Customer Reviews for

See Jane Date

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Awesome Romance

    This is a REALLY great book. I laughed at times. I have to also admit...I also cried. None of you know me so...I don't worry about you knowing that. This book is for women EVERYWHERE! It's for singles, married women, and women with men! You need to read! I strongly advise you!!! MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Cute story

    Definitely a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    There is hope for singletons.

    This book was a great read. Jane was a character with great depth. She is vulnerable and courageous at the same time. A great book that will surely brighten anyone who is feeling gloomy and lonely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Great Singleton Book

    A quick easy read with surprising depth to it. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book! It was an easy read but very well written. I felt like I was on Jane's dates with her. I felt her pain. I'm looking forward to Melissa Senate's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    A Dating Story with Heart

    I expected this to be a Bridget Jones American take-off but I was very glad that it wasn't! Melissa Senate writes from the heart. It isn't just about dating woes, or how to find the perfect guy, it's about Jane's heart. It's the pain she feels from losing both parents and not feeling as though she has the same charmed life as Natasha Nutley only to realize that her and Natasha may have more in common. I actually found myself shedding a tear for Jane. I can't wait for Melissa Senate's next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Great Singles Read

    See Jane Date was a great dating book. I now understand that I am not the only woman who goes through horrible situations when dating. See Jane Date was an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Funny, witty and addicting!

    It's been a long time since I was 28 years old, but Jane, the heroine in 'See Jane Date' is so utterly appealing as a boyfriend searching, hardworking, sarcastic and loveable assistant editor at 'Posh'. She is like so many women, including myself, I couldn't help but learn from this smart young woman. I recommend this novel highly. I literally couldn't put it down, and this is not just a beach read!!! It is intelligent writing. Thank you Melissa Senate!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    Good romance novel, especially if you don't like 'romance' novels

    Don't let the fact that this book is a 'romance' novel stear you away, this is not your cheesy semi-porn Fabio adorned romance novel. In fact, this book is much more about a 20-something woman discovering herself than it is about romance. Jane Gregg, a 28-year-old smoker in NYC, is at a bit of a crossroads in her life. She's in 'assistant' hell at a publishing house, living in a tiny apartment with thin walls and a very sexualy-active neighbor, just assigned to edit the memoirs of a semi-famous starlet who also happened to be Jane's least favorite highschool classmate, and can't help but feel pressured to bring a date to her cousin's wedding. 'See Jane Date' is witty, warm, touching, and at times laugh-out-loud funny. I think a lot of women, including myself, can see a bit of themselves in Jane. If you've ever had a hopeless crush on a guy you don't think you have a chance with, a bad date experiance, or just the 'why don't I have a boyfriend?' blues, then this book will speak to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Funny,Light..An absolute joy!

    I am a BIG fan of this genre b/c I am in my mid twenties and I like relating to the books I read. I found this book in all places at the grocery store! I thought it looked cute and took a chance. I finished it in 2 days and loved it! Very fresh and I think oh-so-true. Only bad thing about this genre is these are such quick reads that your $11-15 dollars is somewhat wasted in the sense that you most likely won't read it again, but it is fun. Pass it to your girlfriends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    Loved it!

    This book was great- I could really relate to jane- I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    Great book!

    I absolutely loved this book. It's a really funny story that every girl that is struggling to be successful and find a decent guy can relate to. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2002

    amuzing

    this novel was great...it was too hard to let go....worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Absolutely Hilarious

    See Jane Date is great book about a single girl not wanting to be single and who has the nagging family at her tail trying to hook her up.I absolutely loved this book and could not set it down even though I didn't want it to end! I can't wait for Melissa Senate to write another great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    For Single Women

    The moment I started reading 'See Jane Date,' I knew I would enjoy this book. As a young woman in her mid-twenties, I could relate to character Jane Gregg and how hard 'true love' is to find. I recommend this book for single women everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    very fun read

    just a lighthearted book to make you forget about your own troubles for a while!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2002

    loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

    True representation of what life is like as a twenty-something year old. Related to SO many aspects of Jane's realizations of life & love, family, friends, dating, careergoals, etc. with tears and laugh-out-loud laughter! Grew quite attached to many of the characters. Melissa Senate is a very gifted writer...can't wait for her second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    A simple yet very real story..i loved it!

    I saw so many similarites between Jane and myself. She is a lovely strong women, who is just trying to live and search for love. That is basically what every young woman is trying to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Jane is my long-lost twin

    Jane made me laugh non-stop! There were so many similarities in my own life! Jane even told the same bad joke I do. It was great. I can't wait for Melisa Senate to write another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2001

    Boring, badly written, unrealistic - a total waste

    'See Jane Date' fails to match similar books in its genre - in fact, it doesn't even come close. The story is ridiculous, the dialogue disjointed and it's not the least bit funny. If you want to read a tale of the long depressing journey to loneliness that women take, this is the book for you - I was hoping for an interesting read but was deeply disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2