Customer Reviews for

Seeds of Yesterday (Dollanganger Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Final Chapter

This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a...
This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a part of her life. The part of the Uncle was not totally convincing, but the other characters were. The end was touching, and brought tears to my eyes. If you read Flowers in the Attic, you MUST read this book!

posted by Becky-Books on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

How Sad-An anticlimatic ending to what was a great series

I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and ...
I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and Cathy's crazy life left me disappointed. Here's why: The book is back in Cathy's perspective, which is refreshing. She is in her 50s and moving back to the new Foxworth hall. A lot of events happen that are just as dramatic/sad as the last. The secrets surrounding the events keep you reading. Though, at times it seems Andrews is repeating herself, it wasn't so bad. BUT, in the last chapter you are expecting the tension to build up and the secrets to be revealed. But nothing is revealed!! It seems to just end without a real resolution to the certain issues. Who filled the columns with wet sand? Who destroyed Jory's ship? Who left Jory's window open so he got sick? It doesn't make sense!! I recommend reading it still, just don't expect much of the ending.

posted by Phia on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    How Sad-An anticlimatic ending to what was a great series

    I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and Cathy's crazy life left me disappointed. Here's why: The book is back in Cathy's perspective, which is refreshing. She is in her 50s and moving back to the new Foxworth hall. A lot of events happen that are just as dramatic/sad as the last. The secrets surrounding the events keep you reading. Though, at times it seems Andrews is repeating herself, it wasn't so bad. BUT, in the last chapter you are expecting the tension to build up and the secrets to be revealed. But nothing is revealed!! It seems to just end without a real resolution to the certain issues. Who filled the columns with wet sand? Who destroyed Jory's ship? Who left Jory's window open so he got sick? It doesn't make sense!! I recommend reading it still, just don't expect much of the ending.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Final Chapter

    This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a part of her life. The part of the Uncle was not totally convincing, but the other characters were. The end was touching, and brought tears to my eyes. If you read Flowers in the Attic, you MUST read this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    The journey was alright; the ending made the book.

    I would give it 3 1/2 stars. The pace of the plot flowed well enough, but I couldn't engage myself in the characters as well. Jory's experience, although sad and heartfelt at first, turned rather annoying after awhile. Bart's growth also did not do anything for me. I did not feel compassion or happiness at his change in character, maybe because it was predictable as well as abrupt. Cindy was an extra for me, her character not very important. I didn't like how Chris kind of disappeared from the book; his sporadic appearances were too short. I wanted more of Chris and Cathy. The best part of the book was the ending. I liked how everything went full circle, and it was the only time in the book when I truly felt touched and the part that will be remembered.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book

    : )

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    vc andrews best!!

    she braught the foxworth hall to life, as if i was living there.. i cried and had shivers running through my body after reading the final book, which began with flowers in the attic.. excellent!! i stood up many nights reading, could never close my book... i wish it went on because it was so good.. i have to say i was not at all disapointed with the ending...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    spell binding

    this book is incredibly written and will keep you reading on until the very last page. it will make you laugh, it will make you cry...this book is a must read but dont read this book until youve read the flowers in the attic, petals in the wind, and if there be thorns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    Eh, I am still disappointed, but this was better

    After 'If there be thorns' I was hoping 'Seeds of Yesterday' would be alot better, but it wasn't. It was a little better, but it was just depressing and repetitive like the last book. And there needed to be more after the ending, it just didnt explain how things turned out, which made me feel like she just couldn't think of any more, or she was just sick of it herself. This story was probably the most unbelievable of the whole series, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Spoiled Riches - - Review By Kadi'

    Seeds of Yesterday, the 4th book in the series is probably my least favorite.

    Many times I felt like words were added just to fill the page. As boring as everyone in the house thought it was, is how I felt at times.

    Cathy, who wanted to not be like her mother, did exactly that. She smothered her adult children, never giving them the chance to settle their own conflicts. Even at the end, I felt like Chris was sick of her. "Please Cathy, don't make me not to want to come home!" He tells her at one point. He couldn't stand the constant drama that she spilled into his lap every Friday night, while the rest of them had to endure it all week, in his absence.

    I felt dissatisfied over the ending of the book. So many questions were left hanging in the air. What was Bart's "surprise"? What did Joel "really" want? Was he responsible for the two acts that had us all guessing as to who did it? I don't want to spoil any part by giving to much information, but if you read this already, you know which two incidents I am referring to.

    Like I said, I felt that the ending could have been better. It's like the writer got bored with it, and didn't care how things were left at the end.

    Again, I would warn about this book (along with the others of this series) is not meant for young minds. Unconsenual sexual acts, incest, violent acts and revenge seems to be the flow of this book.

    A hard read, but a good read. Not yhe page turner that the first two books were, but nonetheless, by itself, it holds it's own

    Kadi'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Not my favorite in this series

    I was anxious to read about the continuing lives of the characters in this series but I was disappointed while reading this book. It seemed to have a lot of "fluff" or fillers just to keep the story going or to make the book longer. It took me longer than usual to finish the book because I was just not excited enough about it to want to read each day. I was about as bored as the characters seemed to be while living in that house. I was also disappointed with the ending. We never found out what Joel was really up to and then Bart amazingly turns his life around at the very end?

