Customer Reviews for

Seducing the Enemy

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Pride can get in the way and make you stupid.  This is exactly w

    Pride can get in the way and make you stupid.  This is exactly what happened with Harrison Damon.  Caught up in family battle that was never his but dedication to his family makes it personal.  This is where his suspicion and bitterness comes into play.  Marietta has lost her youth to an accident that caused this family battle.  She wants it to be done with so she can start living.  The night she starts her life is amazing, hot and unforgettable.  Especially when she walks into a meeting the next day to see the man she gave her virginity to, Damon, the enemy.  They still desire each other but there is no trust at all.  Can a relationship even begin when there is lust by no trust?  This is a great story with hot sex and the need to slap the characters.  I can't wait to read the next book in series.  




    Thank you Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley for an ARC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You know, there¿s nothing I like more than curling up on the cou

    You know, there’s nothing I like more than curling up on the couch with a good glass of wine (or any delicious alcoholic beverage) and a good book. Let me tell you, this book met my criteria exactly. Was it LOL funny? Check. Did it have a smoking hot hero? Check. Did it have a heroine who didn’t take nonsense from aforementioned hero? Check.




    Harrison Damon is a swoon-worthy, hunky specimen of the male species. He is also heir to the Damon fortune. Untrusting and uptight, it takes a virginal Marietta Edwards, to loosen him up. After a very hot one night stand, both of them realise the stranger they just slept with, is someone they should’ve avoided. With a not-so nice history between the families, it has a hint of Romeo and Juliet. 




    :“Are you saying you didn’t vengefully give me a black eye? Or torture me through an endless shopping expedition for your own amusement? Or trick me into reading a smutty book just as a priest happened by? Or nag me incessantly about my private thoughts? Or invade my office and throw my coffee out the window?” 
    Reading that list I felt sorry for the poor guy. 




    There were pieces in this book that made me want to punch the living daylights out of Harrison. There were pieces that made me sigh and go “Awww.” But most of all it had me burning up with desire all the time.




    Noelle Adams is a romance genius. I devoured every word in a matter of hours, and when I was done I was left wanting more.
    This is definitely a must-read. So grab a glass of wine (or tea or whatever), shoo any other people away, forget about making dinner. Just get this book and read it until your eyes can’t focus. And when that happens and you still have pages left to read, get up, get another drink and carry on reading. Believe me, you won’t regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was not too fond of Harry at first, but he grew on me.  Great

    I was not too fond of Harry at first, but he grew on me.  Great story about overcoming what life throws at you and moving on to find happiness.  I really liked this story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I pretty much just finished Seducing the Enemy by Noelle Adams.

    I pretty much just finished Seducing the Enemy by Noelle Adams. All right the first thing that caught my eye was the title. Anytime you throw in a form of seduce and enemy it becomes a must read. Main reason, I have to know why they are using the word seducing and enemy in the same phrase. 

    Quick background: The Edwards and Damon have been in disagreement on what happen about 15 years ago. Think of it as a modern day Hatfield and McCoy situation. Anyway, the night before the negotiations Marietta and Harrison had relations. Neither one of them knew that were embroil in a situation until they met the next morning and things turned a bit ugly. Hurtful things were said and negotiations were off the table before they really started. 

    I thought Seducing the Enemy was pretty amazing. In the story we find Marietta trying to fix the situation and move on in her life. However, she feels the best way is talk to the Uncle face to face. Yet she gets stonedwalled by Harrison, because he believes nothing a gold-digger. It's not Harrison's fault that he can't trust women. I mean in his experience he was hungout to dry by the last woman, so can't really blame the guy for being cautions. On the same token, treating every woman like they are all conniving deceitful evil people when not every woman is a bit harsh. Yet, experience will dictate how you will handle situations.   

    Basically you have a young woman who went against the odds to become whole again doing battle against a bitter man who believes woman are nothing but gold-diggers. I love how we have enemies that slowly become friends that could be possibly be lovers. However, the past still lingers and might cause disharmony. 

    I found myself not wanting to put down Seducing the Enemy. Overall, I found the story captivating and intriguing. Who doesn't love a stubborn man? Maybe not in real life, but in a book all right. So, if you are looking for an amazing read, you might want to try Seducing the Enemy.

