Customer Reviews for

Selling Scarlett

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

The cover of Selling Scarlett is provocative and even without re

The cover of Selling Scarlett is provocative and even without reading the synopsis; I still wanted to buy the book. I was intrigued from the get go with a simple picture of a girl. But it’s the different shades of red, her lingerie, the gift tag wrapped around her wrist...
The cover of Selling Scarlett is provocative and even without reading the synopsis; I still wanted to buy the book. I was intrigued from the get go with a simple picture of a girl. But it’s the different shades of red, her lingerie, the gift tag wrapped around her wrist, her posture and the ribbon banner that work together and create a stunning book cover.  After finishing Selling Scarlett I have a whole new love for the cover and Ella James. 
To say that I fell in love with Elizabeth Deville, Suri, Cross and Hunter West is the understatement of the year. They captivated me. Hunter and Cross are my new book boyfriends. Its official and its fictagamy which is the act of dating more than one fictional character at once. Elizabeth Deville was everything I could ever hope for in a female lead. She was not cocky or overconfident; she was well educated, determined and cared about her friends and family with every ounce of who she was. I saw a lot of similarities in our own back stories so that could have made me a little biased but I don’t think so. If my sisters grow up and are anything like Elizabeth, I will be proud. 
*momentarily swoons and gathers composure* I would spill some deets on Cross but there’s not a whole lot I can say without spoiling him for you if you haven’t read Selling Scarlett. Hunter West on the other hand embodies sex appeal, especially when James describes him in his all black poker outfit he wears to every tournament. He’s full of his own layers (like an onion) which you will certainly enjoy peeling away as you read. I was cheering in his court hoping, praying and grinning like an idiot with my fingers crossed begging the book Gods that Hunter was going to successfully face his demons. The complicated friendships and relationships from the past and present make Selling Scarlett magical. 
Selling Scarlett had so many layers to the story and characters that with each chapter you finished you discovered something new and there would be another layer, another key point. With each startling revelation Ella James amps the angst volume up another notch keeping you on the edge of your seat. My best friend mocked me continuously for the smile plastered across my face and how she could tell what I was feeling as I read because I wore my emotions like a scarf. I do not have a poker face. At one point when Ella James had my insides tied up in a million knots I had to pause reading. I wanted to know what in the world was going to happen and at the same time I didn’t… What if I wasn’t prepared for what she had in store for me? 
The plot line and story continuity is flawless, there’s no loose strings, or holes that leave you hanging. Ella James made Selling Scarlett come alive on the pages, I was enthralled with every aspect of this book. The way Ella James chose to write the book through alternating points of view without repeating the same scenes made the book that much more intense. It did so much to add to the depths of the characters and the flow of the story that a singular first person POV or third person just wouldn’t of captured. If Selling Scarlett somehow missed your reading list, you should add it now. Selling Scarlett is an amazing romantic suspense story and it delivers so much more than the short synopsis promises. Ella James took a new approach to romance and the cashing in of ones V-card and did it elegantly and masterfully. I cannot wait for another installment of Love, inc. Consider me hooked. 

posted by HopeWasHere on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Confusing at first.

No intro to the characters and the plot wasn't revealed for the 50 some pages. I almost gave up on this story with all the trash talk until it started to make some sense. I think I'll skip any more of Ella James' book as I'm really not impressed with this author's sty...
No intro to the characters and the plot wasn't revealed for the 50 some pages. I almost gave up on this story with all the trash talk until it started to make some sense. I think I'll skip any more of Ella James' book as I'm really not impressed with this author's style.

posted by 11306917 on January 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    The cover of Selling Scarlett is provocative and even without re

