Customer Reviews for

Self-Esteem

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Read Self-Esteem- It's Worth It

Who's the book for? Anyone who wants to improve their self-esteem.

What's the goal of the book? To improve your self-esteem.

How does it do this? By showing you how to disarm your "inner critic", you know, that negative inner voice that attacks and j...
Who's the book for? Anyone who wants to improve their self-esteem.

What's the goal of the book? To improve your self-esteem.

How does it do this? By showing you how to disarm your "inner critic", you know, that negative inner voice that attacks and judges you. Everyone has one, and people with low self-esteem tend to have a more vicious inner critic.

Is it easy to read? Yes, the book is laid out well and written in a very friendly tone. The first three chapters cover the most important and universally applicable information. After finishing them, there is a chart for you to look at. It will direct you to the appropriate chapter(s) that deal with your specific problems. Neat!

You don't have to read the book cover-to-cover unless you just need general info- but that's what's good about it; you can use the book to fit your individual needs. With over 600,000 copies sold, it must have helped a few people! Good luck!

posted by 413167 on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Contains Truth, but......

Content -A+ Mechanics - C- Spelling errors, poor punctuation, poor syntax (no pun intended) make it difficult to read. Much seems as if one person dictated, but no one went back through to edit. I find it easier to take a "positon" paper seriously if it is well...
Content -A+ Mechanics - C- Spelling errors, poor punctuation, poor syntax (no pun intended) make it difficult to read. Much seems as if one person dictated, but no one went back through to edit. I find it easier to take a "positon" paper seriously if it is well-written.

posted by 5270081 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Read Self-Esteem- It's Worth It

    Who's the book for? Anyone who wants to improve their self-esteem. <BR/><BR/>What's the goal of the book? To improve your self-esteem. <BR/><BR/>How does it do this? By showing you how to disarm your "inner critic", you know, that negative inner voice that attacks and judges you. Everyone has one, and people with low self-esteem tend to have a more vicious inner critic. <BR/><BR/>Is it easy to read? Yes, the book is laid out well and written in a very friendly tone. The first three chapters cover the most important and universally applicable information. After finishing them, there is a chart for you to look at. It will direct you to the appropriate chapter(s) that deal with your specific problems. Neat! <BR/><BR/>You don't have to read the book cover-to-cover unless you just need general info- but that's what's good about it; you can use the book to fit your individual needs. With over 600,000 copies sold, it must have helped a few people! Good luck!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    This book changed me! The best book I ever bought!

    I'm only 22 years old and I have been to countless doctors and even a hypnotherpist to help me out with the problems I had been dealing with. I finally went to one last pychologist who recommended a herb I should try. I took the herb and it made me feel so much better but I didn't want to be on pills the rest of my life (because I did that in the past already) So I went to the book store looking on a self help book. The first book I happened to pick up was Self-Esteem (like it was calling me) I saw on the cover that it sold over 550,000 copies so I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did, with in a week I could feel me changing in a more positive way and thinking and feeling better about myself. Midway through I got off the pills and starting using the book alone with the same fantastic results. My advise is that if you want anything in your life: better car,house,friends, boyfriend, girlfriend or even marrage you should work on yourself first thats the only way you would be completely happy is to take care of yourself first. Even if you think you don't have self esteem this book would still change you, along with your thinking process.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    A Wonderful Look at the Inner Workings of Self Doubt

    I have read three books that have had a deep impact on my views of myself, the strength of my marriage, and the ways in which I keep my clinical depression in check. These books are: Love Is Never Enough, How to Fix Your Marriage Without Talking About it, and Self Esteem. Love is Never Enough deals with cognative therapy and how it can help you to understand where emotional situations come from that would ordinarilly be mundane. How to Fix Your Marriage deals with where the sub-conscious thoughts from which these origins of emotion come from. Self Esteme deals with the conscious level critic we all have to some degree and how that little voice in your head can cause you to see things in the exact wrong light. Self Esteme has been a transforming insight into silencing the critic and moving on with my life in a way that does not create drama where none existed. It has had an amazingly positive impact on my marriage and the overall level of joy I feel on a daily basis. Since reading this book and doing the excersizes within, I am a better person that I was. And it shows.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    Amazing ...

    I have struggled with my self-esteem for years. I decided that I couldn't keep ruining relationships and friendships because I needed to fix *me*. I went to the book store and saw 'Self-Esteem'. Out of all the other self-esteem books out there, I had no idea if this was any better or worse than the others. I liked that it has techniques and work areas to actually DO the exercises .. and work through your issues. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs help discovering their own self-worth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An instructive guide on enhancing self-esteem

    Each individual manifests self-esteem, or the lack of it, differently. Generally, people with strong self-esteem had parents who nurtured them constantly during their early childhood, while those with low self-esteem often did not. Can people with low self-esteem build it as adults? Yes, because self-esteem is how you feel about yourself, and your thoughts control your feelings. If you take command of your thoughts, you can take command of your feelings, including your sense of self. In this fine book on self-esteem, Matthew McKay and Patrick Fanning show you how to banish regressive ¿stinking thinking¿ and the nasty inner critic that inevitably tries to flatten your self-esteem. You can use their instructive ¿cognitive techniques¿ to elevate your self-esteem, develop self-assurance and feel better about yourself. getAbstract finds McKay and Fanning¿s book warm and practical. If their self-esteem is high, there¿s a good reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    GREAT book for those of us who struggle with low self-esteem!

    I just checked this out from the library at my college and the introduction alone got me interested. At 19 y.o. (after years of being weighted down by lack of esteem and a sense of self-worth) I'm so excited to read this book, but I'm going to have to purchase it, seeing that it's due back in less than two weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1