    Copy provided by publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    *I received an ARC of this book in exchange for this honest revi

    *I received an ARC of this book in exchange for this honest review*

    Ms. Adams has really brought all her talents to bear with this one!

    This book is a fabulous fast paced enjoyable read and does great credit to Noelle Adams pedigree as a uniquely talented writer. Each of her books provide charming likeable heroines (which is surprisingly rare in romance novels books it seems), sexy and complicated heroes, natural dialogue and infectious humor. That definitely all comes through in this novel, along with a great balance of adorable fun and sophisticated storytelling.

    The plot is downright fascinating but I don't want to risk giving anything away. Marietta ("Etta") was in a horrible car accident when she was 10 that stole the life of her sister and her childhood. She is now an adult and eager to start her life. Harrison ("Harry") Damon is the responsible nephew in a prestigious family. He and Etta's lives collide and surprises, misunderstandings and romance abound.

    This book just reached out and grabbed me from the start. There was no way I was putting this down! The pacing is perfect - beautifully developed without dragging or ever feeling rushed. There is a lovely balance between nineteenth century romantic notions and purely modern plot and storytelling. It makes for a real reader's dream book.

    I would also like to highlight the international nature of the book. We visit England, France and america during this book and each piece is so realistic and human, without any artificiality, that it feels like you are really there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Marietta (Etta) Edwards has finally recovered from a deadly acci

    Marietta (Etta) Edwards has finally recovered from a deadly accident that crippled her and killed her sister. She goes to Monte Carlo to have some fun. At a club she meets a handsome man who stirs her emotions. Harry is everything that a woman could want. They spend the night together. That is the quite before the storm. When they meet the next morning, they find that they are deadly enemies. He is actually Harrison Damon. His cousin drove the car the changed her life. He believes that she is only after money. Why wouldn't he believe that she didn't know who he was? Marietta goes to see Harrison's uncle to explain. He demands she stay with the Damons for a week. The time they spend together is magical. Their attraction grows as does their love, but a dark secret brings more pain. Can their love survive? Noelle Adams is a gifted author. She manages to combine deep emotions, a sexy romance and biting humor to write the compelling story of Etta and Harry. I laughed and shed tears as these two worked to find their HEA. I loved their story. I'm so excited that Andrew Damon, Harrison's brother, gets his own story in November, 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    In Seducing the Enemy, Marietta has a one-night stand with a hot

    In Seducing the Enemy, Marietta has a one-night stand with a hot guy she meets at a bar (a very HOT one-night stand), only to discover that Harrison is part of the family her grandfather is suing for causing an accident which killed her sister and left Marietta paralyzed for thirteen years.

    Seriously. How awesome is that set-up?

    I LOVED this book. Read it in one sitting. The characters are amazing and believable. The chemistry is smokin' hot, and the writing is smooth. Marietta is sweet but strong, and I loved how she stood up for herself and didn't let Harrison get away with anything. And Harrison? *fans self* H.O.T.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    Kai

    Nick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    My Thoughts: There's no question that every time I pick up a No

    My Thoughts:

    There's no question that every time I pick up a Noelle Adams novel, I know I'm going to adore it. When I picked this one up, I had no idea what I was in for. Often I just expect something cute, something likable... but then I get something amazing instead.

    It is impossible not to love Marietta. She's hilarious, so much so, that I couldn't stop laughing in the first couple chapters. My favorite is the scene with all the accents. I love seeing couples together just being ridiculous and laughing like that. It kept happening, even up until the end. It was simply ADORABLE. So was Harrison. There were moments when I wanted to shake him a little bit, but deep down you just know he'll come through and be an honorable man. He paid close attention to Etta, enough that he tried to protect her from things that made her uncomfortable.

    The situation between their families is serious, and I liked how we were able to see it from different angles. What I really liked about it was how everything tied in from beginning to end. Not going to go into detail there because... spoiler alert! And I don't like doing that to people.

    Seducing The Enemy is a need-to-keep-turning-the-page kind of novel. Marietta and Harrison have a lot to work through, and yet they care for each other enough to push through the obstacles. They learned how to trust and love deeply. It had everything a romance should have, and then some. Every Noelle Adams story I read is intriguing and honest and sweet. This one is definitely worthy is picking up sometime.