    The cover of Selling Scarlett is provocative and even without reading the synopsis; I still wanted to buy the book. I was intrigued from the get go with a simple picture of a girl. But it’s the different shades of red, her lingerie, the gift tag wrapped around her wrist, her posture and the ribbon banner that work together and create a stunning book cover.  After finishing Selling Scarlett I have a whole new love for the cover and Ella James. 
    To say that I fell in love with Elizabeth Deville, Suri, Cross and Hunter West is the understatement of the year. They captivated me. Hunter and Cross are my new book boyfriends. Its official and its fictagamy which is the act of dating more than one fictional character at once. Elizabeth Deville was everything I could ever hope for in a female lead. She was not cocky or overconfident; she was well educated, determined and cared about her friends and family with every ounce of who she was. I saw a lot of similarities in our own back stories so that could have made me a little biased but I don’t think so. If my sisters grow up and are anything like Elizabeth, I will be proud. 
    *momentarily swoons and gathers composure* I would spill some deets on Cross but there’s not a whole lot I can say without spoiling him for you if you haven’t read Selling Scarlett. Hunter West on the other hand embodies sex appeal, especially when James describes him in his all black poker outfit he wears to every tournament. He’s full of his own layers (like an onion) which you will certainly enjoy peeling away as you read. I was cheering in his court hoping, praying and grinning like an idiot with my fingers crossed begging the book Gods that Hunter was going to successfully face his demons. The complicated friendships and relationships from the past and present make Selling Scarlett magical. 
    Selling Scarlett had so many layers to the story and characters that with each chapter you finished you discovered something new and there would be another layer, another key point. With each startling revelation Ella James amps the angst volume up another notch keeping you on the edge of your seat. My best friend mocked me continuously for the smile plastered across my face and how she could tell what I was feeling as I read because I wore my emotions like a scarf. I do not have a poker face. At one point when Ella James had my insides tied up in a million knots I had to pause reading. I wanted to know what in the world was going to happen and at the same time I didn’t… What if I wasn’t prepared for what she had in store for me? 
    The plot line and story continuity is flawless, there’s no loose strings, or holes that leave you hanging. Ella James made Selling Scarlett come alive on the pages, I was enthralled with every aspect of this book. The way Ella James chose to write the book through alternating points of view without repeating the same scenes made the book that much more intense. It did so much to add to the depths of the characters and the flow of the story that a singular first person POV or third person just wouldn’t of captured. If Selling Scarlett somehow missed your reading list, you should add it now. Selling Scarlett is an amazing romantic suspense story and it delivers so much more than the short synopsis promises. Ella James took a new approach to romance and the cashing in of ones V-card and did it elegantly and masterfully. I cannot wait for another installment of Love, inc. Consider me hooked. 

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Suspensful

    I was surprised by this story. Because of the blurb, i thought it would be pretty shallow. Not so. Elizabeth is a great character. Loving and down to earth. Hunter is a sexy bad boy with a good heart. Both characters have troubled childhood pasts but are strong enough to come to grips with them as they discover that they were made for each other. I also was pulled in by the deep bonds and loyalty among the various characters in this story. Looking forward to reading about cross, suri, and manchester. Though, about manchester, i don't know how i can relate to someone who runs a brothel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    This was an amazing read and I absolutely loved it. Though it wa

    This was an amazing read and I absolutely loved it. Though it was a tad (just a tad) slow in the beginning, I was ensnared all the way through to the very end. There is love, murder, sacrifice, mystery, sex, extortion, sadness, etc etc.  This book has it all.
    Elizabeth (Libby/Lizzy/Scarlett) DeVille is a girl born into privilege but was dealt a crappy hand in life; she has an estranged mother that causes all kinds of problems in her life - couple that with a selfish father who barely acknowledges her because of his new family and hardly any friends, she is a lonely young adult that has found herself with some trust issues. You learn that in her short 23 years, she has only managed to have one single crush - a crush that is definitely worthy of her attentions. 
    Hunter West is a professional poker playing, playboy who finds himself in a very lousy situation, a situation that not only threaten to reveal his dark secrets, but his freedom as well. Through it all, he becomes familiar with his "Libby" on different levels and he tries hard to stop himself, to push her away, to save her; but this little lady is very hard to resist.
    Elizabeth loves her friends dearly and when one of them is in danger of losing their life, she's ready to make a huge sacrifice. You'll have to read to find out!  Can't wait for the next book in the story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Intriguing

    Great read! Loved it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed this book! Great plot and characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Awesome read

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Amazing

    You people got to read this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Editing doesnt matter!!

