Customer Reviews for

Seek Me with All Your Heart (Land of Canaan Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great first book for the series

Beth Wiseman has done it again. This book, the first in the Land of Canaan Series is a wonderful read. I found I didn't want to put it down. Beth has taken characters from the Daughters of Paradise series and moved then to Colorado to a fresh beginning. I love the fact...
Beth Wiseman has done it again. This book, the first in the Land of Canaan Series is a wonderful read. I found I didn't want to put it down. Beth has taken characters from the Daughters of Paradise series and moved then to Colorado to a fresh beginning. I love the fact that each books stands on its own, but also compliments each other. It is refreshing to read about a character and be able to follow that character throught out the series and into another series. Lillian and Samuel have moved to the property that Jonas bought online before he passed away. They are starting fresh in a strange new land. I love the new characters and only wish that Jonas was still around to carry on a conversation with Martha. That would be a book in itself. The characters are real and you find yourself engrossed in their lives and hoping that everything works out for each of them. Sometimes what starts out as sorrowful ends with a lesson of God's Love. When one door closes, there is always another that opens for us, if only we are willing to look for it. It is wonderfully written and I only wish that Beth wrote faster, I can hardly wait for the next in the series. What other trials await Lillian and Samuel?

posted by Valarie on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sadly a very predictable story.

While Ms. Wiseman books are nice easy read, they are very predictable in their plots. It is the same plot every time.... some one i ill, or in distress, they have lost their way with God, an as always they are suddenly well no longer in distress an have found God yet...
While Ms. Wiseman books are nice easy read, they are very predictable in their plots. It is the same plot every time.... some one i ill, or in distress, they have lost their way with God, an as always they are suddenly well no longer in distress an have found God yet again.

One new person in Ms Wiseman book is Martha the older woman that is cranky an rude, but also having a soft heart. She made the book endurable..... otherwise the book is flat. There is no suspense to her stories. She has become very predictable in her writing.

posted by jazzy34 on December 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great first book for the series

    Beth Wiseman has done it again. This book, the first in the Land of Canaan Series is a wonderful read. I found I didn't want to put it down. Beth has taken characters from the Daughters of Paradise series and moved then to Colorado to a fresh beginning. I love the fact that each books stands on its own, but also compliments each other. It is refreshing to read about a character and be able to follow that character throught out the series and into another series. Lillian and Samuel have moved to the property that Jonas bought online before he passed away. They are starting fresh in a strange new land. I love the new characters and only wish that Jonas was still around to carry on a conversation with Martha. That would be a book in itself. The characters are real and you find yourself engrossed in their lives and hoping that everything works out for each of them. Sometimes what starts out as sorrowful ends with a lesson of God's Love. When one door closes, there is always another that opens for us, if only we are willing to look for it. It is wonderfully written and I only wish that Beth wrote faster, I can hardly wait for the next in the series. What other trials await Lillian and Samuel?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    A Story of Healing and Finding God Even in the Hard Times

    Seek Me with all your Heart by Beth Wiseman is about the love, loss, pain, and healing from an Amish point of view. It is the first book in the Land of Canaan series. The main story centers around a young Amish woman named Emily, a young Amish man named David, and their families. The story is set in a fledgling Amish community in Colorado.

    Emily and David's families left their Amish communities and families in the East to move to Canaan, Colorado, in hopes of a new start. Emily wants to put her past behind her and her mother hopes she will find healing for the tragedies she suffered just before their move. David's family hopes to find financial freedom in this new frontier where the land is cheaper and their homestead is paid in full. Will they find what they are looking for?

    Along the journey we are introduced to many other characters. Each has a unique struggle of their own that they are dealing with. But the resounding theme is that God is telling them all to seek Him with all of their hearts. He is their to help them find what they need, be it strength or peace or healing, if they will only seek Him with all their hearts.

    Wiseman does an excellent job of weaving a story that will capture your heart and imagination. Seek Me with all of your Heart was so hard to put down. I just didn't want to stop reading it! It brings the Amish lifestyle and faith to life for us Englisch outsiders and it deals with real life issues that we all face no matter how we choose to practice our faith in God.

    The only difficulties I had in reading this book was getting used to some of the Amish terminology which comes from their Pennsylvania Dutch roots. However, Wiseman has provided a convenient glossary of Amish terms at the front of the book. This made it easy to familiarize myself with the terms and after looking up a few of the words I was able to recognize them when they occurred later in the book.

    I highly recommend Seek Me with all your Heart! If you are struggling with forgiveness or dealing with self-worth/self-image issues, this book may hold an especially strong message for you. Once you get started you won't want to put it down until you have read the very last page!

