Customer Reviews for

Seeing Julia

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Amazing book

    I couldnt put this book down. It was so good. I read this book in a days time. Katherine Owen needs to put more of her books on here. She is becoming my new favorite author. I could feel Julias pain. I wanted to smack Jake a few times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    A TOUCHING STORY!!

    For Julia there is the 'before' and the 'after'. In the before part she has her parents and the unbelievably handsome boy who gives her, her first kiss. In the ¿after¿ she loses her parents, then her fiancée and then her husband. Now she is afraid to love and let anybody get too close, for fear of losing them too. All this sets her on a course of battling grief, self-discovery and unearthing of secrets which turns her entire way of thinking upside down. A romance with a whole lot of depth, ¿Seeing Julia¿ is not the kind of book you want to read in a hurry. To experience the depth of the emotional turmoil caused by the devastating losses Julia suffers in her life, you'll probably find yourself rereading large portions of the book. The in-depth descriptions of her heart-wrenching sense of loss, is balanced by the beautiful caring nature, and actions, of friends. The story is masterfully written in a first person present tense perspective. It brings the reader in very close contact with the thoughts and feelings of the main character. I effortlessly identified with Julia's desire to be a normal person, doing normal things, in a normal life. All she wants is to be seen for who she is and not as the widow of the highly successful businessman, Evan Hamilton. Above all, she wants to spend her life caring for her son and securing a future for him. But getting to that point, she has to undergo a journey of self-discovery. Realistic characters always impress me and in this book they are plentiful. The way in which Julia's friends supported her throughout the ups and downs of her life, was heartwarming and enduring. No matter what happened in Julia¿s life, her inner circle of friends were always there to not only support her emotionally, but to also take an active role in her business affairs, and also in her love life. I recommend this novel to all who enjoy a highly emotional story that tugs at your heart strings with a main character who shows remarkable growth throughout the book. ¿Seeing Julia¿ rightly deserves its 5 stars! (Ellen Fritz)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    emotional and lovely

    There was before. And, there was after.
    Before was magical, embraced promise,
    and bequeathed good things.
    Before was for the innocent.
    After was the haunted, and relinquished all promise. (pg 5)

    'Seeing Julia' has one chapter of before; the rest is after. The after starts with Julia at her husband's funeral. And this is where I began to cry. Katherine Owen is able to write Julia's story with so much emotion that I was almost overwhelmed. Reading it is a truely emotional ride! Julia tells us her story in first person present so each feeling, each action is immediate and real to the reader. We follow Julia through loss and grief and through the agonizing process of trying to redefine herself as a 27 year old widow and mother to seven month old Reid. Julia's 'inner circle' of close friends becomes her strength when she can find none in herself. They hold her up and pull her through.

    For some reason, I expected 'Seeing Julia' to be a fluffy, unreal romance novel. I don't know where I got this idea but I couldn't have been more wrong, 'Seeing Julia' is so much more. It is deep and real and full of emotion and pain and friendship and love. I can't say enough good about it. The main characters in the novel are very well developed and the story is easy to follow and read. I could feel Julia's pain from the beginning and I could also see the inner strength that she was struggling to reach. At first I wondered at her relationship with Jake, husband Evan's best friend. The intensity of her feelings for Jake seemed out of place considering the circumstances, but as we become privy to what is really going on in Julia's mind and how her grief is affecting her, understanding dawns. The reader begins to accept this relationship for what it is as secrets are revealed and Julia's past is explored.

    If there is a negative about this book it is the lack of development of the relationship between Julia and her nanny, Lianne. For playing such an important role in Julia's life, Lianne remains a shadow in the story. She just seems to be a convenient plot ploy so that Julia has more freedom to grieve without having to think of Reid. I would have liked her to have more substance.

    Julia's story will stay with me for a long time. I'm a little sad that this is a stand alone book, I would like to spend more time with all of the characters involved. As it is, I look forward to reading more by Katherine Owen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful book!