    Does editing matter if this was the best story ever written? No. Who cares? Shut up grammar police

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Captivating

    I really enjoyed this book. There were some parts that reminded me of Fifty Shades of Gray, her being a virgin and him being rich d having a messed up past. But I enjoyed this muh more! It wasn't raunchy, the sex scenes that they had were for the most part tastefully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    California girl

    Txt me 723-461-99227 i 13

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    Elizabeth DeVille was an heiress¿.that was until her mom was pla

    Elizabeth DeVille was an heiress….that was until her mom was placed in rehab and her father sold his company and remarried, leaving Elizabeth to fend for herself. When an accident almost kills one of her best friends Lizzy she must find a way to come up with money, and a lot of it. Elizabeth will offer the one thing she has left to offer….her virginity.
    Hunter West, poker player, heir to his families Bourbon fortune and frequent patron to his best friends Nevada Brothel, Love Inc, he is tired and worn out from what his life has become. Being blackmailed and tortured because of his past, Hunter must find a way to prove he is innocent for one crime when he feels nothing but guilt because of another.
    Right from the start this book had my heart pounding. Its’ an extremely intense book, and it’s not your typical romance or love story. Hunter and “Libby”, as Hunter calls her, have a few chance encounters through the story, but in the beginning they aren’t in a lot of the chapters together and there isn’t a lot of revealing dialogue between the two of them. The story builds perfectly, along with the suspense and the angst. I was a little put off by Libby’s “crush” on Hunter. She had this crush since she was a teenager and it continued on into her adult life, even though their interactions were so minimal, and yet she had no other relationship in her “real” life. The crush seemed odd to me, but it didn’t stop me from LOVING this book and story. Regardless of Libby’s obsessive like longtime childhood crush, I loved all of the characters. There are so many moments throughout the story that I just needed to see what happened next. The build-up was intense through every page, just waiting to see what was going on with Hunter and waiting for Hunter and Libby’s next run in. When was the information going to be known? What was going to happen when Scarlett auctioned her virginity? When would the whole story come to light? It was an intense, crazy rollercoaster of a read, but the story flowed perfectly. Everything happened at the perfect time; Ella James did an amazing job with this book. She definitely kept me wanting more and I cannot wait for more from the Love, Inc. crew!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Great book

    Loved this book! It started out a little slow but after awhile i couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Exciting

    300 plus pages of budding love, suspense, power and lots of human emotion. It was an exciting and funny good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Just Wow!!! When a book finds its way into my dreams, you kn

    Just Wow!!!




    When a book finds its way into my dreams, you know it is something. Selling Scarlett by Ella James was not what I was expecting. Yes this book was filled with romance, intriguing characters, and steamy scenes, but a really incredible mystery was woven through all of that.




    Elizabeth DeVille is a young girl who once had it all, but due to the craziness that is her family, she feels as if she no longer belongs in the high society she still finds herself in. Supported by her wonderful friend Suri, she finds herself stil longing after the hot, bad boy, gambler, bourbon heir Hunter West.




    Due to her selflessness attempting to help one of her other best friends, Cross, Elizabeth finds herself auctioning off her V-card for big bucks to none other than the man who haunts her dreams.




    Elizabeth makes for your typical, I-don't-think-I'm-anything-special, heroine. But the thing is I really liked her. She was really nice, caring and if anything she knows what she wants and she goes for it. Hunter West is your typical drool worthy hero with some nasty demons and commitment issues. But through his efforts of dealing with crazy criminal type behavior he finds himself caught in the middle of, you can't help but like the guy.




    James did a tremendous job drawing the reader into the story and making you feel connected to the characters. There are dark parts to the story and times I really just downright hated some of the characters in the story, Priscilla.




    I loved this stand alone book which thoroughly entertained me on the way to a HEA. So happy that Cross is getting a book as I can't wait to find out a little more about this other interesting, swoon-worthy in his own right, guy.




    Thanks to NetGalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Good

    Omg awsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Very good! :)

    Definitely would recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    pure romantic

    luv it!! full of drama and romance! its not like other books with the same storyline, it has its own unique story!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Free ipad

    Kiss ur hand then post this on three other books and look under ur pillow

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Great read

    Starts a little slow but hears up and ends great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Great

    It was really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4