Customer Reviews for

Seeds of Yesterday

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Final Chapter

This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a...
This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a part of her life. The part of the Uncle was not totally convincing, but the other characters were. The end was touching, and brought tears to my eyes. If you read Flowers in the Attic, you MUST read this book!

posted by Becky-Books on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

How Sad-An anticlimatic ending to what was a great series

I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and ...
I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and Cathy's crazy life left me disappointed. Here's why: The book is back in Cathy's perspective, which is refreshing. She is in her 50s and moving back to the new Foxworth hall. A lot of events happen that are just as dramatic/sad as the last. The secrets surrounding the events keep you reading. Though, at times it seems Andrews is repeating herself, it wasn't so bad. BUT, in the last chapter you are expecting the tension to build up and the secrets to be revealed. But nothing is revealed!! It seems to just end without a real resolution to the certain issues. Who filled the columns with wet sand? Who destroyed Jory's ship? Who left Jory's window open so he got sick? It doesn't make sense!! I recommend reading it still, just don't expect much of the ending.

posted by Phia on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    The journey was alright; the ending made the book.

    I would give it 3 1/2 stars. The pace of the plot flowed well enough, but I couldn't engage myself in the characters as well. Jory's experience, although sad and heartfelt at first, turned rather annoying after awhile. Bart's growth also did not do anything for me. I did not feel compassion or happiness at his change in character, maybe because it was predictable as well as abrupt. Cindy was an extra for me, her character not very important. I didn't like how Chris kind of disappeared from the book; his sporadic appearances were too short. I wanted more of Chris and Cathy. The best part of the book was the ending. I liked how everything went full circle, and it was the only time in the book when I truly felt touched and the part that will be remembered.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    Eh, I am still disappointed, but this was better

    After 'If there be thorns' I was hoping 'Seeds of Yesterday' would be alot better, but it wasn't. It was a little better, but it was just depressing and repetitive like the last book. And there needed to be more after the ending, it just didnt explain how things turned out, which made me feel like she just couldn't think of any more, or she was just sick of it herself. This story was probably the most unbelievable of the whole series, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Spoiled Riches - - Review By Kadi'

    Seeds of Yesterday, the 4th book in the series is probably my least favorite.

    Many times I felt like words were added just to fill the page. As boring as everyone in the house thought it was, is how I felt at times.

    Cathy, who wanted to not be like her mother, did exactly that. She smothered her adult children, never giving them the chance to settle their own conflicts. Even at the end, I felt like Chris was sick of her. "Please Cathy, don't make me not to want to come home!" He tells her at one point. He couldn't stand the constant drama that she spilled into his lap every Friday night, while the rest of them had to endure it all week, in his absence.

    I felt dissatisfied over the ending of the book. So many questions were left hanging in the air. What was Bart's "surprise"? What did Joel "really" want? Was he responsible for the two acts that had us all guessing as to who did it? I don't want to spoil any part by giving to much information, but if you read this already, you know which two incidents I am referring to.

    Like I said, I felt that the ending could have been better. It's like the writer got bored with it, and didn't care how things were left at the end.

    Again, I would warn about this book (along with the others of this series) is not meant for young minds. Unconsenual sexual acts, incest, violent acts and revenge seems to be the flow of this book.

    A hard read, but a good read. Not yhe page turner that the first two books were, but nonetheless, by itself, it holds it's own

    Kadi'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Not my favorite in this series

    I was anxious to read about the continuing lives of the characters in this series but I was disappointed while reading this book. It seemed to have a lot of "fluff" or fillers just to keep the story going or to make the book longer. It took me longer than usual to finish the book because I was just not excited enough about it to want to read each day. I was about as bored as the characters seemed to be while living in that house. I was also disappointed with the ending. We never found out what Joel was really up to and then Bart amazingly turns his life around at the very end?

    I'm glad I read it so it could give closure but it just didn't live up to my expectations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Should have stoppwd with book 3. Enough is enough!

    This is book #4 in the series and it made me not care to read #5, which is the prequel. You should really read that one first. I was really glad for it to be over. It got a little repetitive and just plain silly in some parts. Book 1 and 2, I would really reccommend though. By the end of book 2 you get enough of the story. Book 3 was better than book 4. Bart was just such an unbelieveable character. I just got tired of reading about his wierd ways and Cathy went on and on and on forever! Would have given it 3 and1/2 stars but that wasn't an option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Silnteye

    Silenteye watches Lillywolf leave, an empty place in his mindwas filled as he sets off for home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Crazy

    This whole series is sad and kind a depressing, the ending especially. The writing for each book was good and kept you reading as you wanted to know what happens to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Like a train wreck

    This series is so strange & Creepy you want to look away but can't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    The worst in the series

    I belive that 'seeds of yerterday' is the absolute worst book in the series. The only reason i gave the book any stars at all was because of the ending. (I cried for chris and cathy. It does seem for them life in the attic will never end.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1