Customer Reviews for

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Second Edition: How to Edit Yourself Into Print

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

WORTH STUDYING

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Second Edition, by Renni Browne and Dave King, is well worth studying. I read the first edition years ago and found it very helpful. Let¿s face it, writing means rewriting, and that means self-editing. When I received my copy of ...
Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Second Edition, by Renni Browne and Dave King, is well worth studying. I read the first edition years ago and found it very helpful. Let¿s face it, writing means rewriting, and that means self-editing. When I received my copy of the second edition, I tossed the old one out and read the new one cover to cover. I marked my new copy with lots of yellow ink and took a bunch of notes for further reference. Chapter titles include: Show and Tell, Characterization and Exposition, Point of View, Proportion, Dialogue Mechanics, See How It Sounds, Interior Monologue, Easy Beats, Breaking It Up Is Easy To Do, Once Is Usually Enough, Sophistication, and Voice. On a five-star scale, I ranked this one four stars. Although I liked most of the material and its presentation, I didn¿t give it five stars because of what¿s missing from the text. There are plenty of other self-editing subjects and issues that could be have been covered, or covered in more detail. Everything considered, this book is worth studying.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money though it Inadvertently promotes a pet peeve of mine

As a new erotic fiction writer I found some very nice pointers in the book and clear examples for most of what they try to convey. My biggest issue is that many authors today are using the techniques shown here and are writing stories that are so short and lean that the...
As a new erotic fiction writer I found some very nice pointers in the book and clear examples for most of what they try to convey. My biggest issue is that many authors today are using the techniques shown here and are writing stories that are so short and lean that they're boring or they move so quickly its like being rushed through a meal. Faster and leaner is not always better.

posted by MsTGarden on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Very Valuable

    I'm still working my way through the exercises here, but I'm finding their method of descriptions interspersed with examples to be very helpful in clarifying my own writing. If you have a desire to hone your own writing, making it more professional, get this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Worth the money though it Inadvertently promotes a pet peeve of mine

    As a new erotic fiction writer I found some very nice pointers in the book and clear examples for most of what they try to convey. My biggest issue is that many authors today are using the techniques shown here and are writing stories that are so short and lean that they're boring or they move so quickly its like being rushed through a meal. Faster and leaner is not always better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Extensive but Simple

    As someone who someday wants to work with fiction either through editing or writing one day, this piece was perfect. It was detailed, easy to read, and educational. Every chapter, paragraph, and sentence was put in one use or another. I give this five stars, and that is unusual for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    A Must Read For Writers

    They did not take any short cuts in helping teach writers how to make the most of their writing. If an idea came to them, they did it. No matter how long it took to do. The checklists, exercises, and endless examples within the chapters made this book stand out by feet from the four other writing books I've read. The comic strips in each chapter were funny too. I agree with other reviewers that this book is not for delicate egos. It is daunting to read about ALL the things that you could do to make your manuscript better. But, don't you want to know? No matter how scary it is? I did. I can't recommend this book highly enough. I had already written a very solid manuscript. But, I needed to know how to polish it. This book was perfect for me. It articulated to me what I had done well and pointed out what I needed to change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    A MUST HAVE!

    If you write you should have this book. It is very helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Just what I needed!

    This was exactly the information that I was looking for in order to edit my book. The advise was clear, with good examples. Thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    As a novice writer, this book is great to really learn the craft of writing.

    The book teaches how to write through editing. It's amazing how much I've learned already. The book is full of examples of various techniques for writing, and clearly demonstrates the difference between good writing and that which is not so good. There are short exercises and tips at the end of each chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    WORTH STUDYING

    Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Second Edition, by Renni Browne and Dave King, is well worth studying. I read the first edition years ago and found it very helpful. Let¿s face it, writing means rewriting, and that means self-editing. When I received my copy of the second edition, I tossed the old one out and read the new one cover to cover. I marked my new copy with lots of yellow ink and took a bunch of notes for further reference. Chapter titles include: Show and Tell, Characterization and Exposition, Point of View, Proportion, Dialogue Mechanics, See How It Sounds, Interior Monologue, Easy Beats, Breaking It Up Is Easy To Do, Once Is Usually Enough, Sophistication, and Voice. On a five-star scale, I ranked this one four stars. Although I liked most of the material and its presentation, I didn¿t give it five stars because of what¿s missing from the text. There are plenty of other self-editing subjects and issues that could be have been covered, or covered in more detail. Everything considered, this book is worth studying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    This book improved my manuscript %100

    Simply said, this book is fantastic. For beginning or experienced writers, it is a great overview of the elements of style. It offers very practical advice on how you can improve your work in a meaningful way. It doesn't just tell you how it should be, it gives you the steps to get there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    The fiction editing 'Bible'

    Any serious writer needs to read this book--and apply the authors' advice. As an editor of fiction at a publishing company, this is my 'Bible.' I wish all my authors were required to read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    If you write fiction, buy this book

    I discovered the first edition of this book only a few months before the 2nd edition was published. I wish I had found it earlier. The three elements I found most helpful: Interior monologue, dependant clauses using ¿ing, and dialogue beats. I¿m writing on a higher level. Thank you Renni Browne and Dave King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    different from other writing books

    This book differs from the many other writing books available in that it focusses on line-level writing and provides a glimpse of how some editors think, what kinds of line-level writing they like and don't like. There is also a good chapter on avoiding repetition and on dialogue. For all other matters, you need to consult other books. If you've already done that and are ready to move beyond an intermediate level, you should get Advanced Writing: Fiction and Film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2