Customer Reviews for

Seedfolks

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't judge a book by its cover

When my English teacher assigned this book for summer reading, I thought okay, this is going to be a boring book. When I saw the cover, my next thought was this is going to be very boring. When I saw the amount of pages, I thought it was not much of a challenge for a so...
When my English teacher assigned this book for summer reading, I thought okay, this is going to be a boring book. When I saw the cover, my next thought was this is going to be very boring. When I saw the amount of pages, I thought it was not much of a challenge for a soon-to-be-eighth-grader. One of my suspicions was true, and it was not much of a challenge. However, I was wrong about it looking and being boring. It was actually quite entertaining, and some of the individual stories really reached out to me (Maricela's and Curtis' stories really touched me). That just goes to show that you can't judge a book by its cover.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in the 6th grade. Everyone (besides the teacher

I read this book in the 6th grade. Everyone (besides the teachers) hated this book. It was boring. We had a bunch of assignments to do for this book. I was so annoyed by everything. Though, once or twice I thought some parts were interesting. I will always dislike this ...
I read this book in the 6th grade. Everyone (besides the teachers) hated this book. It was boring. We had a bunch of assignments to do for this book. I was so annoyed by everything. Though, once or twice I thought some parts were interesting. I will always dislike this book.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Don't judge a book by its cover

    When my English teacher assigned this book for summer reading, I thought okay, this is going to be a boring book. When I saw the cover, my next thought was this is going to be very boring. When I saw the amount of pages, I thought it was not much of a challenge for a soon-to-be-eighth-grader. One of my suspicions was true, and it was not much of a challenge. However, I was wrong about it looking and being boring. It was actually quite entertaining, and some of the individual stories really reached out to me (Maricela's and Curtis' stories really touched me). That just goes to show that you can't judge a book by its cover.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Seedfolks Review

    Seedfolks is a two thumbs up book for everyone who likes to read and I recommend this book to everyone. It does not matter if you are a kid or an adult you will like this novel. This novel also has a good example of how one person can make a big difference in a whole community. My favorite character in this book was Gonzalo. He came here to the U.S.A and learn English by watching TV just like I did. This is an awesome novel to read and I think everyone should read it, because is a great inspirational novel and you would learn that doing something for your community can make a big difference.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    review seedfolks by paul fleishman

    I liked seedfolks because it made you think of how there is a lot of how there is a lot of racism or hate between cultures. This book is about many people with different backgrounds and has all different kinds of problems. Then they all start to Plant in this vacant lot. Although there was a something I didn¿t like it was that in each chapter it will cut of on the person¿s life they were talking about. And it will leave u hanging wondering what happened next after the problem was solved. I recommend this book to people that don¿t like to read long chapters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Seedfolks

    I liked this story. It told us so much about all the characters and how they all had problems. What I didn¿t like was when the story finally got good they started another vignette without even saying what happened to the other character. I liked this story especially for how the neighborhood came together to do something great for their city. I think this story will inspire people to do something good and help clean up their community because the smallest lot can make them look like a dump, even if they are the cleanest people you¿ll ever meet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Seedfolks!!

    Seedfolks Seedfolks was a great story it was very short and very understandable. I recommend Seedfolks to everyone that likes to make a difference in their community and life¿s. In the story I like how the chapters changed from character to character. There was a character name Kim and she was my favorite character she wanted to make a difference in her community. I relate to this because I really want to make a difference in our community by ending violence. You should all take a chance and read the book Seedfolks it is outstanding!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Seedfolks

    I think Seedfolks was a good book because it shows how a small rundown city can turn into a beautiful place. It shows how fifteen people¿s lives get changed by planting and gardening. Also because this book was clear if the author needed to say something he just came out and said it. The other reason was it made you feel like you were one of the characters like you really got into it and that helped me understand it. In this city people learned to stand up for what they believe in, take charge and help each other.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    seedfolks

    SEEDFOLKS I think that this was a very good book because each character explains how important the book was. It also describes lots of things about the garden and about the people in the city related to the garden. It also explains different people planting different things and how they started talking to each other. It also explains about every body back ground. Also it talks about who started the garden, and how it ended. I also think that this book give lot of advice to all the people because it¿s mostly how important the garden is and how people come to earth. My advice to all people that incase your interested you might want to read it but incase you are not you could read different books from Paul Fleischman.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    I read this book in the 6th grade. Everyone (besides the teacher

    I read this book in the 6th grade. Everyone (besides the teachers) hated this book. It was boring. We had a bunch of assignments to do for this book. I was so annoyed by everything. Though, once or twice I thought some parts were interesting. I will always dislike this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Seedfolk