    My Rating: Exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    A stranger comes in

    And fuks May right in the puzzy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    May

    Im at the other book!)) You mean YOU will see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Sweet simple read

    This is a simple easy read. If you have no interruptions you will finish it in a day.

    The character's development is almost perfect, though I wish they were not so proper. But it wasn't to the point where it annoyed. So it was still good. The details in the book was well written, no mistakes and I could picture in my head the scenes.

    I really liked this book it was simple, but also kept your attention. There was little drama ( which I normally perfer more) but this had just enough to keep me happy.

    I was so mad when Harrison chose his work and family over Etta. I wanted to slap him ( if he was real of course) upside the head. The ending line

    'sweat pea' almost had me in tears. It was a perfect ending to an awsome book. I will definitely be reading the rest of Noelle Adams books.

    I'd suggest this book to anyone to read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    I loved Seducing the Enemy!!!! Etta meets "Harry" Harr

    I loved Seducing the Enemy!!!! Etta meets "Harry" Harrison in a club, he is working and she stumbles and falls on him on her way into the club with her good friend Anne. Anne has dared Etta to seduce a man of Anne's choice as a way for Etta to get back in the game, to start living her life a little less "safe". Etta had lived a lot of her life in a wheelchair after a tragic accident as a child. But she is back on her feet and eager to try new things. Anne was going to choose the man that Etta was supposed to seduce but Etta was repeatedly drawn to Harry. Anne agrees that Etta should try to seduce Harry. They spend a fabulous one night stand together but the morning brings surprises that neither expects including that Harry is really Harrison Damon and Etta is really Marietta Edwards. I don't want to give too much away but the romance is wonderful and difficult as all love is. They have a tough road to being together. Love and trust don't come easy for Harrison and Marietta is full of light. I didn't want to put this book down and I can't wait for Heirs of Damon Book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    I must admit I love the title, and it certainly got me in, but i

    I must admit I love the title, and it certainly got me in, but it was the characters and the writing that kept me so
    much that I could barely put it down, I know it is a bit of a formula book but under Noelle Adam's hand it all
    seemed brand new.
    Marietta or Etta is someone who takes joy in the simplest of things and after having been in a wheelchair for so
    long and now being able to walk I can understand, we take do much for granted the simple pleasure of being
    able to get up and walk outside to smell the fresh air, and I think that this story shows the joy that can be
    experienced by just experiencing life and not being so cool we miss out on the beauty of what is around us.
    Harrison Damon is missing out on so much of the beauty of just being simply by being so busy being everything
    to everyone. Then when he meets Etta something just clicks, then he finds out who she is, their families have
    been enemies since the accident that put Marietta in the wheelchair and now Harrison isn't sure who is who or
    what is what. Is Etta really the enemy who seduced him or is he the enemy who seduced her.
    Andrew is certainly a charmer and I can't wait to read the book about him. This is a delightfully seductive book
    that draws you in and does it's own seduction until you are trapped and can't let go until you have completed
    the final page.
    I received a free copy for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a great read! Full of emotion and humor! And super

    This was such a great read! Full of emotion and humor! And super sexy too! I could hardly put it down.

    I loved Etta! She is such an open and sweet person, with a great sense of humor. Harrison "Harry" is everything you could ask for in a guy. Super sweet and loyal. Yet very protective too. The chemistry was great between them. I definitely rooted for them the whole story.

    When Etta was 10 she was in a car crash that killed her older sister and left her in a wheel chair. The driver was a member of the Damon family. 15 years later she can finally walk again and wants to get out and experience life. She meets Harrison at a club not knowing that he's a Damon, who her family has a lawsuit against, and sparks fly.

    Finding out later who each other are chaos ensues and misunderstandings happen. Etta wanting to explain to Harrison that she didn't know who he was and wasn't trying to use him in some elaborate scheme goes to the Damon estate only to be invited to stay the week by Harrison's uncle. Harrison who has been burned in the past by a woman has a real hard time believing Etta but can't seem to help himself from wanting her.

    This was a seriously sweet read that had me laughing out loud in parts. It could go from being super sexy at times to just so funny. I'm definitely looking forward to reading more from this author.
    I was gifted this from the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1