Customer Reviews for

See You at Harry's

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully composed tragic story for MG readers

This is really a great read that I think a lot of MG readers will enjoy. It deals with a lot of the emotions of being a 12 year old just starting middle school, family dynamics, and the grieving process. When I started this one, I don't think I was fully prepared for ...
This is really a great read that I think a lot of MG readers will enjoy. It deals with a lot of the emotions of being a 12 year old just starting middle school, family dynamics, and the grieving process. When I started this one, I don't think I was fully prepared for the emotional roller coaster ride that it was going to take me on. So, while I definitely don't want to spoil anything for you (and I hope you don't find spoilers anywhere else), definitely be prepared for a few moments of truly devastating grief.

Fern is a very realistically written 12-year-old, with the common insecurities that many kids feel at that age. Older siblings create havoc that gets them notices; younger siblings get all the love and attention. New schools, new people, changing friends. It's easy to feel invisible. I thought Fern gave readers a very realistic look at the emotions that you deal with at that age--you do a lot of growing up right around the time in life.

The tragedy that rocks Fern's family--I didn't see that coming at all! I mean, obviously you knew that something was going to happen, but the tragic event really creeps up on you. It is the kind of event that is accompanied by painful emotions and tears (well, if you're like me, then there are probably at least a new tears). The character development and family dynamics shift in unexpected ways as a result and it added a whole extra layer to the story.

See You At Harry's tackles the topic of dealing with tragedy quite masterfully. While this isn't the sort of book that every 10-12 year old will thoroughly enjoy, I think that there are probably a decent number of middle grade age kids dealing with these types of emotions and this book would be a perfect companion.

posted by ReadingCorner on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great

Good book

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully composed tragic story for MG readers

    This is really a great read that I think a lot of MG readers will enjoy. It deals with a lot of the emotions of being a 12 year old just starting middle school, family dynamics, and the grieving process. When I started this one, I don't think I was fully prepared for the emotional roller coaster ride that it was going to take me on. So, while I definitely don't want to spoil anything for you (and I hope you don't find spoilers anywhere else), definitely be prepared for a few moments of truly devastating grief.

    Fern is a very realistically written 12-year-old, with the common insecurities that many kids feel at that age. Older siblings create havoc that gets them notices; younger siblings get all the love and attention. New schools, new people, changing friends. It's easy to feel invisible. I thought Fern gave readers a very realistic look at the emotions that you deal with at that age--you do a lot of growing up right around the time in life.

    The tragedy that rocks Fern's family--I didn't see that coming at all! I mean, obviously you knew that something was going to happen, but the tragic event really creeps up on you. It is the kind of event that is accompanied by painful emotions and tears (well, if you're like me, then there are probably at least a new tears). The character development and family dynamics shift in unexpected ways as a result and it added a whole extra layer to the story.

    See You At Harry's tackles the topic of dealing with tragedy quite masterfully. While this isn't the sort of book that every 10-12 year old will thoroughly enjoy, I think that there are probably a decent number of middle grade age kids dealing with these types of emotions and this book would be a perfect companion.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of See You At Harry's

    This book killed me…KILLED ME! I seriously could not stop crying. Even after finishing the book, and getting ready to fall asleep, I was still crying. This is one book that will remain in my mind and heart for a while.

    Basically, it’s a coming of age story that revolves around the life of 12 year old Fern, who has to deal with a work obsessed father, a mother who isn’t really present, and a brother who is just coming out of the closet. We follow Fern and watch as she deals with the dilemmas in her family, and experience what she is going through.

    The first half of the book builds the backdrop of what Fern goes through oh a day to day basis. Not only do we see what she is feeling and going through, but we also get to see Fern experience the duress her brother Holden goes through on a daily basis from fellow school mates due to the fact that he is gay. After deciding to stick up for her brother, Fern has to now go through the teasing and violence that Holden goes through. We also watch as Fern is pretty much the one who is responsible for the care of her little 3 year old brother, Charlie. We see the love of a family and the pressure of responsibility, and its toll it takes on this family.

