Customer Reviews for

The Senator's Wife

Average Rating 3
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Senator's Wife

I found this book a quick enjoyable read and think it would be great for a book club. It brings up lots of things to discuss, such as adultery, marriage, women's lib, politics and friendship. I felt it was a story about how much a woman (Delia) truly loved her husband a...
I found this book a quick enjoyable read and think it would be great for a book club. It brings up lots of things to discuss, such as adultery, marriage, women's lib, politics and friendship. I felt it was a story about how much a woman (Delia) truly loved her husband and what she was willing to do to spend the rest of her life with him. At times I was very annoyed at Delia and felt she wasn't really living her life, just kind of waiting for Tom to come to her. As for Meri and Nathan, I do not think their relationship was explored enough. I found myself wondering if he'd had an affair, which was certainly eluded to at one point. And why was Nathan so interested in Tom? I do not think that question was really answered. **SPOILER** The ending of the book really made me dislike Meri. Why didn't she try to make amends with Delia? She just destroyed the lives of these two people and went off to live a wonderful life with her husband and three boys. Thank you Sue Miller for a book that really makes you think about life issues long after you finish reading.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

After Ms. Miller wrote so softly about the 2 very different women, the ending came as a slap in the face. It seemed very,very crude, compared to the rest of the story. I was very mad at the author for handling it this way. I will not recommend this book to anyone. I hes...
After Ms. Miller wrote so softly about the 2 very different women, the ending came as a slap in the face. It seemed very,very crude, compared to the rest of the story. I was very mad at the author for handling it this way. I will not recommend this book to anyone. I hestitate to buy another of her books.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Senator's Wife

    I found this book a quick enjoyable read and think it would be great for a book club. It brings up lots of things to discuss, such as adultery, marriage, women's lib, politics and friendship. I felt it was a story about how much a woman (Delia) truly loved her husband and what she was willing to do to spend the rest of her life with him. At times I was very annoyed at Delia and felt she wasn't really living her life, just kind of waiting for Tom to come to her. As for Meri and Nathan, I do not think their relationship was explored enough. I found myself wondering if he'd had an affair, which was certainly eluded to at one point. And why was Nathan so interested in Tom? I do not think that question was really answered. **SPOILER** The ending of the book really made me dislike Meri. Why didn't she try to make amends with Delia? She just destroyed the lives of these two people and went off to live a wonderful life with her husband and three boys. Thank you Sue Miller for a book that really makes you think about life issues long after you finish reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Very disappointing

    After Ms. Miller wrote so softly about the 2 very different women, the ending came as a slap in the face. It seemed very,very crude, compared to the rest of the story. I was very mad at the author for handling it this way. I will not recommend this book to anyone. I hestitate to buy another of her books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    Yuk!

    I've read several other Sue Miller books and have really enjoyed them, but The Senator's Wife was absolutely awful. While Miller's writing style is to be appreciated, the plot started nowhere and went no place worth going. I'm not sure why I kept reading except for thinking that it would at some point get better....it didn't. Don't waste your time reading this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Not My Favorite

    We read this for book club and most of us thought it was so-so, but oddly enough, we had one of our best ever book discussions. Go figure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    A Whole Lot of Nothing...Yet Still Interesting

    I flew through this book, and I kept wondering when something was going to happen. And then...at the very end...yikes! Sick! How does that even happen? The Senator's Wife character is pathetic. It is painful to watch women suffer like she does, although I know it happens very often. News flash ladies: a leopard does not change is spots. Men like that NEVER change, and it is always about their damage. It is not your fault. As for the young girl...I doubt things really wrapped up so neatly in a box with a bow for her. That part of the book was too rushed. It would have been better to leave it more open ended. This is what I will say about the book: It kept me thinking. It was VERY well written, and extremely detail-oriented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    slow moving

    I have read all Sue Miller's book but I felt like I was plodding along.I loved the characters and how she brought them to life but I kept anticipating more movement in the story and when it got to the end I found it very anticlimatic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Totally enjoyed~

    A very good story about love and marriage from 2 different generations. I thoroughly enjoyed this book full of twists and suspense. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    This book explores the complexities of human relationships, the meaning of love and what a person will endure to secure it.

    An interesting delve into the complex emotion called love. Many more modern women would find the Senator's Wife a difficult character to relate to as she would likely signify everything that was wrong with our more traditional times. Modern women may seek to relate to the young, recently married, career-minded neighbor. After all, these women seem as different as night and day. They seem like they would have little in common. But as you get to know these women, you find that they are very similar in their core. They are both looking for love and acceptance in the form of relationships. The ups and downs that they go through in this search is something that all women should be able to relate to, whether or not they agree with the actions that they take. Love is never simple.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Senator's Wife

    I was really disappointed by this book. After what many readers and reviews said about the book, I was expecting something wonderful, but instead, I found the book to be quite a bore. I'll admit it was interesting, but the book had so many quiet spots, and I felt as if it were moving too slow. It seemed as if the book was never going to end. The way Sue Miller writes is in an interesting way, but it didn't have the ability to completely captivate my attention. Throughout the entire book, I felt like a bystander - like a ghost stands by and watches everything. Never did I feel involved with any of the characters' emotions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The personalities of the characters are what carry this story of neighbors becoming friends.