    "Here's what I know: death abducts the dying, but grief steals from those left behind." Julia is no stranger to loss. She has had more than her share of grieving over lost loved ones. Her life seemed to have taken a better turn after marrying Evan Hamilton and especially since the birth of their beautiful son, Reid. But in a strange twist of fate, Julia finds herself grieving once again when her husband, Evan, dies a tragic death. Can Julia start over? Will she start over? Jake Winston believes so. Julia sees Jake at Evan's funeral, and being around her deceased husband's best friend proves to be more than a little disconcerting. Being torn between her grief over Evan and the guilt of this incomprehensible, yet undeniable connection to Jake becomes all too much for Julia, nearly pushing her over the edge. Fortunately for Julia, she has an amazing support system in her friends and, surprisingly, . in Jake. Julia begins a journey of healing, knowledge, and finding her way back to the living. Katherine Owen is an amazing story teller. Her beautiful writing pulls you into Julia's grief, and I found my heart aching right along with her. "It won't be stopped. Will it? The happiness is really gone forever. This pain is never going to go away. Is it?" The story was so gripping, and all of the characters were so easy to love - I quickly became invested in all of them. Jake and Julia were mesmerizing, but I also adored Julia's friends. Her "inner circle", as she called them, is loving, supportive, and more than ready to kick your butt when you need it. We should all be so lucky to have wonderful friends like these. For me, the best part of this incredible read was the extraordinary message in the story: Realizing we aren't perfect - no one is. Learning to be comfortable with who you are. See yourself - just be you. Beautiful! I'm very excited to read more of Katherine Owen's work. She is sure to become a favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Great Book

    One of the best I've read in a while. Could not put it down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book and how the storyline evolved. Nice read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    MOAR

    I want MOAR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    MOOOOOORE

    ~Thrackerzod

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    OMG AWESOME MORRE

    YEP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    PREVIEW: Cutie Mark Gone Wrong

    CHAPTER ONE: "What should we do today to earn our cutie marks, Crusaders?" I asked. "I don't know..." Scootaloo replied. "We've tried everything! Read the list, Sweetie Belle." Sweetie nodded, then pulled out a long piece of paper from the desk. "Lets see here....um..Skydiving.....knitting.....-" "Which was boring!" Inturrupted Scoots. "The knitting, I mean." Sweetie narrowed her eyes in frustration and kept reading. "Sushi eating...pet sitting....stuffed animal making...." I sighed. "That was sure hard." I said. "Remember how I kept getting pricked by the needle?" I looked wryly at my scarred hoof. Scoots nodded. Sweetie Belle continued down the list, and we soon became bored. "Why don't we go outside? We could get a good idea on our next cutie mark mission." I said. "Yeah...." said Scoots. "But this is starting to get really tiring. I mean, I really hate to say this...but maybe...everyone is right." "No!" Squeaked Sweetie Belle. "We will get our cutie marks...TODAY!" I moaned as she said this. We went outside and sat in the grass boredly. Suddenly, I felt a tingle on my flank. A tell-tale blue circle appeared and a few sparkles zinged out. " I think my cutie mark is coming!!!" I said excitedly. Then, I felt it. An agonizing jolt on my flank. "Owww!" I yelped. Was this what getting a cutie mark felt like? "What?" Asked Scootaloo. "It....hurts." I replied. It was the worst pain I had ever felt. "Hurts?" Sweetie Belle asked. "Ya-huh." I nodded, feeling little pangs from time to time. The jolt returned, knocking me off my hooves. I had tears in my eyes, it hurt so bad. "Lets go to Twilight Sparkle. Now!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Ruin

    What

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly recommend this book. I read the paperback and bought it for my Nook.

    Seeing Julia is an amazing story. It kept me up late to try and finish it in one night. It's that good! At 27, Julia has experienced a great deal of loss and just when she thought her life was going to work out, her husband Evan dies. The book picks up quickly at Evan's funeral where best friends, Kimberley and Stephanie, try to cheer her up at Evan's wake with a regular supply of chocolate martinis...Yum! But Julia is unsure she can start over again and a chance encounter with Evan's best friend,the mysterious Jake Winston,leads to all kinds of trouble for her. I'll leave it at that. The story will keep you riveted because the author does a great job with the writing and keeps you guessing as to how it will all turn out for Julia. I thoroughly enjoyed this book because the story was so moving and the plot kept me engaged until the very end. I look forward to reading Owen's second book, Not To Us, next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly recommend this debut book from a very talented author

    Seeing Julia is an amazing story. It kept me up late to try and finish it in one night. It's that good! At 27, Julia has experienced a great deal of loss and just when she thought her life was going to work out, her husband Evan dies. The book picks up quickly at Evan's funeral where best friends, Kimberley and Stephanie, try to cheer her up at Evan's wake with a regular supply of chocolate martinis...Yum! But Julia is unsure she can start over again and a chance encounter with Evan's best friend,the mysterious Jake Winston,leads to all kinds of trouble for her. I'll leave it at that. The story will keep you riveted because the author does a great job with the writing and keeps you guessing as to how it will all turn out for Julia. I thoroughly enjoyed this book because the story was so moving and the plot kept me engaged until the very end. I look forward to reading Owen's second book, Not To Us, next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1