Customer Reviews for

See the Light

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I feel as though with this being the authors¿ first M/M book, I

    I feel as though with this being the authors’ first M/M book, I think that she did very well. You could tell that she put a lot of thought into the story, instead of just throwing two men together and calling it a day.
    I really enjoyed the characters; they were really easy to connect with. I did like how the author added a bit of drama into the story because that just added more to it. There wasn’t a large amount of drama in the story though, which was great because you were able to spend time with the couple, and you weren’t lost in a bunch of extra stuff happening.
    I usually don’t like sports books because I’m not a sports fan. So I did like that even though this book was a hockey a book, that didn’t take over the book. The story was more about the relationship happening between Jason and Patrick.
    My only complaint about the book would be the ending, just because there were so many questions left unanswered. Between Jason and Patrick’s new found relationship, everything that had happened near the end of the book, I was left wanting to know what was going to happen!
    There were some parts of the book that really brought forth emotions that I was not expecting from a book in this genre and I completely loved that fact! But I thought that the author wrote them very well and you were able to connect emotionally with the characters while they were going through something horrible.
    Overall, I did still enjoy the book and I can’t wait to see what the author has for us next!

    Reviewed by Crystal for Crystal’s Many Reviewers
    *Copy provided for honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    This was my first ever M/M book that I ever read and I found I r

    This was my first ever M/M book that I ever read and I found I really enjoyed it. For those who have never read M/M before I would recommend that you do for me it felt like the chemistry and connection between Jason and Patrick was more real than in your everyday M/F book and that is the main thing that really captured my attention. This book had a great storyline and grabbed you from the start the only thing I didn't like was the way it ended. The book ended on a cliffhanger and I would love to see what happens between Jason and Patrick and if their love really can survive them coming out of the closet. Other than the cliffhanger ending Ms. Carr has delivered yet another fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved reading Jason and Patrick's story in See the Light and I

    I loved reading Jason and Patrick's story in See the Light and I cannot believe that this was author Cassandra Carr's first m/m book. She did a great job capturing the essence of the characters and their fear and stigma of being "outed" to the NHL and the public. I love a story that involves a personal and professional conflict and seeing the characters work hard and do whatever it takes to be together. One kiss was all it took for Jason and Patrick to be addicted to each other. I loved every minute they were together and even apart because when they finally saw each other again, they just exploded on the pages and their sex scenes were hot, hot, hot!!! I really enjoyed their struggle and the event that led them to admit their true feelings to each other and everyone else. I'm already begging the author to write more m/m stories along with her other ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Characters With a Steamy & Thoughtprovoking Storyline

    As a fan of sports romances I found myself completely enthralled by this story and its characters. It's a fast read but I found the characters to be fully fleshed-out and the romance steamy and believable as it started out slowly, with lots of sexual intensity, and morphed into something more powerful and life altering.

    See the Light is set in the world of hockey and gives a realistic interpretation of the sport as well as the sport's feelings towards homosexuality. The issue is brought up but it doesn't overwhelm the story. There's no outright bigotry portrayed in the story. The roadblocks holding Jason and Patrick from fully committing are more of an internal struggle, a worry of how others will accept them. It's not until a life or death event late in the story that makes them fight for their HEA.

    Jason is the new kid on the block, the hotshot star player who's kept the truth about his sexuality secret from everyone. He finds himself obsessed with the older Patrick and throws caution to the wind to start a relationship in secret. He's always been the one calling the shots during his quickies but has never been in a real relationship that's about give and take. Seeing him and Patrick together shows his naïveté and it's sweet yet sexy to see Patrick tutor him. Patrick is older and wiser and in his role as mentor/coach has much to lose in being with Jason. He too is obsessed with the younger man and finds the lighthearted and entertaining in his uncertainties. Patrick is the more serious and adventurous of the two and leads Jason down an exciting sexual path. Jason is more playful, more like a cute puppy, and their differences mesh beautifully together. Again, this leads to numerous off the charts hot sexual encounters.

    Along with the immensely likable and charmingly sexy main couple comes a cast of secondary characters who add to the realistic feel of the hockey world. Fellow players Rob and Stephen are a great addition to the storyline that shows them in a heroically sexy role that has me hoping this isn't the last we see of them or this sports world.

    Ms. Carr has written a sexy story that seamlessly incorporates an important issue. I would've liked to see Jason and Patrick in the outside world as a couple as opposed to constantly hiding. An event late in the story forces them to admit their true feelings but as the story quickly concludes thereafter, their true HEA is left a bit up in the air. Ms. Carr's knowledge of the sport is apparent so here's hoping she'll return to these characters soon. Fans of the m/m genre will find this couple worth rooting for and their romance to die for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hockey and Hot Men! Cassandra Carr¿s books have left huge impre

    Hockey and Hot Men!

    Cassandra Carr’s books have left huge impressions on me, whether it’s bull riders or hockey ménage her books are full of emotion and great characters.

    In her new story, Jason and Patrick are part of the USA hockey team and cannot fight their feelings for each other, though they try at the beginning.

    They begin a secret journey, as they both have a lot to lose if they are ‘outed’ but their tryst are hot and explosive, whenever they can find the time to secretly meet. Bits of humor here and there certainly break up some of the tension around them, especially about their age, Patrick is the older advisor to the team and Jason is one of the players. A tragic event brings things to light and they see what is important in their lives. I have to admit, I shed a few tears during this scene.

    Though it does seem like the story abruptly ends, Ms. Carr has assured us there are more books coming, would love to hear how their relationship is going, I don’t want them to be lonely anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Cassandra Carr is no stranger to writing erotic sports stories,

    Cassandra Carr is no stranger to writing erotic sports stories, but this is her first travel into the world of GLBT with See the Light. Jason is in the closet and afraid to come out because of his career has a hockey player but finds himself attracted to one of the coaches. Talk about a problem and not knowing how to handle it. Patrick is not as far in the closet as Jason but he is still very cautious about who knows and now he finds himself in new territory with his attraction to one of the team’s players.

    I moved this book to the top of my “to review” list and had it read in one night. It is one of those cannot put down books that you just keep reading because you have to know what happens next and will Jason and Patrick hook up and will it last. Cassandra Carr is one of those authors that will always be on my “must have” list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love Cassandras books. This was a great M/M storyline.  This is

    Love Cassandras books. This was a great M/M storyline.  This is a story about Jason who is a hockey playing and getting read to join the Olympic Hockey team.  Jason has yet to come out to his teammates and family.  Jason generally hooks up with random guys, until he meets on of his new Olympic coaches.  He is instantly attracted to him.   He is not sure if his new coach is even gay.
    Patrick is a coach and is also instantly attached to Jason, but also not sure of he is gay either.  They both soon find out that they are attached to each other.  They start seeing each other in private and are  slowly starting to care for each other.   See what happens with these two gorgeous men as they figure out what is most important...love or their job.  They are both worried about coming out in a sport like hockey with not many openly gay men. But maybe there is a way to have both. Defiantly a must read.  I loved this and Cassandra even made me cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1