BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Senator's Wife

Average Rating 3
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Senator's Wife

I found this book a quick enjoyable read and think it would be great for a book club. It brings up lots of things to discuss, such as adultery, marriage, women's lib, politics and friendship. I felt it was a story about how much a woman (Delia) truly loved her husband a...
I found this book a quick enjoyable read and think it would be great for a book club. It brings up lots of things to discuss, such as adultery, marriage, women's lib, politics and friendship. I felt it was a story about how much a woman (Delia) truly loved her husband and what she was willing to do to spend the rest of her life with him. At times I was very annoyed at Delia and felt she wasn't really living her life, just kind of waiting for Tom to come to her. As for Meri and Nathan, I do not think their relationship was explored enough. I found myself wondering if he'd had an affair, which was certainly eluded to at one point. And why was Nathan so interested in Tom? I do not think that question was really answered. **SPOILER** The ending of the book really made me dislike Meri. Why didn't she try to make amends with Delia? She just destroyed the lives of these two people and went off to live a wonderful life with her husband and three boys. Thank you Sue Miller for a book that really makes you think about life issues long after you finish reading.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

After Ms. Miller wrote so softly about the 2 very different women, the ending came as a slap in the face. It seemed very,very crude, compared to the rest of the story. I was very mad at the author for handling it this way. I will not recommend this book to anyone. I hes...
After Ms. Miller wrote so softly about the 2 very different women, the ending came as a slap in the face. It seemed very,very crude, compared to the rest of the story. I was very mad at the author for handling it this way. I will not recommend this book to anyone. I hestitate to buy another of her books.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Not My Favorite

    We read this for book club and most of us thought it was so-so, but oddly enough, we had one of our best ever book discussions. Go figure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    A Whole Lot of Nothing...Yet Still Interesting

    I flew through this book, and I kept wondering when something was going to happen. And then...at the very end...yikes! Sick! How does that even happen? The Senator's Wife character is pathetic. It is painful to watch women suffer like she does, although I know it happens very often. News flash ladies: a leopard does not change is spots. Men like that NEVER change, and it is always about their damage. It is not your fault. As for the young girl...I doubt things really wrapped up so neatly in a box with a bow for her. That part of the book was too rushed. It would have been better to leave it more open ended. This is what I will say about the book: It kept me thinking. It was VERY well written, and extremely detail-oriented.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    slow moving

    I have read all Sue Miller's book but I felt like I was plodding along.I loved the characters and how she brought them to life but I kept anticipating more movement in the story and when it got to the end I found it very anticlimatic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Senator's Wife

    I was really disappointed by this book. After what many readers and reviews said about the book, I was expecting something wonderful, but instead, I found the book to be quite a bore. I'll admit it was interesting, but the book had so many quiet spots, and I felt as if it were moving too slow. It seemed as if the book was never going to end. The way Sue Miller writes is in an interesting way, but it didn't have the ability to completely captivate my attention. Throughout the entire book, I felt like a bystander - like a ghost stands by and watches everything. Never did I feel involved with any of the characters' emotions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The personalities of the characters are what carry this story of neighbors becoming friends.

    The reader can understand how neighbors become involved in each others lives and we are sometimes shocked at how each character behaves. I had empathy for each person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Ok book, but wouldnt run out to buy a copy

    It may just be this is not my style of book, but it was hard to get into at first. I struggled with understanding the story, or where it was headed for the first half. Once I got past literally the first half of the book, I enjoyed it more. She could have done more with character development in the beginning. I struggled connecting with the characters.

    Maybe if Sue went into the past lives of the senator and his wife first, there would have been a deeper connection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    This is not an "action-packed" story, but it still car

    This is not an "action-packed" story, but it still carries the reader along. However--SPOILER ALERT-- I was completely put off by the last two sentences in this novel. I did not understand it. To me Meri's and Tom did what they did out of a combined neediness and selfishness. This novel, to me, underlined the fine line between neediness and selfishness. Delia was needy, but not selfish. Tom and Meri were needy and selfish both, leading them to recklessness. 
    I was left feeling so badly for Delia, but angry at Meri for seeming over the years to -- while knowing what she did was wrong -- still identify with Tom and make him out to be a protagonist, thereby excusing what he and she did. The daughter Nancy was painted as bitter and vindictive and perhaps she was, but in the end I couldn't help but feel had she listened to her daughter, Delia could have saved herself a lot of heartache. Sad story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Very Boring

    This book was very hard to get through. It was just boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK

    Senator's Wife catches your attention at the beginning. Unfortunately halfway through the book, I found myself feeling less sympathetic towards Meri and disappointed with her at the end. As with Delia, I questioned if one person could remain that much in love with someone with all his faults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Great beginning and middle- disappointing ending

    I sped through this book because I love books that parallel lives of women. It was a very intriging story, a little unbelieveable at times, but unfortunately the way the private lives of political figues seem to be. It was a fast read, but did not have the ending I would have wanted or predicted. I was disappointed in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Pretty Good

    Liked: I enjoyed the character development in this book. I enjoyed the separate stories of the two women. I felt like I knew the women immediately. Disliked: Some of the dialogue seemed unnatural. The ending was OK, but I didn't really gain any insight into the main character. It just seemed to trail off by tying up some loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    Not one of her best

    Kind of foreseeable, yet unsatisfactory ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Difficult to Relate

    While I did finish the book, I found that I could put it down, unlike other Sue Miller offerings. This one made me a little uncomfortable. The women were not women I would care to know. Though Sue Miller's description of a betrayed wife was so poignant as to be the measure by which all infidelity could be described. If for only that description, it should be recommended. Yet, for someone so able to understand the human condition, I found that conversations between any two people in this book to be false and rather unwieldy. It drove me to the dictionary on two occasions! The book was an odd contradiction in many ways....as an avid Sue Miller fan, it was, unfortunately, a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Not believable

    I did not believe the characters. Much of the book was repetitive (cheating husband). I read it fast hoping it would get better, but it didn't. At least is was not a long book. Only buy it if you want something to pass the time and it is in the bargain section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2