    After a devastating and tragic incident, we see how much it affects Fern and her family, and the strength that they will need to find to pull through together. It was at this point, which is about half way through the book, where I pretty much lost it. I cried at pretty much every chapter. Once I thought that the tears were over, something else would happen or would be said, and I would cry all over again.

    The writing style of Jo Knowles is unforgettable. Knowles’ character building and story building had me so engrossed that I felt as though I were part of this family, and experiencing everything with them. Knowles broke my heart over and over again. I think what made it all the more “real” for me was the fact that Fern and Charlie were pretty much the same age gap as my two kids, and just reading their interactions and the emotion that poured out of the words was just too much for me. I broke down. To read Fern’s pleas to her mother were heart wrenching. I could literally hear the strain and desperation in her voice as I read. I could picture every detail in vivid detail.

    If you are looking for a quick read that will remain embedded in your heart, I would recommend grabbing a copy of See You At Harry’s.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Nice

    I really felt like I was the character. The way she described her family is really nice. Her personality is nice also

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    RIPOFF

    You can go buy this book at B&N for $6.99. I agree this is a good book, but the book is a ripoff on here! Do Not wate $3.00 on thus book, that could get you a whole diffrent book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Yout Your stupid

    This goes to the person that spoiled the book for everyone. Some people actually like to read and you spoiled it for everyone so thanks a lot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    A True Phenominome

    This book I must say is a true "book" some people say Twighlight is the " best book ever " but See You at Harrys is a real book. It warms everyones hearts and moves me inside the book. 5 stars all the way Jo Knowles you have tried and sucseeded . You stole everyones hearts by writing a few words about a girl... Fern, an average 12 year old girl who is going through exactly what im going through. We both just started Midd. school and we both have the same feelings.we conect in so many ways possible. This book is nothing compared to, twilight, the sister hood of the traveling pants, hunger games. wanna know why? this book has meaning.... a TRUE meaning. Now when your reading this book remember to slowly let it sink in. Youd be suprised how this book connects with you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    One of the best books in the world!!

    I loved this book so much!! It was SO sad and you definatly feel the charcters emotions. I recommend this book to middle schoolers or 3rd-4rth grade kids. Plus this book is on the 2013-2014 DCF list!! Highly recommended!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Please answer!

    What was the tragic accident? Reply to kat :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved everything about this book and it still made me cry. See you at Hawee's!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Incredible

    I loved charlie although he was annoying at times to fern. It was sad what happened to charlie and then what happened to their family. I hope that they will find closure more later on:)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    I love this book

    Its so touching every time i read it i cry. Even before i get to the part where charlie dirs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    To: Kat

    The tragic event was that the little boy charlie dies he gets really really sick and dies because he almost got run iver by a car and that ruined the blood going to hi head :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Amazing

    I loved this book so much! It broke my heart then put it back together in stunning beauty. I loved this book, and while it was sad, a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    DAKOTA JENKINS

    I found this book in my class room libary and though it would be fun to read but no i could not crying at school and Im 12 years old and I have a little sister i dont what i would do with out her and she is the same way charlie is in the book.
    But every time I start crying i have to stop for a little bit then i start reading again omg I think i cry like a big baby but i give the book five stars because i loved it so much i think i ask my teacher if i could keep it because how much i Loved it and u would to u should read it for your self and see why people cry while reading this book.
    After i read the book i thought to myself that this was better then a movie and it was.
    SO FIVE STARS TO THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    sad tory bro

    Don't read this with no tissues by your side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Highly recomend

    Very good book. It was full of heart felt at the end. It had me crying. This was truly a graet book. Recomended for 4-9 graders because of some situation that most people would take imaturely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I LOVE IT

    i read this book in 5th grade and i loved it so much i read it again in 6th grade BEST BOOK EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Puddles For Eternity

    I was crying throughout mist of the book. Its also my new favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Best Book Ever!!!!!

    I recomend this book to every one! It is my new favorite book! But be prepared to cry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Really good but sad book

    This book is really good b

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2