Customer Reviews for

Seeds of Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Beaverclaw

    Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Shiftpaw

    A strange cat runs bye quicker than a cheetah to A bankrupt second result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Lionpaw

    The blind apprentice was sitting in the den. He had stars in his pelt, his eyes were sad. "Fernpaw?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Splashpaw

    Splashpaw~ you guys are kits... you should dis the love thing for now and enjoy your kithood. o-o'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Fernpaw

    Scroll down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Cliffrock

    Next result is were the nests are its conected to this den this is were i do oper operations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    MED CAT DEN HAS MOVED TO RESULT 8

    From seedstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great story. I liked everyhting about it from start to fi

    What a great story. I liked everyhting about it from start to finish. Amazing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Stubborn girl meets gentleman

    Natalie Adams secretly resents being only runner up in the Miss Rodeo America competition on the heels of raising her brother and sister after their mother abandons them. When their father unexpectedly dies, leaving the 5000+ acre ranch to his three children, Natalie takes over the reins with her younger siblings' help. Natalie doubts God when He straps her to this lifestyle, depriving her of her dreams of rodeo activity and college. When a new pastor, Jared Logan, arrives in town he tries to help Natalie's little family, but her independence has served her well over the years and she declines his offers. But as her burdens grow in number and weight, Jared seems to be there when she needs him, their friendship growing. But can a pastor take a doubting believer as a wife? Can Natalie share Jared with his congregation and God? Seeds of Summer is a story of love, forgiveness, and faith. The end was abrupt but pleasing. I would like to have read more about the family Jared and Natalie probably would have forged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Natalie Adams secretly resents being only runner up in the Miss Rodeo America competition on the heels of raising her brother and sister after their mother abandons them. When their father unexpectedly dies, leaving the 5000+ acre ranch to his three children, Natalie takes over the reins with her younger siblings' help. Natalie doubts God when He straps her to this lifestyle, depriving her of her dreams of rodeo activity and college. When a new pastor, Jared Logan, arrives in town he tries to help Natalie's little family, but her independence has served her well over the years and she declines his offers. But as her burdens grow in number and weight, Jared seems to be there when she needs him, their friendship growing. But can a pastor take a doubting believer as a wife? Can Natalie share Jared with his congregation and God? Seeds of Summer is a story of love, forgiveness, and faith. The end was abrupt but pleasing. I would like to have read more about the family Jared and Natalie could have forged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Believable Characters and Admirable Choices

    This was my first time reading one of Deborah Vogts novels, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Her words flow comfortably and pull you quickly along as if the story were all plot. But quite the contrary--the characters in Seeds of Summer are compelling and relatable in their struggles and desires. Heroine Natalie Adams faces abrupt upheaval in her life with admirable spunk, strength, and responsibility. Yet she has her weaknesses. One of those weaknesses is the new pastor, Jared Logan, who grows on Natalie despite their differences in faith. Their increasing interest in one another is fueled by how they each respond to the circumstances surrounding them, including Jared's uncertainty about his vocation, Natalie's challenging siblings and stepmother, and the role of God in their lives and futures. It's not easy to write Christian fiction without slipping into preachiness. But Vogts has managed to pull it off. I would recommend this book to tweens and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Satisfying Country Romance

    Deborah Vogts brings the Flint Hills of Kansas to life once again in her latest book, SEEDS OF SUMMER. I felt for former rodeo queen, Natalie, as she struggled to hold her family together following her father's death. She's tough and determined, but she's taken on more than one woman can handle. Enter caring pastor Jared, a man who wants to help but is questioning his own decisions. Vogts' characters are likable, their challenges realistic, and their resolution satisfying. I had a real soft spot for Jared, a man who has a good heart and isn't afraid to open it to others, admired Natalie's strength and love for her family, and was happy to see how they allowed the Lord to work in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Excellent Reading for Anytime of Year

    Seeds of Summer is the first book I have read by Deborah Vogts, but it won't be the last. In fact, I am sure I will backtrack and read book one in this series, Snow Melts in Spring. The prairies of Kansas come to life with horses, romance, mystery, family obligations, hidden treasures and dreams. Natalie Adams has given up her dreams as rodeo queen to care for her orphaned half brother and sister. Determined to do things on her own, she almost misses the real treasure, Jared Logan. Jared, the new pastor in town dreams of running a farm, but can't quite figure how that fits with life as a small town pastor. Natalie and Jared each find their faith challenged in ways never expected. This book is a great read, not just for summer, but for anytime. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book in Seasons of the Tallgrass series

    I have finished Seeds of Summer by Deborah Vogts. This is book 2 in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series.

