Customer Reviews for

Seeds of Yesterday (Dollanganger Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Final Chapter

This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a...
This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a part of her life. The part of the Uncle was not totally convincing, but the other characters were. The end was touching, and brought tears to my eyes. If you read Flowers in the Attic, you MUST read this book!

posted by Becky-Books on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

How Sad-An anticlimatic ending to what was a great series

I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and ...
I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and Cathy's crazy life left me disappointed. Here's why: The book is back in Cathy's perspective, which is refreshing. She is in her 50s and moving back to the new Foxworth hall. A lot of events happen that are just as dramatic/sad as the last. The secrets surrounding the events keep you reading. Though, at times it seems Andrews is repeating herself, it wasn't so bad. BUT, in the last chapter you are expecting the tension to build up and the secrets to be revealed. But nothing is revealed!! It seems to just end without a real resolution to the certain issues. Who filled the columns with wet sand? Who destroyed Jory's ship? Who left Jory's window open so he got sick? It doesn't make sense!! I recommend reading it still, just don't expect much of the ending.

posted by Phia on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Final Chapter

    This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a part of her life. The part of the Uncle was not totally convincing, but the other characters were. The end was touching, and brought tears to my eyes. If you read Flowers in the Attic, you MUST read this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Very touching!

    I have been reading the series for the past few weeks. And i am sad that it is over. Many times I have caught myself emotionally reacting to the novel. The ending is unexpected, but touching nonetheless. I don't think any other book has made me cry, aside from Harry Potter, that is. A must-read for those who have read any of the Dollanganger series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tells the story in a different point of view

    When Corrinne Foxworth died, she left her family mansion, Foxworth Hall, to her oldest son, Christopher, but only until her gandson, Bart's twenty-fifth birthday. Now, in the fourth addition in the Dollanganger Series, Bart comes to take ownership of Foxworth Hall, and he invites his entire family(His parents, Jory, Jory's wife, his sister,as well as the long-lost uncle Joel) to come celebrate with him. Christopher and Catherine agree to celebrate with their child, and return once again to Foxworth Hall, the house that they spent three years of their childhood trapped in. After discovering the truth about his parent's relationship, Bart resents his father and turns to his evil grandparents. Uncle Joel bares striking similarities to John Amos, 'Grandmother's' butler in If There Be Thorns. Together the two begin to terrorize the entire family. As Catherine watches in horror, the family legacy of incest, greed, and betrayal claim the lives of her children

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Stormfeather's Spirit

    /•\ His gaze fell soft over Lilywolf. "You will be fine, as it is not your time. You still have lives to live out, but you still have a life to live out here.." He murmured softly, his grey figure blending with the stones. /•\

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Sad

    So much sadness but such a great story. I do get tired of the brother sister love but guess it makes a story all the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Omg whats going on with these books

    Pls explain what s going on #bri is my name

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Unexpected and sad

    On its own, it was ok. As a series it was excellent. You need to read the other books to have a real understanding of the circumstances that made the characters who they are. The ending was very unexpected to me. This book left me feeling sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    And so the tragedy continues. This is a good continuation of th

    And so the tragedy continues. This is a good continuation of this dark series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    Seeds of Yesterday, part of the series written by V.C. Andrew, was interesting. The beginning was very boring though, but at the end things finally started to stir and it became more interesting. I did not like this book out of the others from the series but I still thought it was fairly good. It was slow at times and it seemed as if she wrote the same things over. Though the ending was sad, it was still very enjoyable to read! If you have read the other books before this then you must read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Seeds of Yesterday book 4

    This book was okay, had to read because it was the finale to this saga about the Dollangangers/Foxworths. Bart seems to not forgot Malcolm as much with a relative reminding him and Cindy grown up seems to still act like a spoiled little child. And once again but the last time, Cathy narrates taking us into Foxworth Hall and of its events that will take place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Great Book!

    I really loved this book! I had already read all of the other books in this series before I read this one. I thought that I already knew what the story was about, but after I read it I found out something I had no idea about! You have to read to find out what this big secret is, but I assure you that it will be well worth it in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    BAH!!!!

    This book was great. I was so upset with what happened to Jory, I always loved him. Melanie is a stupid weakling that cant handle anything. Bart, ive always hated. I dont care if he finally easied up in the end. It annoyed me that either in this one or Garden of Shadows they screwed up on the other sons name. It was either Mel or Mal, PICK ONE! Joels stupid. The ending kinda depressed me, but atleast there at rest now. They went through alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Vivid and Moving-and Bart is Loathsome!

    After the disappointment that was 'If There Be Thorns', this was a neat recovery. I like the new characters, especially Cindy, and still loathe Bart. I admit I had my doubts when I read that Cathy was fifty two (I see her as a permanent twenty seven year old, for some reason) but those soon went. I cried at the end, and that's very rare for me. One thing I'm still sceptical about-the reappearance of Joel, and how different he is from the soft, slightly sappy boy in 'Garden of Shadows'. Oh, well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    Great Finale!

    i loved the book and the ending was the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    a reviewer

    This story had a good storyline and plot. I loved the characters and events. It took me a while to get through this book, but it was worth the time. It was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2