BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Seduction of a Highland Lass (McCabe Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(244)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

loved it

very hot. Good romance, very good plot and a story that will keep you entertained for hours

posted by theReader278 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Tale of Forbidden Attraction...in trews

Redonk Nutshell: Forbidden attracting ensues after a Highlander falls in love with the woman who nurses him from a near mortal wound

Book two in Maya Banks' McCabe trilogy. Alaric McCabe is on his way to the neighboring clan to court his politically matched fiancee....
Redonk Nutshell: Forbidden attracting ensues after a Highlander falls in love with the woman who nurses him from a near mortal wound

Book two in Maya Banks' McCabe trilogy. Alaric McCabe is on his way to the neighboring clan to court his politically matched fiancee. He's waylaid when an attack along the journey nearly kills him. When Keeley McDonald finds a half dead warrior at her door she quickly takes him in and works to nurse him back to health. Keeley is a trained healer who lives on her own at the farthest edge of her clan's borders. Banished by her laird, Keeley has made it fine on her own...until Alaric tumbles to her door. When Alaric's older brother and laird of the McCabe clan tracks him down to Keeley's home, they're both escorted back to McCabe land - so Alaric can heal and so Keeley can see to the birth of the laird's child. Keeley and Alaric battle a forbidden attraction.

I thought book one was a good time, and book two was no different. I didn't know anything about it except that this was Alaric's story. I started it figuring this would be a tale of a husband wooing a reluctant wife - boy was I surprised. I liked Keeley as a heroine, but she didn't really rock my world. One thing she does have going for her - she's stubborn without being abrasive. I was a fan of Alaric from book two, so I was looking forward to seeing more of him this time around. I have to admit, though, my admiration has been saved mostly for the younger McCabe, Caelon, who has some dark and broody moments. Ya'll know how I like mah dark and broody men. *snort*

I enjoyed Seduction of a Highland Lass. I feel confident in recommending Banks' Scottish series to fans of the genre who are looking for something with a brogue but not over the top. Banks is skilled a writing a story that's intriguing, sexy and heartwarming. Overall, a lovely fluff read. In trews.

Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks, 352 pgs, 9/27/11

Rating: C+

Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

posted by Acanoffleas on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Tale of Forbidden Attraction...in trews

    Redonk Nutshell: Forbidden attracting ensues after a Highlander falls in love with the woman who nurses him from a near mortal wound

    Book two in Maya Banks' McCabe trilogy. Alaric McCabe is on his way to the neighboring clan to court his politically matched fiancee. He's waylaid when an attack along the journey nearly kills him. When Keeley McDonald finds a half dead warrior at her door she quickly takes him in and works to nurse him back to health. Keeley is a trained healer who lives on her own at the farthest edge of her clan's borders. Banished by her laird, Keeley has made it fine on her own...until Alaric tumbles to her door. When Alaric's older brother and laird of the McCabe clan tracks him down to Keeley's home, they're both escorted back to McCabe land - so Alaric can heal and so Keeley can see to the birth of the laird's child. Keeley and Alaric battle a forbidden attraction.

    I thought book one was a good time, and book two was no different. I didn't know anything about it except that this was Alaric's story. I started it figuring this would be a tale of a husband wooing a reluctant wife - boy was I surprised. I liked Keeley as a heroine, but she didn't really rock my world. One thing she does have going for her - she's stubborn without being abrasive. I was a fan of Alaric from book two, so I was looking forward to seeing more of him this time around. I have to admit, though, my admiration has been saved mostly for the younger McCabe, Caelon, who has some dark and broody moments. Ya'll know how I like mah dark and broody men. *snort*

    I enjoyed Seduction of a Highland Lass. I feel confident in recommending Banks' Scottish series to fans of the genre who are looking for something with a brogue but not over the top. Banks is skilled a writing a story that's intriguing, sexy and heartwarming. Overall, a lovely fluff read. In trews.

    Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks, 352 pgs, 9/27/11

    Rating: C+

    Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    La'lonnie

    o.o

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For some reason I could get into this one. Not as much as the fi

    For some reason I could get into this one. Not as much as the first, and not even as much as the third. I thought about “skimming over it” or, even skipping it all together, but personally I hate doing either one. So, it took me a while to finally finish this book. I had put it down and picked it back up so many times and have even read other books in between. After finally finishing I realized that it really wasn’t that bad, but it just wasn’t up to par with the first book in the series. I’m thinking it was the characters, and how quickly they fell in love. Alaric was unconscious for most of the time and basically viewed Keeley as an angel in his delirious state. After bringing her back to McCabe keep it’s basically them being together and trying to fight their love because Alaric is already promised to another. I’m never really a fan of people falling instantly in love. I like a story that builds up, like the first, in which Ewan and Mairin were married for her protection and to better his clan, and then they fell in love. I guess I like it when the guys think that they cannot give their heart and all that good stuff. Anyhow, the story added on the McCabe trilogy providing a little more info in to the war that is brewing and a new view and in depth knowledge of the McCabe brothers.




    Good:




    Alaric--trying to be loyal to his brothers and his clan




    Keeley--just trying to be independent and trying to survive.




    Bad: 




    There were some parts that were slow, and the they feel in love too quickly for my liking. 




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall, I can’t deny that the story was still enjoyable, but just fell short compared to the others. It still made my heart fly and the passion between the two characters was crazy good. I found it easy to follow like all of Maya Banks’ books. The story flowed and had a perfect mixture of romance and drama. The characters were unique, yet similar to previous ones in the series (the girls were fiesty and the guys were protective), and I know that I will love continuing this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    entertaining-read for a cold winter in--

    I was missing outlander series and needed a scottish fix,so i came across this little number.it was entertaining.it wasn't the outlander series but it has the highland people in it and that special something that seems so interesting..quick,cold weather read with interesting families and some sexy scenes too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    disappointed

    i loved the first book in this series (three books)and maya banks is one of my all time favorite authors,but the second book in the series was not as good as the first one. i had a hard time getting into it. i am going to read the third one with high expectations!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    highly recommended

    I usually don't write reviews, but this book was soo good that I had to. The characters and the story touched my heart,i laughed and cried. A definite must read. i liked the first book in this series, but i loved this book. cant wait for #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1