Customer Reviews for

Send

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

.....Where to start? First of all, I need about a hundred more stars to rate this book as high as it should be rated! Next, this book was just amazing. One of the best I've read; and I read a lot!
Despite what Dan (Ken) had done, you can't help but love him. He r...
.....Where to start? First of all, I need about a hundred more stars to rate this book as high as it should be rated! Next, this book was just amazing. One of the best I've read; and I read a lot!
Despite what Dan (Ken) had done, you can't help but love him. He really is a good person, he just can't believe it. His heavy guilt weighs on him so heavily and blinds him to the fact that he's a good guy. It was sad to see him suffer internally through this story. Some parts actually made my heart ache.
The constant pain he lives with is awful, but this book is so wonderfully written, you almost feel it. You feel his suffering.
This book actually made me tear up (not easy to do!) but, it made me laugh too.
I'll probably read it again quite a few more times. The author is fantadtic and this book was amazing!!! Please, please read it. You won't be sorry.

posted by Anonymous on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Raw, emotional, realistic read.

This book deals with some important topics and has left me emotionally drained but it's well worth the read. Dan's experience is a heartbreaking one for everyone involved and while I'm all for crime and punishment, the punishment is null and void when it doesn't fit the...
This book deals with some important topics and has left me emotionally drained but it's well worth the read. Dan's experience is a heartbreaking one for everyone involved and while I'm all for crime and punishment, the punishment is null and void when it doesn't fit the crime.

This is one of those stories that shows what can happen when we make stupid mistakes but it's also one of forgiveness, mercy and redemption.

I have to say that I wasn't happy with the way this ended. After being drug through an emotional pit of hades and back, I felt like Dan (and the reader) deserved more closure.

posted by Cupcakegirly on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    .....Where to start? First of all, I need about a hundred more stars to rate this book as high as it should be rated! Next, this book was just amazing. One of the best I've read; and I read a lot!
    Despite what Dan (Ken) had done, you can't help but love him. He really is a good person, he just can't believe it. His heavy guilt weighs on him so heavily and blinds him to the fact that he's a good guy. It was sad to see him suffer internally through this story. Some parts actually made my heart ache.
    The constant pain he lives with is awful, but this book is so wonderfully written, you almost feel it. You feel his suffering.
    This book actually made me tear up (not easy to do!) but, it made me laugh too.
    I'll probably read it again quite a few more times. The author is fantadtic and this book was amazing!!! Please, please read it. You won't be sorry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've read SEND a couple of times now, and what sticks out to me

    I've read SEND a couple of times now, and what sticks out to me most is the book's heart.

    Yes, it's well written, with a conflicted but determined main character in Dan, an equally mysterious love interest in Julie, and conflict coming out the wazoo, but a lot of books have those things.

    SEND is the story of a boy who, due to a horrible mistake in judgment as a 13yo, spent time in juvy. He came out the other end scarred and repentant, but unsure if he deserves forgiveness from anyone, including himself. As a self-inflicted punishment, he decides it's his duty to stay away from anything that could make him happy-friends, girlfriends, etc-and most of all, to not get involved. His plan falls apart on the first day at a new school, when he has to intervene in order to stop another kid from being beaten up in the parking lot. From there, we follow Dan as he struggles to reconnect with a world that cast him out, and learns that even though forgiveness might be possible, it won't be easy.

    I ached alongside Dan as he tried again and again to convince himself that, despite the mistakes of his past, he still has worth. I hurt for Julie's confusion, and the bullied kid's trials. I wanted Dan to just wise up, but then I remembered he's a kid, and one whose been through a heck of a lot for being still in high school. Patty Blount does a great job navigating the treacherous pacing waters and keeping the book both honest and intriguing, ensuring that I kept turning pages so that when Dan finally reached a breaking point, that moment that would change him, I would be there breathless alongside him. I would recommend this book to anyone who has teenagers, or has ever been a teenager, or anyone who has ever felt that forgiveness is something that can never be theirs. The heart at the bottom of the angst and conflict is what kept me thinking about Dan and his family long after I turned the last page, and I'd be willing to bet they'll find a way to wriggle into your heart as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    This is one unforgettable book. SEND covers it all - bullying, r

    This is one unforgettable book. SEND covers it all - bullying, relationships between parents, friends and more than just friends, suicide and more. It was an emotional roller coaster...

    Patty Blount definitely did her research - she knew exactly how to bring the situation and all of the characters to life. I was a bit hesitant to accept this book for review. Just from the summary, I felt that I had no business reading a book from a bully's point-of-view. I was determined to read it and not like it, and not like Dan.

    I was so wrong.

    Once I found out how old Kenny was when he clicked "send", what his sentence was, what happened to him in juvie, what happened when he got out of juvie and so on, my heart really ached for the boy. Yes, he was a bully. But he was the type of bully where a lot of people, including his parents, probably saw him as just 'having a little fun with the boys'. Being a boy at 12/13 nowadays is really tough. Some boys stay boys while others hit puberty and are already shaving. And until that growth spurt, a lot of parents still see their pre-teen boys as their little babies and treat them as their typical little boys that should be wearing 'under-roos' and playing sports, rather than listen to them and find out what it is that they are really interested in.
    This book also hit pretty close to home. The setting takes place on Long Island, where I live, and this was the first time that I was reading something that is 5 minutes from where I live. I have driven down these roads and towns on a weekly basis. I have passed by these schools and stores. It was really eerie to read and I had to remind myself, over and over again, that this was not a true story.

