BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Seize the Day

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    Terrible

    This book was extremely dull. A struggle to read that was only completed as a project for school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    great book!

    i thought that Saul Bellow did an amazing job with writing this novel. It was hard to read some of the things Tommy's father would say, because even though that deep down we know some father's say that stuff it does happen. I also loved the ending of this book because it summed up everything in the book. Beyond everything i just mentioned i love love love his choice for the title. It just makes the book amazing. That you should live life to the fullest because in a split second it could be taken from you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    The City Story

    I loved this short but very complex tale. Bellow writes with a zest that no postmodern writer has acheived. He captures city life in his romantic realism that is far beyond Sandburg. This is neither a postmodern novel or modernist novel. In fact, it refutes both ideals. It engages the character of Wilhelm as a Jewish character in the middle of urban America, a place that Bellow feels comfortable. Bellow's ultimate vision is that humanity can only learn through experience and not ideology. Wilhelm constantly finds bad characters and financial mishandlings that put him on the verge of destruction. Also in this myriad is his very troubled relationship with his father. Live in the moment. Carpe diem or 'seize the day,' is the motto of Dr. Tamkin, the malevolent trickster or stranger myth encountered in Judaism. I'd recommend it thoroughly. Shows the appreciation of Judaism, although Bellow's obviously masculine character could not delve to be observant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Awful

    I tried to read this book and couldn't get interested. It was so slow, and seemingly pointless that I could not remember what I was reading. Only read this book if you must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Bellow's classic

    This is arguably Bellow's most profound and moving work. It captures the world of West Side New York , and is filled with remarkable portraits of stunning minor characters. Its hero,Wilky,is a failed salesman, the poor losing- his- last- cent- son of the prosperous Dr. Adler. He is the hippotamus- like failed actor whose contradictory and broken heart fails him in his struggle to make sense of his life.The book is written with a precise Yiddish- English and rare humor.The final scene in which Wilky comes to a funeral cortege and weeps copiously ,but not for the dead person but for himself is tremendously painful and poignant. This is a great book, a book about failure and success , the American dream in one Jewish version of it. I believe anyone who cares for Literature will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    well-written

    I read Seize the Day by Saul Bellow for an AP English book critique and found it mesmerizing. It makes one discover that throughout life's ups and downs, and there's always that silver lining. Because life is a precious thing to behold and to LIVE, live every day to the best of your ability, because you never know when it will be taken from you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    A thought-provoking novel

    Last year I was given an English assignment where we were to choose between several books and write a literary analysis. I chose 'Seize the Day', intrigued by it's title. It sounded like a fairly uncomplicated story about how you should, well, seize the day. Boy, did I underestimate this novel! It has become one of my favorite books- thought provoking, meaningful, mournful and uplifting all at the same time. The story of a man who is desperate to succeed in a harsh, unrelenting business world is unforgettable. I suggest this book to any intelligent person who enjoys exploring the gray areas in life. This book will change you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1