Customer Reviews for

Seeds of Yesterday

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Final Chapter

This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a...
This is the last book in the series (technically book #5 is a prequel). This book was really good. It jumps ahead to when Cathy is 52-55. I don't want to reveal the end, but being with Cathy from 12 all the way through middle age makes you feel that you were really a part of her life. The part of the Uncle was not totally convincing, but the other characters were. The end was touching, and brought tears to my eyes. If you read Flowers in the Attic, you MUST read this book!

posted by Becky-Books on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

How Sad-An anticlimatic ending to what was a great series

I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and ...
I have spent the last 2 weeks reading this series non-stop. I love the series as a whole and yould highly recommend it. It is well-written and very orginal. The characters come to life and you learn to adore them. HOWEVER, this last book, the final chapter of Chris and Cathy's crazy life left me disappointed. Here's why: The book is back in Cathy's perspective, which is refreshing. She is in her 50s and moving back to the new Foxworth hall. A lot of events happen that are just as dramatic/sad as the last. The secrets surrounding the events keep you reading. Though, at times it seems Andrews is repeating herself, it wasn't so bad. BUT, in the last chapter you are expecting the tension to build up and the secrets to be revealed. But nothing is revealed!! It seems to just end without a real resolution to the certain issues. Who filled the columns with wet sand? Who destroyed Jory's ship? Who left Jory's window open so he got sick? It doesn't make sense!! I recommend reading it still, just don't expect much of the ending.

posted by Phia on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Barbkit

    Nothing. She smiles.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Earthsky

    "Allright!" She said taking her mouse

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Rockshore

    He stares after his beautiful mate thinking thqt all of the mates he had before in previous calns he liked this one the most.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Autumnleaf

    Meant eightteen.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Medcat cliffrock

    *Goes to the freshkill pile and picks up a blue jay and goes by wildspiret*whats up

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Beaverpaw

    Autumnleaf?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Seedstar to flamekit

    Go to moss descriptions result 1 and read my pst. Then DO WHAT IT SAYS!!!! Thnx!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!

    This book is great!! i love it as much as da other ones! but i like this one the most because it shows how strong love is. It was really sad that chris and cathy died, but what i love is that they went through alot of things to be together, and even though they're brother and sister they had a love that was honest and so strong!! i learned alot from this book!! and i love it, and recommend it to everyone!! is a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Great

    I couldn't believe how hard I cried at the end of this book. I wasn't anticipating the ending whatsoever. I loved this series and now I am so sad that it is over. Now I need to read the prequel to find out why Olivia was so terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    good

    This was such a great book! The ending was very sad. Slow at some parts, it was still really good. An awesome conclusion to the Dollanganger saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    AWWW

    The ending was sooo sad. So sad. Definitely made me appreciate the series more than I already have. The only bad thing about book four is that it is repeatitive at times, is slow paced at other times, BUT its outstanding and almost surreal how Melodie deserted everyone and Bart innappropriately acted towards everyone. And i hope Joel dies of cancer, that stupid dork. ANYWAYS...you have to read this book if you already started the series. Its not better than the second but it was outsanding nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    VC Andrews is my favorite author!

    I love VC Andrews' books. I've been reading her books since my freshman year of high school and I fell in love with her work! I'm eager to read her newer novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    VC Andrews fan

    I love all of VC andrews books, and give all of them 5 stars. I personally recommend all of them. I got so mad reading this book, especially towards Melanie, how can she do that to her husband? How could she not take care of herself while pregnant? As for Cindy, I kinda had to feel sorry for her, especially with the way Bart treated her, he never liked her, he wanted momma all to hisself, and got mad when he couldn't have her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    Seeds of Yesterday (Dollanganger Series #4)

    this book was a masterpiece! Cathy and chris return and are now in their fifties. Cathy's oldest son, Bart is an absolute @#%$! Her older son, Jory, the dancer(a boy after his mother's heart) is an absolute darling and it's heartbreaking what happens to him. i cried my eyes out! Bart's cruel, explosive nature towards his family and his jealousy of Jory is fascinating. even though he's a @#%$, he's a great character. You just LOVE to hate him, ya' know what i mean? full of plot twists, tear-jerking scenes, cruelty, brother rivalry, passion, cruel fate, and Cathy's struggle to keep her family together. the last book in the series, (unless you count the prequel), it's the 2nd best right after Flowers in th Attic. A MUST for anyone who loved Flowers in the Attic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    Seeds of Yesterday (Dollanganger Series #4)

    this book was wonderful, one of the best in the series. It continues the Dollanganger's heartwrenching saga. cathy is now well into her fifties and returns to Foxworth hall with Chris to be with her jealous vengeful youngest son, Bart. Cathy, Chris, their adopted daughter cindy, and Cathy's darling older son Jory enjoy their time at Foxworth Hall until things start going horribly wrong. Full of plot twists, brother against brother angst, and the all too common themes in the Dollanganger series such as hate, cruelty, revenge, pain, and heartbreaking detail make this a wonderful read that takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. V.C. Andrews yet again brings to life her characters so that you can feel what they're going through. As sad and as well-written as Flowers in the Attic, its one of the few books that has made me cry. you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Wonderful!

    Although most people start reading VC Andrews in their teens, I'm 28 and have recently discovered her books. She was quite a storyteller! Seeds of Yesterday has to be my favorite in the series (so far - I haven't gotten to Garden of Shadows). It's interesting to see Cathy grown, now older and wiser. I have never become so engrossed in a novel before this, or any of the Dollanganger series, for that matter. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    A great book!

    I loved this book and what a great ending to a wonderful series! Cathy is by far my favorite VCA character! I like strong women characters and horror/mystery and romance in my novels! This book had all of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Really Good, But Want More

    After finishing this wonderful book in a day, I found myself wanting more. Although Bart finally accepted Chris after his death, what happens to him and all of the others. Don't get me wrong, the book is amazing, but there should be more. What happens to Bart? Does he find a woman like his mother? What about Cindy and Jory and Toni and the twins? What happens to them? There needs to be one more book that explains everything. The reader only senses that Bart becomes better, but I think they would want to read about his transformation. After all, Joel didn't die...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    The last chapter of Greed, Incest, and Betrayal

    If you have read the first three books in this series, then you must read this last one! I have been trapped in this series from the beginning and couldnt put the book down until I was completely finished. I often found myself reading hours on end. I think this book was excellent. I orginally was skeptical because Chris and Cathy have aged so much in this story, however by the second page, all of my doubts were gone. Seeds of Yesterday was an amazing book to finish up a wonderful series. I personally am not one to get emotional over movies and books, but this particular book/series was definately an exception.If you havent read these books, I would highly recommend you do so. Another helpful hint is to start with the first book and continue on, because otherwise with the twisted family tree it is easy to become confused with all the characters and how they are related to one another. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    another great read by andrews!

    This book was great. The ending was so suprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4