Customer Reviews for

Seer of Sevenwaters (Sevenwaters Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely BRILLIANT!

A full, passionate story-- with characters, whose individual tales make them come alive. An whose plot bears a resemblance to "The Odyssey" by Homer. Recommendation: "The Lost Years of Merlin" by T.A. Barron

posted by Solstice-Ballad1 on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A mixed bag

I love Juliette's previous works, but was initially unmoved by this work. The story seemed too slowto unfold, and felt a bit cliche to me. Still, I did find myself reading with more anticipation as the climax neared.

posted by paganfalcon on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Beautiful~.

    I thought this was absolutely lovely.
    Sibeal, the fifth daughter of Lord Sean of Sevenwaters (Sorcha's son, Liadan's twin, Fainne's uncle) , has been training her whole life to become a drud, ever since the Lady of the Forest appeared to her as a child. She has been sent to Inis Eala, which her cousin (Bran and Liadan's son), Johnny for a summer by her mentor and kinsman, Ciar¿n. She has only been on the island five days when a Norse ship wrecks, with only three survivors; Knut, who seems trustworthy and normal, but hiding a terrible secret, beautiful, tragic Svala who ill not speak, or can't, and a handsome stranger who cannot remember anything, not even his own name, who Sibeal rescues personally, who is hanging on by a thread.
    The plot of this book unfurls beautifully, the characters are realistic with their, well, overall…just plain outstsndingness and flaws—did I mention both Sibeal and Felix narrarate story?—and this book is written wonderfully, just like all of Juliet Mariller's other books. It could work as a stand-alone but I wouldn't reccomend it. Go and read the other books of the Sevenwaters Series. Do it.
    And I would of course want you to read this. I loved it, and you will too, so please read this wonderful book, and have fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely BRILLIANT!

    A full, passionate story-- with characters, whose individual tales make them come alive. An whose plot bears a resemblance to "The Odyssey" by Homer.

    Recommendation: "The Lost Years of Merlin" by T.A. Barron

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Great!

    I have not been disapointed by aany of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Amazing

    Amazing as always. You are never let down by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Amazing Series

    From the first book to this one Juilet Mariller has combined fantasy, action, thriller and romance. Such an amazing book with much diversty. My favorite series by far. I defintely reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    I love this author! Shes done it again i just couldnt put this book down so much mystery and love! Plz read this awesome book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining romantic fantasy

    The fifth daughter of the Lord of Sevenwaters, teenager Sibeal of Sevenwaters has always dreamed of becoming a druid. Thus she is excited when she completes her training as all she has left to do to fulfill her goal is to take the vow. However, Sibeal's Uncle Ciaran directs her to drop her study in order to contemplate if she really wants to become a druid; as there is no change of mind once you commit. He sends her to the island of Inis Eala where her married sisters live for a summer of reflection in isolation.

    Sibeal is angry with her mentor who she believes is punishing her although she cannot fathom why. A storm causes a shipwreck leaving several stranded voyagers. Sibeal is confused by the behavior of Knut the Norseman and his wife Svala who seems deathly afraid of her husband. The other survivor pulled safely from the water suffers from amnesia. To her shock Sibeal is attracted to this stranger with the memory loss, but also wonders what secrets have the married couple and perhaps the other survivor conceal from her and her family.

    The latest Sevenwaters' family fantasy (see Daughter of the Forest and Heir of Sevenwaters) is an engaging entry starring a delightful intelligent daughter who must make choices not easy to select from as her life passion has a new passion. The story line starts off slow with much of what has gone on before overly rehashed to the chagrin of fans and glee of newcomers, but once Sibeal steps to the plate, the game accelerates. This is an entertaining romantic fantasy as the audience will wonder whether the heroine will select Druidism or love while also pondering who the amnesiac is.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Great series

    Love the sevenwaters series. Characters are so easy to fall in love with and hate. Very woman strong series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Unexpected but wonderful

    At first i was not too interested in this particular sister but then wow! I do hate how these charictors dont speak their minds right away but it all works out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    GREAT addition to series...

    This book is among the finest of Marillier's Sevenwaters Series. I highly rank the plot, emotion, and talent exhibited in this novel to that shown in her first two Sevenwaters books: Daughter of the Forest and Son of the Shadows. I have already recommended this book to my friends and relatives who enjoy Marillier, so I do not hesitate to recommend it to you, dear reader. I hope you enjoy it as much as I!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for 2011!

    Again, Juliet Marillier brings to life her characters in this new and wonderful edition to her Sevenwaters novels. This book was a joy to read and nothing short of what I would expect from a tale of devout love and courage. With just the right touch of fantasy and folklore, Seer of Sevenwaters, is a book that will remain in both your heart and mind long after reading the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Read

    Juliet Marillier never ceases to impress me with her amazing writing style and character development. The Sevenwaters series has remained one of my favorites for over ten years. This story was just as delightful as the rest. Immediately I was drawn to Sibeal and Ardal, intrigued by their connection to each other. The mysterious Svala also kept my attention. I was determined to discover the secrets hidden behind Ardal's amnesia, Svala's silence, and Knut's trickery. This book had me hanging on every word. Truly fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3