Customer Reviews for

Seduced by Moonlight (Meredith Gentry Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(370)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

NC - 17

On the positive side, Merry is still alive, despite the best efforts of her Unseelie enemies. On the other side, despite her and her macho harem's best work, she is not pregnant. Other things are happening though. Merry's personal magic is growing by leaps and bounds, a...
On the positive side, Merry is still alive, despite the best efforts of her Unseelie enemies. On the other side, despite her and her macho harem's best work, she is not pregnant. Other things are happening though. Merry's personal magic is growing by leaps and bounds, and her touch is enough to bring back powers others have lost, and then some. Even that does not endear her to the sidhe who see her as a miserable half breed, or worse. Someone is willing to risk the anger of the Queen of Air and Darkness to assassinate the royal heir. They are even willing to bespell the queen herself. When Merry and Auntie Dearest lay aside past squabbles to unite against the enemy for a magical showdown, the duel is one well worth the price of admission. ..................................... **** Merry Gentry is much more intense than the Anita Blake books. Despite having to rely on her guards for protection, Merry does not appear at all weak. At times, your brain will be stretched, trying to picture the fantastic creatures invented for the series, but at their hearts, even the strangest displays extremely human emotions that you can recognize. Be advised, you need to A. refresh your memory on who's who or what in the prior books as the cast continually expands and B. it's definitely NC 17. ****

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mary Has Graduated From Graciously Lying on Her Back to Joyously Bobbing on Her Knees

I was enjoying this book until about page 130, when Merry had the great transformation. I simply do not get it. Does Laurell not like Merry's character? Why on earth would she make Merry THE PRINCESS, soon to be queen a huge sperm bank? At one point, Merry is so ups...
I was enjoying this book until about page 130, when Merry had the great transformation. I simply do not get it. Does Laurell not like Merry's character? Why on earth would she make Merry THE PRINCESS, soon to be queen a huge sperm bank? At one point, Merry is so upset of being deprived the opportunity of swallowing seed, instead of all the men's seed always being used to try and get her pregnant. For goddess sake, it was almost like Merry was swishing it around in her mouth like fine wine. If Merry is the one to be worshiped, especially now that she is a goddess; then why aren't the men worshiping her? The guards are not kings, why aren't they on their knees and putting out to Merry? Why is the princess doing all the menial labor with such shameless eagerness, like the men are doing her a favor by letting her taste? Perhaps if Merry were at least on equal footing between her and her men sexually, I wouldn't be this disgusted. Don't get me wrong, I love reading demented books as much as the next gal but having Merry anxious to please everyone like a love starved puppy is demeaning. Relationships are give and take. Just because someone is eager to be used as a Hoover vacuum doesn't make it right. I've never been so conflicted with a series. The fantasy in this series is phenomenal and like no other. The last 100 pages of this book were so good; I was riveted to each word. However, the sex is just goddess awful and they last for pages upon pages; it's not easy to just skip them. I'm so disgusted with Merry's sex life but I love Merry's character when she isn't draped or drowning in men (and women). I hate myself for saying this but I will read the next book in this series, Stroke of Midnight because sadly enough, I can't wait to see what happens next with the fantasy portion of this series.

posted by kitkat3ny on November 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Faire Princess for sale...slightly used

    Princess Merry Blake--Oops! I mean Vampire Prin--darn it! Can't seem to decipher between the two. Is that my fault. No couldn't be. Could it be the editor's fault? Nooo...maybe the publisher's? No. They didn't write this but SOMEONE that was close to Mrs. Hamilton who had read her previous books, had to have told her that this book was not going to hold water with ANYONE that has read ANY of her books up to Obsidian Butterfly. Two books of this character and now you can't tell her apart from Hamilton's(that's right, I said it! I no longer feel the author has respect for this character to give it proper attention) Anita Blake in her Vampire Hunter series. If this about meeting a deadline or getting the project done to keep in legal bounds with a contract then Hamilton has seriously miscalculated.(in laymen's terms, she f***** up.) Why can't I use that language, she does and quite frequently. Not in this series? That's ok. If not this series then any of the last three Anita Blake books will more than support my choice of expression. Let me slow down. I'm all over the map with what I want to really say.(much like this book. Wait, I didnt describe what my eyes look like. Their bloodshot with crackling red crimson lines along the whites. The iris' outer rim are normal, with touch of toilet bowl green mildew green in them...) Lady(Hamilton)either focus or finish it. Trying to be 'Super Author' and keeping up with another 'well known' author just because he says any author doesnt put out a certain number of books a year is lazy, is pure foolishness. Don't be suckered into that 'Sidhe Pride'(peer pressure) the faire princess harps on so much in this book. Stop selling your characters, take the time and start writing them again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    oh, boy! More sex...