    A free copy of this book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson publishing for review purposes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Great Read!

    This is the first book of Beth Wiseman I have read and truly enjoyed it! I believed in all the characters and loved the sense of humor of the characters. I will definetly read more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    A must read

    I finished this book in 3 days as I couldn't put it down. Very well written and not a dull moment. If you like amish fiction you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Exciting New amish series

    Seek Me With All Your Heart is the first book in what promises to be an exciting new Amish series title A Land of Canaan. What made this story unique for me was the fact that it is set in Colorado. Several amish families are headed west hoping for a new start. Some are moving because they are looking for cheap land, while others are leaving hurtful pasts behind hoping for a fresh start. The main story revolves around Emily Detweiler and David Stoltzfus. The two have issues from their past, each thinking that they are unworthy, but as their characters blossom and develop throughout the story, they realize God has a plan for them. This book was a quick easy read filled with plenty of secondary characters to keep you entertained. Fans of Amish fiction will definitely be drawn to this story, but I think that anyone looking for a good clean read with an uplifting message would enjoy it as well. I was provided a copy of this book by Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    Beth has a way with words of making you think that the characters in the book are your friends. I have been addicted to Amish books for a along time now and can't get enough of them. I loved the daughters of the promise now this new series looks promising also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A must read

    Cried half the time. Plan to get next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great reading

    Beth once again write a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Wow. All i can say is wow

    I just started reading this book for the second time. It really makes you feel good. Its kind of sad what happens to Emily but in the end its so happy!
    Don't miss out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    a wonderful read

    This series is a great read. It warms your heart,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Amy

    "Medium sized pastrue. Holds five horses."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Incredible book!

    I began reading Amish romances a few months ago. I rate this book at the top alongside Cindy Smallwood's books. They are head and shoulder above the 20+ that I've read so far. The characters will become your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Read This Book

    Just got started reading this book. Can't wait to get back to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Easy to read with an unpredictable plot that holds the reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great Read

    I enjoy books based on the Amish way of life. Maybe because I lived in an Amish area in Indiana for years. This is a well written book which puts an all too human face to those people who dress and live so differently from most of us. Going to check #2 in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    A surprise

    I have never been into so called Christian Roamces, but this is something different. The author skillfully takes you on a journey with two young people who have both been struck by tragedy and then God's grace. It is a lot more than smoldering kisses...it really answers the question...what exactly IS family. I can't wait for the second installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book & hope to read more in this series, because I want to know what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Seek Me great first book of Land of Canaan Series

    Beth Wiseman's Seek Me With All Your Heart is a great start to her brand new series. You join the Stoltzfu family, Lillian, Samuel, David, and the girls after their journey from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania to Canaan, Colorado. Upon arriving things seem worse than they expected, but trusting in God brings them through. I really enjoyed reading this book. I am not usually a fast reader, but Beth's books are easy to read. If you haven't picked up this book, I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Wonderful new series begins!

    Beth Wiseman has taken a few of her Lancaster County, Pennsylvania characters to Canaan, Colorado, a move that mimics the trend of Amish folks migrating westard in search of cheaper land and new opportunities. Once again, Beth delivers a terrific story with a wonderful cast of characters. I feel as if I've gained a new group of friends that I can't wait to visit with again. (Write faster, Beth!)Difficult situations are honestly and realistically presented, discussed and resolved. This novel has humor, romance, tragedy, grief, struggles with faith and many life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Beth Wiseman offers another intimate view inside the Amish culture, in a brand new Amish community. It is her best book yet!

    One of the things I love best about Beth's books is that each stands alone, yet, each builds on the books before. In this book, some of the beloved characters we are already well acquainted with, relocate to a place so different from Lancaster County. I adore these characters, they are so well developed and really get the reader invested in them and their lives. They feel just like family, and your heart will break as they strive to confront the aftermath of unthinkable tragedy. You will find yourself a personal cheerleader for those facing the challenges of new relationships, everyday problems and some not so everyday problems in this unfamiliar part of the country. Throughout each of the story lines, the inspirational focus on friendships, family and faith is ever present.

    This book is a great joy to read. I read it in public places (on an airplane and in an airport) and had total strangers approaching me asking what I was reading because I was sitting there with a smile or a smirk on my face or even laughing out loud because of the situation a favorite character found herself in. I will be buying several copies for my nieces.

    As you read 'Seek Me with All Your Heart' with its hardships, its growing friendships and hopes of romances, it's strong, yet perfectly tempered theme of 'faith in God' will inspire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3