Customer Reviews for

Semper Fi (Corps Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the better books from a series of great books.

This first volume of The Corps is my personal favorite, because some of it takes place in China, and because it features the beginnings of many characters (I started with Behind the Lines, after which I was so intrigued I had to backtrack to Semper Fi). I had read Tom ...
This first volume of The Corps is my personal favorite, because some of it takes place in China, and because it features the beginnings of many characters (I started with Behind the Lines, after which I was so intrigued I had to backtrack to Semper Fi). I had read Tom Clancy before, and I see now that Griffin is by far the better writer. His writing is technical, at times, but I don't think he is a techocrat like Clancy seems at times.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Book #5 of this series is not available as a Nook Book

B&N has disappointed me with this series. After reading the first 4 of 10 I discovered that #5 is not available as a Nook book. Customer service says the publisher has not made the digital version available. This is a crock because Amazon has a digital version for th...
B&N has disappointed me with this series. After reading the first 4 of 10 I discovered that #5 is not available as a Nook book. Customer service says the publisher has not made the digital version available. This is a crock because Amazon has a digital version for the Kindle. Now I'm thinking of buying the $99 Kindle and saying adios to B&N.

posted by 4101393 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    One of the better books from a series of great books.

    This first volume of The Corps is my personal favorite, because some of it takes place in China, and because it features the beginnings of many characters (I started with Behind the Lines, after which I was so intrigued I had to backtrack to Semper Fi). I had read Tom Clancy before, and I see now that Griffin is by far the better writer. His writing is technical, at times, but I don't think he is a techocrat like Clancy seems at times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Book #5 of this series is not available as a Nook Book

    B&N has disappointed me with this series. After reading the first 4 of 10 I discovered that #5 is not available as a Nook book. Customer service says the publisher has not made the digital version available. This is a crock because Amazon has a digital version for the Kindle. Now I'm thinking of buying the $99 Kindle and saying adios to B&N.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Entertaining and engaging soap on a grand scale

    This is one of the better books in this series as the author really focuses on a central character, Ken "Killer" McCoy. The characterization of the following books in the series suffers a bit more from fragmentation. This title, like much of Griffins work, is hard to put down. But it's basically a soap opera with a very abrupt ending. Absolutely no attempt is made to end the story. You are left hanging and just have to go get the next in the series. I also found the so-called romantic element pretty shallow. Griffin continuously confuses sex with romance. His characters, almost without exception, fall in 'love' (lust) on first sight (conversation not being necessary), immediately hit the sack (there apparently being a worldwide shortage of reluctant virgins in the early 40s) and go on to love happily ever after from that moment. But this fantasy allows the author to get more sex per page, I suppose. This aside, this book (and the entire series) is a real treat if you are interested in WWII or things military.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Awesome read

    You really get to know the characters especially mcoy. You can really feel for them... great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    yes

    Lets do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Dismay

    What the fu<_>ck is a sex night? Do l want to know? Is it much like the unspoken night Darkness, Striking and l had last summer?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Dt

    Thats why you ask to mate with a she cat. I say yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Silv

    Im VERYYYYYY bored. So, yeah. Vote here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Vote at res 3

    For se<_>xiest BloodClan she.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Vote

    Yes.ABSOLUTELY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    My vote

    Nay. Me no have anyone to mate with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    I Vote

    Yes. (Only at a undisclosed location.) - ERQueen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Uhhhhjj

    Stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    I think the whole series is GREAT.

    I think the whole series is GREAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Lasks detail

    While there is no lack of knowledge concerning the military, there is however a huge lack of detail as far as story writing goes. A good plot, but you have to try to imagine every detail on your own. How can only a few pages be dedicated to the attack on Pearl Harbor? It was almost like reading about it in an 8th grade history textbook. I feel as though the author didnt try to be very creative with this book. I wont be buying any more books from this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Icefang

    Please make a prophocy where Bloodclan Oceanclan and Treeclan have to join forces against the rising Deathlightclan. I thought pf one of you want tp here it.

    In the dark of day, Blood and Ocean will have to mix together, and the Trees will join with the red water. They will learn to work as one quickly, for the Light of Death is growing.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Great book!

    I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Real military history woven into a great story

    I'm an ex-marine so I like anything about the corps and WEB Griffin is a great writer; I've read all his Corps series.

    ME55

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    Can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    It was OK

    It was all right not as good as Brotherhoof of war

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5