    Natalie Adams has returned to the family ranch in the Flint Hills of Kansas after the sudden death of her father. She gives up her plans for college and as a rodeo queen to go home to run the ranch and care for her two half-siblings, Chelsey and Dillon.

    Jared Logan is the new preacher in town. He meets Dillon one day while he's out fishing and then after that repeatedly comes to the family's aid. It is hard for independent Natalie to accept his help. While Natalie is attracted to him, she knows she is not qualified to be a preacher's wife.

    Natalie has a lot of responsibility as she is faced with running the ranch, dealing with her father's death, and a battle with her siblings when their mother shows up after having left twelve years ago.

    My thoughts:
    This was a very enjoyable book. I loved the setting and the way the author describes the Flint Hills. She makes it easy to picture the scenes in your mind. I read the first book in the series Snow Melts in Spring, and those characters are briefly mentioned in this book too. I appreciated getting to know these characters in Seeds of Summer. They are easy to relate to as you read about their struggles and doubts. I am so glad to have found this author and look forward to the next book in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming

    Seeds of Summer reminds me of the Little House in the Prairie TV Series. Each week the stories were about family struggles and/or a budding romance that would grab the viewers' attention as they watch the characters struggle with this new development in their lives. This was brought to a somewhat predictable conclusion and hopefully the characters learned something about family and what mattered most in life. The show gave you a good feeling and left you ready for the next week's episode. I received a review copy of this light-hearted summer read by Deborah Vogts. It's the second book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series.

    The story opens up with Natalie's father dying unexpectedly. She returns home to raise her brother and sister, Dillion and Chelsey. She is faced with figuring out how to save the ranch her father left behind. How was she supposed to do that with very little income?

    Then Jared, the new pastor in this small town, gets involved in Natalie's life through her sister's troubles and notices this young twenty something girl trying to handle it all without any hope in her life. He offers to help where he can, but Natalie resists his help and the God that he serves.

    Natalie's circumstances take an unexpected turn when Libby shows up at her front door. The mother she thought was dead! Life starts unraveling at the seams. Natalie starts to consider Jared and Willard's help. This novel shows a family struggling against the odds to stay afloat. Natalie and her siblings come to realize what's important in life and what makes it worth living. Best of all, they learn the importance of family. This book leaves you with a good feeling and gets you ready for the third book in this series.

    Nora St.Laurent
    The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
    Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    A Great Read

    It seems that none of Natalie Adams's hopes and dreams are working out for her these days. Just when she seems to have adjusted to her disappointment and sets new goals with a return to college, her father dies unexpectedly. Not only is she devastated, she has the sole responsibility of raising her half-brother and half-sister. She's had to abandon yet another dream to make a go of her father's ranch. Just when she thinks the burden of running a ranch can't get any heavier, her step-mother, long believed to be dead, shows up suddenly wanting a relationship with her brother and sister. Is her step-mother sincere? Will Natalie be able to handle this burden on top of everything else with the ranch? She is a strong-willed and independent young woman and finds it difficult to lean on anyone else for help, including God. When the new pastor in town seems to have made her family his latest mission project, will she be able to accept the help from a man of God - the very same God that, in her eyes, abandoned her years ago?


    Pastor Jared Logan, the newly ordained minister with a heart for God and serving others, comes to town and finds himself wanting to help Natalie and her family. While he struggles with his congregation's resistance to change, he finds himself entrenched in the Adams family's struggles. Despite being a city boy, he pitches in valiantly as he draws on the memories and skills taught him by his grandfather during summers spent with him on his farm. Jared has struggles of his own as he finds himself having feelings for Natalie. Can he protect his heart from a woman who has no room in her life for God? He has decisions to make. Has God really called him to the ministry?