    The reader can understand how neighbors become involved in each others lives and we are sometimes shocked at how each character behaves. I had empathy for each person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Ok book, but wouldnt run out to buy a copy

    It may just be this is not my style of book, but it was hard to get into at first. I struggled with understanding the story, or where it was headed for the first half. Once I got past literally the first half of the book, I enjoyed it more. She could have done more with character development in the beginning. I struggled connecting with the characters.

    Maybe if Sue went into the past lives of the senator and his wife first, there would have been a deeper connection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    This is not an "action-packed" story, but it still car

    This is not an "action-packed" story, but it still carries the reader along. However--SPOILER ALERT-- I was completely put off by the last two sentences in this novel. I did not understand it. To me Meri's and Tom did what they did out of a combined neediness and selfishness. This novel, to me, underlined the fine line between neediness and selfishness. Delia was needy, but not selfish. Tom and Meri were needy and selfish both, leading them to recklessness. 
    I was left feeling so badly for Delia, but angry at Meri for seeming over the years to -- while knowing what she did was wrong -- still identify with Tom and make him out to be a protagonist, thereby excusing what he and she did. The daughter Nancy was painted as bitter and vindictive and perhaps she was, but in the end I couldn't help but feel had she listened to her daughter, Delia could have saved herself a lot of heartache. Sad story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first heard about The Senator¿s Wife by Sue Miller, I was

    When I first heard about The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller, I was so excited. As a news and politics junkie, I was delighted at the prospect of reading a political book written from the other side, especially one that focused on the family of a politician rather than the politician himself. It is my own fault for not doing enough research about this book before adding to my 2013 TBR Challenge list because, as it turns out, it isn’t about a senator at all. Sure,there is a man who was at one point in time a senator, but he’s just a placeholder for a husband who could have just as easily been an accountant or a professor.




    Needless to say, I was disappointed when I realized that this would not be a book about what it is like to be married to a senator. Luckily, I learned this early on and was able to readjust my expectations accordingly. Unfortunately, even after having done so, I was not thrilled about the book. I know it has amazing reviews, but I felt like all of the characters were hedging their bets and none were all-in on anything. The tiptoeing around and across the issues, rather than jumping into them, led to a shallow read that missed out on a lot of opportunities to go more into depth.




    None of this is to say it isn’t a good book, but it isn’t the book for me. Perhaps my initial expectations tainted my reading experience from the beginning, or maybe this just isn’t a genre that I’m as interested in as I used to. So I won’t recommend that you read (or not read) it because you might love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Easy read, some unnecessary and uncomfortable content

    Honestly, I liked this book until the elderly senile Senator breast fed on the young mother- main character... that's uncomfortable and really ridiculous. I didn't realize Sue Miller reads like the silly romance novels- I thought she was more serious than that. I would not recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    Don't read this if you don't want to know what happens!

    I was really disappointed in this book. I hate to read about really self-absorbed, immoral people who eventually get what they want out of life. I like to see them knocked down and suffering so there could be something learned. I think Ms. Miller has a real loser on her hands this time yet I couldn't stop reading it. Go figure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Senator's Wife

    This book isn't about the "Senator's Wife" but is really focused on her neighbor, Meri, a self-absorbed young woman. She's also sneaky, immoral, and disloyal. I found the book's plot disjointed with it's flashbacks and flash forwards. The story is supposed to be about the fictional Delia--a wronged woman married to a cheating husband. Yet, most of the story focuses upon Meri.
    At the same time, the author mentions Meri comes from a background with a disinterested, abusive mother. But, the author barely references her background as a reason for her own poor job of mothering her newborn infant.
    And, the ending is just ridiculous and offensive. I didn't like the fact that Meri reduced breastfeeding an infant to a sexual encounter with a broken-down old man.
    Some in our book club really liked the book. I did not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Disappoinment at its best

    Sex sells anything should be the theme for the purpose of publishing this book. The character Meri is infantile in managing her feelings and the way the characters relate to each other is almost unbelievable. The ending put me over the edge in just plain creepiness. It just made me wonder about the authors lifestyle and what she considers to be things that are done out of love as the book hints in the end. This is the first of Sue Miller I have read and if this is any indication I would pass the next time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    A little slow read

    It gives good insight into the life and marriage of a politician. I'm sure there are a lot of couples that pretend to be together just for political aspirations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing ending

    I didn't like the characters in this book. The young wife, Meri, was selfish and shallow. Her snooping through her neighbors house, viewing her erotic art and reading her personal mail was just uncomfortable, and the elderly husband was just a creep. In the end the final betrayal was gross. I felt like a voyeur into the characters personal lives--and not in a good way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    An interesting read, not too involved. Just right.

    The characters were very believable as was the setting, and the plot moved quickly enough. I'd recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5