Customer Reviews for

Seduction of a Highland Lass (McCabe Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

loved it

very hot. Good romance, very good plot and a story that will keep you entertained for hours

posted by theReader278 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Tale of Forbidden Attraction...in trews

Redonk Nutshell: Forbidden attracting ensues after a Highlander falls in love with the woman who nurses him from a near mortal wound

Book two in Maya Banks' McCabe trilogy. Alaric McCabe is on his way to the neighboring clan to court his politically matched fiancee....
Redonk Nutshell: Forbidden attracting ensues after a Highlander falls in love with the woman who nurses him from a near mortal wound

Book two in Maya Banks' McCabe trilogy. Alaric McCabe is on his way to the neighboring clan to court his politically matched fiancee. He's waylaid when an attack along the journey nearly kills him. When Keeley McDonald finds a half dead warrior at her door she quickly takes him in and works to nurse him back to health. Keeley is a trained healer who lives on her own at the farthest edge of her clan's borders. Banished by her laird, Keeley has made it fine on her own...until Alaric tumbles to her door. When Alaric's older brother and laird of the McCabe clan tracks him down to Keeley's home, they're both escorted back to McCabe land - so Alaric can heal and so Keeley can see to the birth of the laird's child. Keeley and Alaric battle a forbidden attraction.

I thought book one was a good time, and book two was no different. I didn't know anything about it except that this was Alaric's story. I started it figuring this would be a tale of a husband wooing a reluctant wife - boy was I surprised. I liked Keeley as a heroine, but she didn't really rock my world. One thing she does have going for her - she's stubborn without being abrasive. I was a fan of Alaric from book two, so I was looking forward to seeing more of him this time around. I have to admit, though, my admiration has been saved mostly for the younger McCabe, Caelon, who has some dark and broody moments. Ya'll know how I like mah dark and broody men. *snort*

I enjoyed Seduction of a Highland Lass. I feel confident in recommending Banks' Scottish series to fans of the genre who are looking for something with a brogue but not over the top. Banks is skilled a writing a story that's intriguing, sexy and heartwarming. Overall, a lovely fluff read. In trews.

Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks, 352 pgs, 9/27/11

Rating: C+

Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

posted by Acanoffleas on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Tale of Forbidden Attraction...in trews

    Redonk Nutshell: Forbidden attracting ensues after a Highlander falls in love with the woman who nurses him from a near mortal wound

    Book two in Maya Banks' McCabe trilogy. Alaric McCabe is on his way to the neighboring clan to court his politically matched fiancee. He's waylaid when an attack along the journey nearly kills him. When Keeley McDonald finds a half dead warrior at her door she quickly takes him in and works to nurse him back to health. Keeley is a trained healer who lives on her own at the farthest edge of her clan's borders. Banished by her laird, Keeley has made it fine on her own...until Alaric tumbles to her door. When Alaric's older brother and laird of the McCabe clan tracks him down to Keeley's home, they're both escorted back to McCabe land - so Alaric can heal and so Keeley can see to the birth of the laird's child. Keeley and Alaric battle a forbidden attraction.

    I thought book one was a good time, and book two was no different. I didn't know anything about it except that this was Alaric's story. I started it figuring this would be a tale of a husband wooing a reluctant wife - boy was I surprised. I liked Keeley as a heroine, but she didn't really rock my world. One thing she does have going for her - she's stubborn without being abrasive. I was a fan of Alaric from book two, so I was looking forward to seeing more of him this time around. I have to admit, though, my admiration has been saved mostly for the younger McCabe, Caelon, who has some dark and broody moments. Ya'll know how I like mah dark and broody men. *snort*

    I enjoyed Seduction of a Highland Lass. I feel confident in recommending Banks' Scottish series to fans of the genre who are looking for something with a brogue but not over the top. Banks is skilled a writing a story that's intriguing, sexy and heartwarming. Overall, a lovely fluff read. In trews.

    Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks, 352 pgs, 9/27/11

    Rating: C+

    Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    very hot. Good romance, very good plot and a story that will keep you entertained for hours

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent storytellinh

    The three McCabe brothers have struggled for years to bring prosperity to their clan. Recently the oldest one Laird Ewan took the first major step when he married his beloved Mairin (see In Bed With a Highlander). Now Alaric McCabe feels he must follow in his older brother's footsteps.

    Taking a small party with him as his clan needs warriors to stay home to protect the laird and his pregnant wife, Alaric heads to nearby Clan McDonald where the aging chief has promised his daughter Rionna in marriage. His party is ambushed by he assumes the family enemy Duncan Cameron. Alaric escapes on horseback near dead. McDonald clan outcast Keeley finds him and heals him. However, as they fall in love, he knows he must wed Rionna for the sake of his clan as two clans and a king would demand; and Keeley though kicked out due to a betrayal remains loyal to her clan (and his) which means he must wed Rionna.

    The second McCabe Highlander romance continues the exciting intrigue as the marriage of convenience alliance appears broken when Alaric and Keeley meet and fall in love. The fast-paced story line grips the reader once the loyal heroine rescues the severely injured knight and never slows down until the final confrontation from demanding lairds and a king that also sets up third McCabe brothers historical.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Anonymous

    Wonderful book! Keep plenty of tissue available. My favorite in this series but they're all great!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Good book

    I love this book!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    A Highland romance at its best

    I loved all three novels of this series. While each stood well on their own, read them in order. If you enjoy Julie Garwood novels, you should like these. I have not enjoyed Maya Banks when she writes her erotic novels, but these novels are in a class by themselves. I hope she continues in this style of writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Loved it

    Story line is devastatingly romantic and the sex is delicious :-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta Read this trilogy!

    I loved this book..it had romance, a real story line to follow and it was the first book in a REALLY long time to actually make me a little teary. I felt such sorrow for Alaric & Keeley...I dreaded the emotional toll it would be for Keeley to give up the only one person she ever really had...heartbreaking for me at times. Can't wait for the conclusion of these brother's tales.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    La'lonnie

    o.o

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Malchior

    O.o

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    loved it

    all the books are great! but I think this second book is my favorite. with all the tribulations and dangers the main characters preserved their love and devotion. Plus Alaric is the hottest brother so what more can you ask?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    I Highly recommend this book 2

    I suggest you read the first book to get a better idea of this Highland Clan. Duty and Love for one another as brothers comes first. I promise if you like any of Maya Banks other books, after you have read the first one, you will want to read the other two. you won't be disappointed. Read the synopsis about the book before you buy it, I'm sure you will be interested in what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Loved all the McCabe's

    must read...great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    If you like a real love story.   This is the one to read.    You

    If you like a real love story.   This is the one to read.    You will cry, for sure.   Lots of love and romance.  Don't we all wish we could have such and undying love.

    There are 3 books in this series.   Buy #1 first.  Each story overlaps the next in this series.  
    Ewan's  Love story is #1   Alaric's is #2    Book #3 is Never love a Highlander...   .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Great read!

    Impossible to not fall in love with Alaric and Maya Banks crafty and witty story. A Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Better than the first in the series

    Very sexy and well written story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Nude

    There are nude people on the coveit must stink.r

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Amazing read!!!

    I havent read what would be consudered a historical in a very long time. That being said this book was a amazing read. I laughed and cried. And books rarely bring me to tears. Its better than the first in the series. And the first was very good. Just read it!!!! You will not regret it!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Wow...

    What a great story. I cried my heart out. Very emotionally charged. I enjoyed the 1st book, but it is nothing in comparison to this one. I cannot wait to start the 3rd book as soon as I'm done with this review. I'm sure this book is fine as a stand-alone, but I highly recommend that they should be read in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18