Customer Reviews for

Seduced By Shadows: A Novel of the Marked Souls

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you like dark adventure...

I'd recommend "Seduced by Shadows" for fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward. The story is complex, the world building is detailed, and the characters are richly satisfying. Jessa has created 'band of brother' style heroes in the talyan warriors that are up there with th...
I'd recommend "Seduced by Shadows" for fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward. The story is complex, the world building is detailed, and the characters are richly satisfying. Jessa has created 'band of brother' style heroes in the talyan warriors that are up there with the dark-hunters and the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Plus, her heroine kicks serious butt

posted by joeysbooks1 on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

They stopped arguing long enough to save the world! ...oh wait, no they didn't.

Seduced by Shadows was a book I got at a book club book swap. It looked interesting enough and when I began the book, I was pleasantly surprised with the writing and especially the world. I really liked the not quite black and white view of good and evil. The whole s...
Seduced by Shadows was a book I got at a book club book swap. It looked interesting enough and when I began the book, I was pleasantly surprised with the writing and especially the world. I really liked the not quite black and white view of good and evil. The whole setting was done very well and I liked the situations that it put the characters into. The characters were what made the book hard to read. I liked Sera's spunk. Come on, a girl like her who has been through a traumatizing, near death incident that can make the quips she makes? Yes, she steals the page. However, the interaction between Sera and Archer is like nails on a chalk board. At first I was really into their butting heads, cheering Sera on in her independence even though I know she's going to get herself in trouble. But it just kept going on, and on, and on, and the arguing ratcheted higher and higher. If these were people in real life, I'd say they need communication counseling. Just sit down and talk things out - sometimes a few words could solve a situation so you let another person know - but no. I get that this put the characters into conflict, but I would have liked the book a lot more if the end wasn't brought around by their arguing and going against each other. In the end the arguing annoyed me so much that I have no desire to read the book again, even though the world was so interesting.

posted by Cid on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    They stopped arguing long enough to save the world! ...oh wait, no they didn't.

    Seduced by Shadows was a book I got at a book club book swap. It looked interesting enough and when I began the book, I was pleasantly surprised with the writing and especially the world. I really liked the not quite black and white view of good and evil. The whole setting was done very well and I liked the situations that it put the characters into. The characters were what made the book hard to read. I liked Sera's spunk. Come on, a girl like her who has been through a traumatizing, near death incident that can make the quips she makes? Yes, she steals the page. However, the interaction between Sera and Archer is like nails on a chalk board. At first I was really into their butting heads, cheering Sera on in her independence even though I know she's going to get herself in trouble. But it just kept going on, and on, and on, and the arguing ratcheted higher and higher. If these were people in real life, I'd say they need communication counseling. Just sit down and talk things out - sometimes a few words could solve a situation so you let another person know - but no. I get that this put the characters into conflict, but I would have liked the book a lot more if the end wasn't brought around by their arguing and going against each other. In the end the arguing annoyed me so much that I have no desire to read the book again, even though the world was so interesting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like dark adventure...

    I'd recommend "Seduced by Shadows" for fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward. The story is complex, the world building is detailed, and the characters are richly satisfying. Jessa has created 'band of brother' style heroes in the talyan warriors that are up there with the dark-hunters and the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Plus, her heroine kicks serious butt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Rdh

    Xn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good Read

    enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I found the story engaging and the characters interesting. Sera

    I found the story engaging and the characters interesting. Sera didn't draw me in as much as I hoped, but I did find her pain believable. Archer's issues also felt real. I like the side characters of Bookie and Nanette. The plot flows well. Although, I would liked to have seen Sera resist a little more and not handle the situation quite as well as she did. She seemed more inquisitive about it, instead of freaking out.

    The world building was the problem for me. It was very intricate and I can only imagine the amount of notes the author has on it. However, it wasn't conveyed well enough to understand - too many unique terms (talya, teshuva, djinn, etc.), demon types not explained well (enigma-class etc), the powers weren't clear (still not sure of Sera's exact ability) and the descriptions were beautiful but too abstract for me to actually imagine.

    That said, there is so much opportunity for growth here - both with the storylines in the series and the author's writing. I think once Slade figures out how to show us more of her world and make it palpable, we'll see great things from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    One of mu new favorite books by far.

    This is by far the best demon book i have ever read. Jessa is a genius and i can guarantee i will be reading this again and again. I love this book much it has awakened the long dead muse inside me. I only hope i can come up wih aomehing half as good as this.




    ~James Demitri Harter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Quick and Easy Read

    I love the whole good vs. evil story line and supernatural topics. This book provided just enough of a twist off the typical story to be interesting. The characters had a good sense of humor and had very "real" personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Interesting read

    picked up this book as a book club recommendation. the beginning was difficult to get through, but as the story continued it got easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    If you like dark adventure...

    I'd recommend "Seduced by Shadows" for fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward. The story is complex, the world building is detailed, and the characters are richly satisfying. Jessa has created 'band of brother' style heroes in the talyan warriors that are up there with the dark-hunters and the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Plus, her heroine kicks serious butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    Twice bitten

    The story line is orignal enough for this genre but the editing is horrible. Spell checks great if you used the right words to begin with, so be prepared to reread lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enter the world of the Marked Souls!

    SEDUCED BY SHADOWS is an amazing introduction to the world of The Marked Souls. Jessa Slade is a master storyteller! The world unfolds with power and passion, demons and delights. All the characters are intense, with unique personalities, issues and voices. Who knew repentant demons could be so different from each other!

    This is a keeper book, one I'll reread at least once before book 2 FORGED BY SHADOWS his the shelves in May.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super romantic urban fantasy

    Her life was never that good especially after her mother committed suicide and her father proved pathetic while her brothers fled the family. However, Sera Littlejohn's life became worse when she is crippled in an accident; now she lives every moment with unbearable pain and a struggle to get around.

    Although she had not thought much of possession, the demon entices her with healing her battered body by taking it over, which also denotes damned. However, when she meets also possessed Ferris Archer, she finds her soul mate. He, in turn, has never met a demonic-possessed woman although he knows she is his if he does not have to kill her for what is inside her.

    The key to the first marked Souls' romantic urban fantasy is the belief that the demon-angel war fought inside the bodies of humans in places like Chicago is real. Everything else flows from the belief that the Slade realm is genuine with each soul a battlefield. Sera and Archer are a fabulous pairing as each comes into their relationship possessed by demonic baggage. Fans will want to join in the war of souls fought one person at a time except when love brings two souls together.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2