    WHile I have enjoyed the 2 previous books in this series, this one was tedious. The plot was sex, sex and more sex. If you condense what interests me about the series (the deities, their hierarchy) into a separate book, THAT plot would have been about 30 pages long. Glad I borrowed a copy instead of purchasing one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Oh, Please.....Come On...

    We know Meredith is a princess and in line for the throne. We understand she is bringing back the powers that have been lost but where is the intrigue, where are the court politics and internal dynamics that really is making it difficult for her to be accepted by both courts. Very poorly written, sex is not going to keep me interested (especially now with sixteen sex partners and more to be added). Granted a sexual act brings back lost power and godhead.... getting to it gets pretty boring. I want a clearer explanation of the deities in the courts, who are they, what did happen to make them lose their powers. Also, if the author is going to rehash court politics......why not provide better insights into each of the (lesser) courts and how their internal politics play into the two (higher) courts, Air and Darkness against Light and Illlusion. Better explanation of the difference between the two and why and how they became two separate courts. Also, about the lesser courts why their loyalities are the way they are. And since Meredith is a child of two courts, why would the Sidhes of both courts be upset over her coming to the throne besides the fact that she is half mortal? Is there something in Sidhes history that says if a mortal becomes ruler what would happen? What about a half mortal? Also, a better explanation about the sixteen royal houses within the court of air and darkness. The only two things that keep me going and interested was what happen in the queen's chambers during her bloodlust and how Meredith became more royal by saving these men.....and Maeve's confrontation on Meredith's right to rule (court politics how its played against the queen's unresolved weaknesses and Meredith's growing strengths). Too many words, no substance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    CRAP!

    I used to run to the book store with every new book. I would buy two copies of each book, so I would not have to share with the rest of my household. I could not finish this book! If I wanted pornography, I would buy it. I don't mind sex, sometimes it moves story, or is a good payoff (Jean-Claude - Killing Dance). This is smut without a story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    What a waste....

    I¿ve tried to hang on through the second book and was barely able to make it through this one. It seems the more Ms. Hamilton writes about the character and her environment, the less she really has to say. The majority of the book can be reduced to a ¿his eyes were the color of ____ ¿the outer layer was this color, the inner layer was this color, AND then some magic happens. And now his eyes are the color of _____ ¿ the outer layer was this color, the inner layer was this color, AND then some magic happens and so on¿. By taking out the extensive descriptions of the people, their hair, their skin, the tri-colored eyes, the way they move, their power, the rules she has to follow in order to ¿survive¿, endless references to what had happened to someone in the past, behavioral characteristics that really don¿t matter (pouting for example)¿you end up with a book that has less than 2 to three pages of good stuff. Truly, I don¿t care about the sex. If I needed that, I could always go back to the earlier Anita Blake books (better written and easier to follow). But I do care about the direction that Ms. Hamilton is going. The last two Anita Blake books were ok¿but the last one was unreadable. Is this a trend? Has she hit that fictional brick wall? Has the well truly run dry?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    Where's The Story?

    I have always enjoyed Ms Hamilton and couldn't wait for the next book...until now. It's nice that Merry enjoys sex, but not getting out of the bedroom for three fourths of the book makes it repetitive. The last few chapters were back to the 'old' Hamilton and were great. But will I buy the next one? Probably not...unless I check the middle of the book to see if Merry is out of bed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    FILTH !

    Ms. Hamilton's work was highly recommended - BUT - I found it to be nothing but pornography. What an insult to a reader. Only read the first chapter, skipped thru the book a little then tossed the book into the trash. Such a waste of time and money!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Will the real author please step forward?

    OK! Who really wrote this book? Definitely not Hamilton. It's super-saturated with unrealistic sex - do the timeline for yourself. No plot to speak of, just lots of confusing tidbits hinting that there might be something there... in her next book so, why don't you buy it??? Feh! I liked it better when Doyle was holding out - now, he's just on the back burner. Just get it over with and make him the darned consort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1