Customer Reviews for

See Jane Date

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    There is hope for singletons.

    This book was a great read. Jane was a character with great depth. She is vulnerable and courageous at the same time. A great book that will surely brighten anyone who is feeling gloomy and lonely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Great Singleton Book

    A quick easy read with surprising depth to it. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book! It was an easy read but very well written. I felt like I was on Jane's dates with her. I felt her pain. I'm looking forward to Melissa Senate's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    A Dating Story with Heart

    I expected this to be a Bridget Jones American take-off but I was very glad that it wasn't! Melissa Senate writes from the heart. It isn't just about dating woes, or how to find the perfect guy, it's about Jane's heart. It's the pain she feels from losing both parents and not feeling as though she has the same charmed life as Natasha Nutley only to realize that her and Natasha may have more in common. I actually found myself shedding a tear for Jane. I can't wait for Melissa Senate's next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Funny, witty and addicting!

    It's been a long time since I was 28 years old, but Jane, the heroine in 'See Jane Date' is so utterly appealing as a boyfriend searching, hardworking, sarcastic and loveable assistant editor at 'Posh'. She is like so many women, including myself, I couldn't help but learn from this smart young woman. I recommend this novel highly. I literally couldn't put it down, and this is not just a beach read!!! It is intelligent writing. Thank you Melissa Senate!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Funny,Light..An absolute joy!

    I am a BIG fan of this genre b/c I am in my mid twenties and I like relating to the books I read. I found this book in all places at the grocery store! I thought it looked cute and took a chance. I finished it in 2 days and loved it! Very fresh and I think oh-so-true. Only bad thing about this genre is these are such quick reads that your $11-15 dollars is somewhat wasted in the sense that you most likely won't read it again, but it is fun. Pass it to your girlfriends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    Loved it!

    This book was great- I could really relate to jane- I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    Great book!

    I absolutely loved this book. It's a really funny story that every girl that is struggling to be successful and find a decent guy can relate to. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2002

    amuzing

    this novel was great...it was too hard to let go....worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Absolutely Hilarious

    See Jane Date is great book about a single girl not wanting to be single and who has the nagging family at her tail trying to hook her up.I absolutely loved this book and could not set it down even though I didn't want it to end! I can't wait for Melissa Senate to write another great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    For Single Women

    The moment I started reading 'See Jane Date,' I knew I would enjoy this book. As a young woman in her mid-twenties, I could relate to character Jane Gregg and how hard 'true love' is to find. I recommend this book for single women everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    very fun read

    just a lighthearted book to make you forget about your own troubles for a while!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2002

    loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

    True representation of what life is like as a twenty-something year old. Related to SO many aspects of Jane's realizations of life & love, family, friends, dating, careergoals, etc. with tears and laugh-out-loud laughter! Grew quite attached to many of the characters. Melissa Senate is a very gifted writer...can't wait for her second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    A simple yet very real story..i loved it!

    I saw so many similarites between Jane and myself. She is a lovely strong women, who is just trying to live and search for love. That is basically what every young woman is trying to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Jane is my long-lost twin

    Jane made me laugh non-stop! There were so many similarities in my own life! Jane even told the same bad joke I do. It was great. I can't wait for Melisa Senate to write another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    Why is dating so comical?

    Being a single woman in New York I can totally relate to Jane Gregg. You do not have to be from NY to relate to this story, you just need to have been single at one point in your life (we all have). This book has been brilliantly written, and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    serio-comic romp

    It is not that easy being a single late twenties female living in New York City. Everyone Jane sees seems paired and her closest friends want to set her up with someone one so she can share in coupling bliss. Her cousin Dana is marrying in two months and Jane desperately wants a date to quiet her relatives about her prospects. Her best friend¿s husband knows a lot of eligible males, so Jane agrees to go on a series of blind dates. Each one starts with tremendous promise, but each time fizzles into failure at least from Jane¿s perspective. <P>While Jane struggles to find a date for the upcoming nuptials, she seeks a promotion at work because after six years as a great assistant editor, she believes it is past time to get a promotion. To gain her professional goal, Jane must work closely on a project with Natasha, a woman she despises since they were children in the same Queens neighborhood. Jane is striking out on both fronts, but to know for sure how it all turns out, read SEE JANE DATE. <P> This is a serio-comic look at life for a single woman in New York. Readers will like the cast especially the intelligently drawn lead player. Anyone who ever resided in the big city knows a Jane story, but Melissa Senate brings humor, passion, and poignancy to a delightful person that makes the Red Dress Ink imprint start at a high level of quality. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1