Customer Reviews for

Seduction of Sara

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

posted by booksonmynook on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Seduction Is a Little Weak...

I am an avid reader of historical romances for over 20 years (since high school). I stopped reading the past five years as I got burnt out on all the story lines and boring characters. I started reading again and focused on reviews to find new authors. Karen Hawkins see...
I am an avid reader of historical romances for over 20 years (since high school). I stopped reading the past five years as I got burnt out on all the story lines and boring characters. I started reading again and focused on reviews to find new authors. Karen Hawkins seemed to get her share of positive feedback so, I tried 'A Seduction Of Sara'. Parts of the story were good and others lacking. The book started off strong and grew in the middle but, some of the later parts just didn't work good for me. For instance - Nick, the hero seemed to come on all strong, handsome and confident in the beginning as he decided to woo Sara and make her his lover. Yet...later in the book once he decides he loves her and wants to marry her, he is suddenly hit with all these terrible headaches that just laid him out for days and he turned away from Sara during these times. It was like he became another character - weak, unkept and less than appealing. In turn, Sara was all fire and brimstone to do as she pleased from day one after having a bad marriage end yet, once she hooks up with Nick - she is just willing to do anything to keep him in her life. When he pushes her away, then she decides to be without him. The story line seemed back and forth a bit - not to my liking. Sara was made out to be this girl who was tough, smart and knew what she wanted in life and took it yet...her first marriage was a mess and she got walked upon - this didn't jive with the way the character was made out to be. It seemed odd to me. Also, I didn't care for the scene when Nick decides to push Sara away so, he finds his old mistress and sets up a love scene - not my idea of a hero to worship. Yuck! Also, the passion was not too hot and heavy - a mild 3-4 on a scale of 10. Although the scences were tastefully written, it was almost too bland and left you moving on and thinking about what could have been. I think a book on seduction needed alot more passion to hit it's mark. The ending seemed to come together a bit too tidy as well. It wrapped up too quick and neat considering all the issues they recently had (his illness, not wanting kids, just being married, family involvement, etc.). I think the ending should have been stretched out farther and resolution given so, you felt confident their marriage would be a success. For now, they had passion and love but, the rest still seemed a bit of a mess. Oh well.... This was cool at best. Over-all though, I think the story line had good potential and the side characters had lots of possibilites - such as Sara's brother Anthony and friend Anna and her aunt Delphie and her french beau Henri. Sometimes, the side characters seemed more appealing than the main ones. I think Karen Hawkins has potential but, this was one was a little off for me. I think you can still buy and read this one but, consider it a good read not an excellent one. I will try another of her books in case others develop better and this one just missed the mark.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    The Seduction Is a Little Weak...

    I am an avid reader of historical romances for over 20 years (since high school). I stopped reading the past five years as I got burnt out on all the story lines and boring characters. I started reading again and focused on reviews to find new authors. Karen Hawkins seemed to get her share of positive feedback so, I tried 'A Seduction Of Sara'. Parts of the story were good and others lacking. The book started off strong and grew in the middle but, some of the later parts just didn't work good for me. For instance - Nick, the hero seemed to come on all strong, handsome and confident in the beginning as he decided to woo Sara and make her his lover. Yet...later in the book once he decides he loves her and wants to marry her, he is suddenly hit with all these terrible headaches that just laid him out for days and he turned away from Sara during these times. It was like he became another character - weak, unkept and less than appealing. In turn, Sara was all fire and brimstone to do as she pleased from day one after having a bad marriage end yet, once she hooks up with Nick - she is just willing to do anything to keep him in her life. When he pushes her away, then she decides to be without him. The story line seemed back and forth a bit - not to my liking. Sara was made out to be this girl who was tough, smart and knew what she wanted in life and took it yet...her first marriage was a mess and she got walked upon - this didn't jive with the way the character was made out to be. It seemed odd to me. Also, I didn't care for the scene when Nick decides to push Sara away so, he finds his old mistress and sets up a love scene - not my idea of a hero to worship. Yuck! Also, the passion was not too hot and heavy - a mild 3-4 on a scale of 10. Although the scences were tastefully written, it was almost too bland and left you moving on and thinking about what could have been. I think a book on seduction needed alot more passion to hit it's mark. The ending seemed to come together a bit too tidy as well. It wrapped up too quick and neat considering all the issues they recently had (his illness, not wanting kids, just being married, family involvement, etc.). I think the ending should have been stretched out farther and resolution given so, you felt confident their marriage would be a success. For now, they had passion and love but, the rest still seemed a bit of a mess. Oh well.... This was cool at best. Over-all though, I think the story line had good potential and the side characters had lots of possibilites - such as Sara's brother Anthony and friend Anna and her aunt Delphie and her french beau Henri. Sometimes, the side characters seemed more appealing than the main ones. I think Karen Hawkins has potential but, this was one was a little off for me. I think you can still buy and read this one but, consider it a good read not an excellent one. I will try another of her books in case others develop better and this one just missed the mark.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Almost Losing A Love

    I really enjoyed this book. This is the first time I have read a Karen Hawkins book and enjoyed her writing. Sara gets Nick to teach her how to be a seductress to get a husband, and the wheels are turned on her and ends up marrying Nick, but then later, almost losing him because of his illness and male pride. It's so amazing how the world turns and men don't realize what they have lost until they have lost it - the one important love in their lives, and all because of male pride. I'm so glad that this ended up with a happy ending, esp. when a couple belong together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    How disappointing

    Wish I hadn't been led astray by the review. At best this was a 3* book - there was neither a real plot nor any excitement in or out of the bedroom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great Book

    Great read! Very entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb Regency romance

    In 1815 London widow Saraphina Lawrence wants her older brother Marcus to just leave her alone instead of telling her how to behave. Sara simply embraces life and does not care what the Ton thinks so she seems always one step away from scandal. Marcus wants Sara married again, as he believes a woman especially a female under twenty-five needs a husband to protect her. Sara was disappointed in her first husband because of his mistresses so does not want to go that route, but if she must she will choose a spouse that she can control. <P>Earl Nicholas Montrose has just returned from Paris with a goal of overcoming his reputation as a ¿bad boy¿ so he can attain social respect. However, when he meets Sara, his plan goes out the window, as he desires her like he never wanted a woman before. She wants to use him to teach her seduction, but knows he is not malleable, as is her requirement in a husband. Love enters the relational equation, leaving both bewildered and wondering what to do next. <P>Regency romance readers will appreciate THE SEDUCTION OF SARA, a battle royale between the sexes. The story line is amusing as Sara and Nicholas struggle with an unwanted attraction. The lead characters are a delightful duet whose disconcertion is exacerbated by caring interfering secondary characters. With this tale and its prequel (see THE ABDUCTION OF JULIA) the historical romance audience will recognize Karen Hawkins as a rising enchantress. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Sara

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    It is a must to read.

    I bought this book for one reason the name of Sara. Then I read it. This Sara's adventure is great. It is one that I reread two times. First two times I read too quickly to get all of the seduction correctly. It is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Sam

    Here?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    good book

    loved this book the characters very cute and just loved loved loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Worth reading

    I LOVE This author and this book is worth reading, The Abduction of Julia is an even better story though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Falling in love.

    Karen Hawkins's books have you falling in love all and falling in love...You can't wait for her next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3