Customer Reviews for

Seeing Things

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    This book fits with my passion "Why We Need Girlfriends." A Bible study book I'll be talking about another day.

    The family relationships in the book are great. Healing between family members. Grandmother and grandson bonding. But the group of women with failing eyesight that band together do more than the doctors or family for Birdie. Girlfriends are friends who stick closer than relatives.

    Seeing Things made me laugh out loud, which is common in husband's family, but not in mine.I can't recommend this story high enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Put This on Your List!

    Just finished this in our book club--highly recommend reading it. We all found a common thread woven through the story for a fun and touching discussion time we were all able to relate to. Storyline is very fitting for today's challenging family life, including blended family relationships. You will immediately relate to every character and identify with the struggles of everyday life faced at any age. The author brought special meaning to each character that left you full of love, compassion, and a deep sense of appreciation for them individually. Please don't hesitate to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Piquant & poignant novel with just the right about of humor and faith

    Seeing Things by Patti Hill is a tasty treat for a summer's afternoon. Birdie Wainwrights prides herself on her independence and zest for life, even at the age of 72 and suffering from macular degeneration. When she starts seeing hallucinations of flowers in the middle of her living room, she starts to doubt her sanity, and when she ends up breaking her ankle because of them, her perfect life is turned upside-down. Birdie is forced to recover while living with her son Andy and wife Suzanne whose busy lives keep them on the run and away from son Fletcher, who has memorized baseball stats as a form of prayer in his lonely life. Things get even crazier when Huckleberry Finn shows up and starts talking to Birdie, and the faith of the whole family is tested. I absolutely adored the character of Birdie, and I hate that the book had to end! Hill precisely renders the conflict between aging parent and busy child when it comes to assisted living centers and independent living. Birdie wants only to heal and please her family, but she is forced over and over again to turn their care over to God. Her interpretation of putting them through the roof on a mat is one I will remember and use myself. The characters feel real, full of passion and life, like people you know personally, and the story has just the perfect amount of humor, faith, and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great Book!

    I really loved this book! The story helped me to be grateful for the small things in life. Great book for a group discussion! Loved the way the main character related to her grandson and other family members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Seeing things

    I enjoyed this book. Definetly encourage you to read it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Started slow but picked up

    This started out a little slow for me. It was good and I am glad I stayed with it because it was a great story. I got it originally because the plot summary reminded me of one of my favorite authors, Lorena McCourtney. Though this author was nothing like Lorena, she did manage to keep my interest.

    Stick with it if you get the book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    From funny to heart-warming

    I really enjoyed the story of Birdie and how her faith stitched together a relationship with her son that they didnt know was broken. The beginning draws you in quickly with Birdie's humor until you come to know the other characters in her life. By the time the heart-wrenching drama unfolds, you are so invested that you must keep reading to see how it plays out. The ending is satisfying and reinforces the theme that God is guiding us through the storms so we can enjoy the rainbows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Lovely

    A fun story with all kinds of twists for family love and tolerance. Lessons for moving through or around obstacles of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Seeing things

    I really enjoyed this book. Christian based books can be hard to find. Birdie's comparison of the men lowering their friend thru an opening so Jesus would heal thir friend and her doing that with her worries, made me think of how to do the same in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Very good- enjoyable read:)

    Besides being enjoyable reading, the info about macular degeneration was interesting. My mom was dx with macular degeneration- dry- and I think that she had the same type of hallucinations that Birdie had. She told me that she would see little people- wasn't frightened by them-they were always friendly. Interesting:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Worth sharing

    Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great Story - Highly Recommended

    What a lovely story of an older women ... life through her eyes and the faith she has to get her through. Upon first reading I thought I might not enjoy this story too much, but I was hooked very quickly. It's a very interesting story...Huck helps with that. :) If you like stories that have meaning and stress faith, this is a great book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Really enjoyed

    Didn't know what to expect & was pleasantly surprised

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book and did not expect to. It was funny,

    I really enjoyed this book and did not expect to. It was funny, sad, jarring, irritating, and yes educational. All of these emotions ( and information) came out in the midst of an interesting story. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Seeing Things

    An elderly lady has some problems with her vision and her family. This is a heartwarming story of an elderly lady facing some of the problems attending old age. Strength, courage, humor, and a loving grandson are included in her arsenal to combat the difficulties (old age ain't for sissies, you know).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this book although ending was vague. Could have used a couple more pages written at the end to clear up matters. Ending came too quick. Other than that it is a delightful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Imaginary Friends

    Who hasn't had an imaginary friend that used to talk to when they were little? Even now, sometimes the characters you create in your head are better company to keep than the real people you have to interact with on a daily basis. That's what life is like for Birdie as she finds that it's easier to communicate with Huckleberry Finn than with her son and his wife. That is a literary character that would be great to have a conversation with. I love how their conversations mostly consist of Birdie being able to confide and share her thoughts with Huck just sitting there listening. It's the best situation ever!

    I found the relationship between Birdie and her son and his family to very interesting to the story. I felt that this relationship is the epitome of elderly parents and their children who aren't sure how to take care of them. Their reactions and attitudes towards each other were very realistic and it touches at the heart for those who have been in this situation. What I liked best was how the author portrayed Birdie. She's not shown as a cranky elderly person who thinks that her way is the best way. She loves her grandson very much and wants to make everything right for him. Her relationship with her son is rocky and is even more so with his wife. However she tries to do her best to keep the peace even though it's very difficult for her.

    My only complaint is that it's very slow for about halfway through the book. It takes a while to really get into the story. It's not boring, there's just a lot of that you have to see through Birdie's eyes first before delving deeper. This book is not a fast read, but it's one to savor. I feel that it will touch many readers and pull some heartstrings. Perfect for a lazy fall's day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Seeing Things

    Loved the play on words in the title. Birdie has macular degeneration, so she couldn't see clearly with her eyes, however, she saw things in other ways: from her visits with fictional character, Huck Finn; to seeing deeply with her heart. A delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2