    When i was given this book for summer reading, i thought it was going to be very boring, but it turned out to be very touching and inspiring. NEVER judge a book by it's cover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Seedfolks

    Readers around the world should check out this book. It is a very interesting story about a community brought closer by a garden. I like the way each character is connected to each other in a specific way. Characters help each other find understanding about the community and how they are not so different form each other. It¿s a short book but a very interesting story that you don¿t want to stop reading. I advise everyone to read this book because of it unexpected ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Seedfolks

    This book Seedfolks is a good book for all ages it is a four star book. This book is about a trash filled lot and started to change when a girl plants her seeds in it. In time grows in a community garden one by one everyone that knew about it started pitch in to make it bigger and effect on there lives. This book well make you want to grow a garden of your own. You will grow to love this book I recommend this book for all who love to garden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Seedfolks

    I think Seedfolks is an awesome book for both young readers and adults. It is entertaining and very creative. It¿s about how the neighborhood got together when a young girl started a garden. At first no one communicated with each others. After weeks, months, and years people were already used to helping each others out. At first they weren¿t much commutative but soon they all began talking like if they knew each others since birth. The garden brought them together. For me Seedfolks was a good book. It explained everything so clearly, and it was very entertaining once you adjusted to it. I recommend this book, for anyone who wants to see how little things could turn into big ones!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    One of the most weiredest books I ever read

    Seedfolks is an awesome book to read because it tells you how a small girl can change the whole community, by planting a seed. I would recommend this book to all the teenagers because it would help them understand that they are able to change something. In Seedfolks a lot of characters had a problem with someone or them selves, just like Sae Young that was scared to be around people. The whole book started by a young girl, without knowing that she was going to help a lot of people by planting a seed. Little by little people started plating something and become a garden from a lot. By just reading Seedfolks will make you prove especially if you like to help people to make changes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Seedfolks

    I think that Seedfolks is a must read book. Everyone I see, I tell them to read Seedfolks. I like this book because of the drama that the character¿s showed. It shows how people come together and become a family. It also shows how much it is important to become one with another. This could teach people a valuable lesson in life. People could get a better understanding in life. Every character in this book expresses how they feel about the garden. This will teach you a lesson.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    recommendation

    I think Seedfolks is a good story because it talks about 13 different people and how they all join planting a garden and how the neighborhood were they live changed. No one before use to care about making a garden except a young girl started planting seeds so that she can grow some vegetables. So all the people in that neighborhood started planting too and helping around with that garden. I recommend this book for people who like helping around in the neighborhood and that like planting a garden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Seedfolks

    I thought Seedfolks, the book, was appealing and thrilling! I liked some the characters with included Maricela, Wendall, Curtis, and Nora. It was kind of amusing how they expressed themselves! It also had worth! I loved reading this book and couldn¿t stop until I completed it!!! I would give this book four (4) stars!!!! I urge Seedfolks for kids twelve and up to maybe fifteen. My favorite character is Maricela. She is a sixteen-year-old, pregnant teen, who gets involved with a program that helps pregnant teens get the GED and take them to their doctor¿s appointments!! Seedfolks wasn¿t that long and it wasn¿t short either!! I think the theme was to get to know people and to work with diverse kinds of people with diverse environment!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2015

    This little book, with a GIANT message, is a keeper. When we ten

    This little book, with a GIANT message, is a keeper. When we tend to our own space on this planet, and share with others, this world is a better place for all of us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    The 7th grader

    This book is kind of interesting but I am in the seventh grade. There are good lessons but this book is a low level of reading for seventh grader in language arts. Good book for 5-6 graders though. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Highly recommend - especially for teachers!

    This small book is powerful. It tells a good story by introducing us to new characters, chapter by chapter, and interweaving their lives and events. There are many layers to the story, which is about how a vacant lot, filled with garbage in a run-down Cleveland neighborhood, is turned into a community garden through the hard work of many people, who on the surface are quite different from one another. But there are many other ideas in this book that will make the reader think about Life, such as prejudice, poverty, trust, values, issues of aging, importance of community, and the healing power of Nature, specifically making things grow in your own garden. Each chapter is a small gem. And the book as a whole is a beautifully crafted work of art. I have used this book in my English-as-a-Second Language teaching with young people and adults, because it is not difficult to read, but it is good for vocabulary building, idioms, American culture, and most of all for conversation. Every page presents ideas to be discussed if you are reading this for ESL practice or with a small group that just likes to discuss the book as it's being read. I use have borrowed this book from my library so often that when I saw it was available as an eBook I was happy to buy it. Paul Fleischman writes excellent books that really engage the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Great

    So far the book is great!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4