    Many times in our lives, circumstances seem unfair and our burdens too heavy to carry. But God never gives us more than we can handle as we lean on Him for guidance and strength. This poignant story portrays the lives of those who grieve, struggle, and question the circumstances of their lives. Deborah has shared with us a wonderful story of love, forgiveness, redemption, and faith. I enjoyed this book and found myself not wanting it to end. I'll be marking my calendar, and I hope you will as well for the release of her third book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series, Blades of Autumn, to be released in the summer of 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    A fine read for any season

    Miss Rodeo Kansas loses not only the national pageant but her father too. Natalie Adams' dreams of touring the nation as a rodeo queen are brushed aside as she faces the reality of running the family ranch with the help of her teenage sister, Chelsey, and young brother, Dillon. Natalie's mother died years ago and her stepmom took off one day without a backward glance, so Natalie is the only "parent" they know.

    Jared Logan, the new pastor in town., meets Dillon out fishing. Soon his life becomes tangled with the Adams trio. He tries to help Chelsey, who got in trouble with alcohol, and befriends Dillon, who looks up to the handsome young man. Jared is drawn to the family, and his desire to assist them leads to more than neighborly friendliness.

    Natalie and Jared both sense an attraction, but struggle to resist. She has also pushed God aside, believing He has abandoned her and could never see herself as a pastor's wife. Jared knows he could not marry an unbeliever.

    Financial burdens add to Natalie's stress. Then her siblings' mom reappears. Has she come to find the money their dad hid around the place? She seems to add to their troubles, rather than helping.

    Yet God has a way of working out details for the best in each life. Seeds of Summer offers an enjoyable read, and it might just make you ponder your relationship with God and with others. May readers grow in love and forgiveness, just like the characters in this novel.

    Although this is the second book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series, it stands alone. I have not read the first one, but want to do so. And this book includes a yummy recipe in the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Seeds of Summer

    Seasons of the Tall Grass

    Deborah Vogts

    2010

    Zondervan

    Fiction/Contemporary



    Reveiwed by Cindy Loven



    Natalie Adams, a rodeo queen has life by the tail. She is the runner up in a national rodeo pageant, she is going to college, she has big dreams. That come to a screeching halt, when her father is killed in a freak tractor accident. Returning home to care for her younger brother and sister, she is overwhelmed. And even more so when she learns there is no money in the bank. Where can her father have left his money? He didn't trust banks, so obviously he had another plan to keep the money safe, but what was that plan? Dealing with their sorrow each in their own way, Natalie, Chelsey and Dillon all are grief struck and floundering trying to find a way to go forward. The new minister in town, seems to make the Adams family his own personal mission field. He helps them with farm chores, listens to their woes and makes himself an invaluable friend, but does he want more than that? Does Natalie want more than a friend from Pastor Jared?

    This book was a great story. I was hooked from the front page to the end. I loved the way that Deborah really incorporated the love of the land both from Natalie and from Jared. Definitely a book to share with your friends and to keep in your permanent library. 308 pages US $10.99 5 stars



    This book was provided for review purposes only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Seeds Of Summer by: Deborah Vogts

    Summertime is heating up in more ways than one. Natalie, guardian of her younger siblings and head of her family's ranch is facing more than she can handle. But she has to do it alone, doesn't she?

    When handsome Jared Logan meets her he is struck by her beauty. But she isn't interested in talking to him about her brother, her ranch or church. In fact she isn't sure having him around is a good thing at all even when he saves her from an ex-ranch hand.

    Jared enjoys his new job but isn't sure this is exactly where God wants him. When life gets more complicated he begins to question his career choice. Did he choose it for the right reasons? Is God really using him or is he reading his wishes into his work in the church and with Natalie. It's obvious she needs him as much as she needs God, but how can he convince her?

    Ms. Vogts has written an irresistible story filled with emotion. Her characters are believably flawed. You will find yourself rooting for them, hoping for them and looking for the changes as their story unfolds. Seeds Of Summer is a great read. I look forward to the next book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series.

    Seeds Of Summer
    Zondervan
    ISBN 978-0-310-29276-0
    $10.99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's all about Dreams

    Former rodeo queen Natalie puts her dreams on hold after her father dies and she leaves college to run the ranch and care for her two half-siblings. Grief and money worries raise the angst, and then these kids' mom shows up, with her own agenda, after everybody thought she died years ago. Handsome new pastor Jared has his own dreams. He teeters at the brink of failure, always seeming to show up when Natalie needs him most. Can he turn his seeds of failure into seeds of hope? And help her come full circle in her understanding of God?

    This story of love, forgiveness and faith plays out in the breathtaking Kansas Flint Hills.

    Review by Audrey Hebbert, M.A., author of Green Light Red Light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2