    I'm glad I read it so it could give closure but it just didn't live up to my expectations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Very touching!

    I have been reading the series for the past few weeks. And i am sad that it is over. Many times I have caught myself emotionally reacting to the novel. The ending is unexpected, but touching nonetheless. I don't think any other book has made me cry, aside from Harry Potter, that is. A must-read for those who have read any of the Dollanganger series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    amazing

    Truth be told, if i were to pick this book up in the store, i probably wouldn't have read it. But my closest friend recommended it and i couldn't put them down! The story is thrilling and gut retching. The characters are so formed and the all have different unique personalities. The entire series is phenomenal and i would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tells the story in a different point of view

    When Corrinne Foxworth died, she left her family mansion, Foxworth Hall, to her oldest son, Christopher, but only until her gandson, Bart's twenty-fifth birthday. Now, in the fourth addition in the Dollanganger Series, Bart comes to take ownership of Foxworth Hall, and he invites his entire family(His parents, Jory, Jory's wife, his sister,as well as the long-lost uncle Joel) to come celebrate with him. Christopher and Catherine agree to celebrate with their child, and return once again to Foxworth Hall, the house that they spent three years of their childhood trapped in. After discovering the truth about his parent's relationship, Bart resents his father and turns to his evil grandparents. Uncle Joel bares striking similarities to John Amos, 'Grandmother's' butler in If There Be Thorns. Together the two begin to terrorize the entire family. As Catherine watches in horror, the family legacy of incest, greed, and betrayal claim the lives of her children

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Filler

    SOY is told from Cathy's point of view. This is a book you might want to read if you're interested in knowing more about Cathy, Chris, Bart and family. Nothing really important happens in the book. Sure, there's lots of drama and a heartbreaking ending, but really, it felt like V.C. Andrews was forced to write a fourth book so she went and stuffed this new story full of more of the same. It's like FITA all over again, only Cathy and Chris are now adults and no one is really forcing them to stay trapped in Foxworth <BR/>Hall---they just feel emotionally imprisoned. There's even a John Amos/Malcolm clone, as if we hadn't gotten enough of that the first few times around. And there's no real plot, it's just one bad thing happening after another. Bart is interesting to read about (he's a complex villain) but the rest of the characters are dull. Cathy and Chris's relationship has been seriously watered-down. The ending is contrived.<BR/><BR/><BR/>So I would not recommend this unless you absolutely must finish the series. I admit I liked it at age 15, but over time, I came to realize it was really not that great.<BR/><BR/>I give the characters 2/5, the plot 2/5, the writing style a 1 or 2 out of five, originality a 1/5, the drama a 3/5 (though I found it to be cheap drama), and the romance a 1 or 2 out of 5. It is good for a rainy day.<BR/><BR/>I recommend FITA, in case you haven't read it already. I also recommend the V.C.A. masterpiece My Sweet Audrina. It's a bit confusing at times and a very strange tale, but I thought it was very good. And I recommend the short story The Fall of the House of Usher because it has that sort of gothic feel to it, though it's more of a ghost story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Thank You VH1

    I heard about this book on Vh1 show the 80s strike back and I cant thank them enough. I¿ve just finished up the series and I feel I have grown along with the characters. First off I feel kind of deprived I¿m 26 and about 2 months I knew nothing of this author or series. This book covered about 4-5 years, which is pretty short compared to the other books in the series. Within that time the reader dives into each characters mind. This book is brilliantly written with suspenseful themes, which took me on an emotional roller coaster. I have to say I¿m surprised because I didn¿t think a typical male such as myself would enjoy this but I was proven wrong.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Should have stoppwd with book 3. Enough is enough!

    This is book #4 in the series and it made me not care to read #5, which is the prequel. You should really read that one first. I was really glad for it to be over. It got a little repetitive and just plain silly in some parts. Book 1 and 2, I would really reccommend though. By the end of book 2 you get enough of the story. Book 3 was better than book 4. Bart was just such an unbelieveable character. I just got tired of reading about his wierd ways and Cathy went on and on and on forever! Would have given it 3 and1/2 stars but that wasn't an option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Loved it

    Great ending to the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Stormfeather's Spirit

    /•\ His gaze fell soft over Lilywolf. "You will be fine, as it is not your time. You still have lives to live out, but you still have a life to live out here.." He murmured softly, his grey figure blending with the stones. /•\

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Smokerise OoC

    You always have such good writing *sniffle* i would have missed it if you had left

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Silnteye

    Silenteye watches Lillywolf leave, an empty place in his mindwas filled as he sets off for home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Cloudripple

    Cloudripple carefully slid Lilywolf onto her back, moving slowly so as to not knock her off, and padded to Dog Diaries.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7