within the story line, such as witches, dryads, elves, faeries, demons, and magic.

    If you don't like erotic passages, then move on to another writer or perhaps try one of Ms. McCrays other romance novels. This series is a fantastic way to escape the realities of the day and have fun, a highly erotic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a fun, sexy Paranormal Romance - an enjoyable erotic series!

    I actually picked up the last installment of this series by accident, and really enjoyed it. I thought originally it was just going to be paranormal (anything from witches and demons to vampires and werewolves) with a little romance, and was pleasantly surprised it was erotic, too. Now I'm working backwards because all the characters play a part in all the books.

    This is one of a series of books - and they are listed in Paranormal Romance...so anyone who is shocked that there is sex in the book - well, it seems that maybe they didn't read the description of the book. It's erotic romance blended with yummy things like witches, elves, demons, and magic. It's not just paranormal or just straight up erotica or simply romance.

    For those who like erotic description and actual sex in their romance novels (instead of just romance) as well as the paranormal, then this is for you. If you don't like erotic passages, then pass it over.

    It's a great way to escape and a fun, erotic read. Take it for that and don't look for a Pulitzer, and you'll be fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    The title is appropriate

    This was a complete disappointment. All this writing consists of, in my estimation, is a series of vividly described sex acts, loosely connected by a childish plot. I bought the book seeking to track down an author. I must have been wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Omg! This was awful!

    I like reading books about paranormal, so i checked this book out at the library thinking it would be good. Boy was I wrong. There is seriously no story to this, it was all about sex! Every other page they were gettin it on! I had read the first one, and hoped that the second one, this book, was going to be better. It's not! Both books were exactly the same! A WASTE of time do not read!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Really good book

    Loved it. It had drama, romance and lots of action. Cheyenne McCray is an extremely talented writer. I recommend reading Forbidden Magic first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Major Disappointment

    I had bought this book by reading the story line and brief reviews. I had started reading futuristic Romance several years ago when I accidentally picked up a book by Christine Feehan and fell in love with the subjects of shape-shifters, then later vampires. I have looked forward to the same exciting, romantic fantasy. However, I must admit, while I thoughly enjoyed the plot of Seduced by Magic, I was totally turned off by the lack of creativity and sensual aspect of this book. The four letter words and fulgarity was an immediate turn-off and as a result had to force myself to finish reading, prayed for the more seductive physical description. I have not read any other books by Cheyenne McCray but I can't see them as changing much in that aspect. I'm not a prude but have come to expect descriptive and sensual writing in a Romance Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    what a waste!!!!

    i picked this book up after reading a brief description, the characters lacked any real depth and were down right boring. the love romance scences, if you even can call them that were down right vulgar. this book is a complete waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    D¿Anu Witch Copper Ashcroft remains trapped in Otherword where a failed magical spell she employed in her battle with the warlock Darkwolf sent her. Over a year with no signs of returning home, Copper meets up with another person thrown into this strange realm. Tuatha D¿Danann warrior Tiernan has joined her.-------------------- His mission is to abet the mortal witches in their war against the demonic Fomorii. She, on the other hand, sees him as the avenue home. Both know the magnetic attraction is all wrong as the timing could not be worse yet desire is a powerful magic. However, as their attraction and need turn into an inferno, they must escape this prison called Otherworld because Tiernann¿s visions forecasts a lethal Fomorii plot to free the malevolent darkest God Balor.--------------------- Anyone not seduced by the magic of Cheyenne McCray is obviously a Fomorii as this author provides some of the best romantic fantasies on the market today. Her latest precious magical Ashcroft saga (see FORBIDDEN MAGIC starring Silver Ashcroft) is a delightful torrid tale headed by a strong lead couple and supported ably by a horde of bad dudes. Fans who appreciate a strong fantasy will want to read the magnificent McCray mythos.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2