    SEND has opened my eyes even further when it comes to bullying. It is a reminder on how we should be listening to our kids. They are our children - we live with them, take care of them - it baffles my mind on how some parents really don't see when their child is suffering, depressed or being bullied. I know that some kids hide their feelings. But there are so many clues to pick up on. This was truly an eye-opener for me, even though my boys are still very young, all of this can happen at any age. I get all teary eye and my heart aches just thinking about what all the characters, Kenny, Dan, Brandon, Julie and Liam, went through. No child, or family, should have to go through so much heartache.

    I highly recommend this book, for parents, teachers, schools and children who are 8 years old and up. Yes, the book is geared for 12 and up, and there is some swearing and it gets a bit graphic. But I am quite sure that the 8 to 12 crowd are smarter than we give them credit for. And in this day and age, with computers and so on, it is never too safe to start teaching our kids from what's right and wrong.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dan is someone that we can all relate to. At one point or anothe

    Dan is someone that we can all relate to. At one point or another, we do something that we end up regretting, though that something doesn't land us all in juvie. Since learning that the boy that he cyber-bullied killed himself, Dan has been regretting his actions and trying to atone for them. All he wants to do is fade into anonymity now that he has a new name to hide behind; however, he can't stand by and do nothing when he sees someone being bullied after what he's done. And his actions

    I feel that there were aspects of the novel that could have been better developed. Dan's speech class seems to play an important role in his life. It is where he makes his first friends, and his group's speech topic plays a role getting Dan and Julie to interact with each other. However, the scenes with Julie are the ones that get the most attention. While I appreciated watching the two struggle to understand their relationship, I also wanted to see Dan interact more with other people. It is stated that he makes two friends in the class, but I never got to know them as people. Two other characters that I wish received more attention are Jeff and Brandon. Dan firmly believes Jeff to be the bully and Brandon to be the victim that needs saving, but their situation is so much more complicated than that. There's a reason why everyone sides with Jeff against Brandon, and I'm still not fully convinced that it's only because of what Brandon said.

    What impressed me the most is the complexity and realness of Dan's character. While I don't find the actions of the thirteen-year-old him amusing, I can empathize with the eighteen-year-old Dan who struggles to forgive himself. I especially appreciate the presence of thirteen-year-old Kenny (his old nickname) that haunts him, seemingly a demon who exists taunt Dan about his wickedness to the end of his days. In reality, Kenny is just as complicated as Dan and gives insight into Dan's character. In fact, Kenny ended up being my favorite character with Dan himself coming in a close second.

    I love how the story comes in full circle. Dan got himself in this mess from clicking send, and he moves on by clicking send. Typically, we see the stories of the victims. Rarely does the bully--or former bully--receive much attention in YA lit. While I never could have imagined myself relating to someone with Dan's history, here I was eager to tell Dan that he can't keep on blaming himself, that he has to let himself be happy. Send is a book that I recommend to tweens, older teens, and adults alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    This is an amazing book

    Send really pulled at my heart, I've read a lot of books and very few have done that like this one has. It has made me think a lot about what I would do in some of the situations Dan is put in. I think Patty Blount has set her bar really high for books to come. Can't wait!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    'Send' is a thought-provoking young adult contemporary novel tha

    'Send' is a thought-provoking young adult contemporary novel that centers around bullying and the effects it has on all those involved. Interestingly, this novel is set from the point of view of the bully, not the victim. It follows Dan, whose bullying five years ago cost a young boy his life, as well as ruined his own. Dan and his family have been moving from town to town for years, trying to escape his past and start fresh. Dan finally feels like things are looking up when he meets Julie and makes his first friends. But there is more than meets the eye to Julie - almost like she's hiding something. And Dan's new friend Brandon is being bullied to the point where someone's going to be seriously hurt.

    I found this novel to be a very interesting read, as it goes into the depths of bullying and what harm it causes. It takes into account the way bullying has adapted to the world of technology - where bullying is capable not only in person but online as well. As I mentioned earlier, the story is told from Dan's (the bully) point of view, which is definitely original. I thought it was an honest look inside the heart of someone full of regret, shame, and despair as well as seeing how his actions constantly effect him and those around him. The other characters in the book all fit into the scheme of bullying somehow as well, which shows the immense scope that bullying plays in real life. The author deals with some very serious problems and topics in this novel, and does so in a way that truly makes the reader think. This is a great novel for readers of all ages and one that will leave you thinking long after you finish reading it.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is SO relevant!

    SEND takes us to that place where we realize that our intentions cannot always save us from our reality. This is a hard lesson to learn for anyone, particularly for a teenager. My heart simultaneously breaks and soars for the characters in this book. I know that if my future was defined by who I was at the age of thirteen I would absolutely come up lacking. I'm sure I'm not alone. In TOUCHING THE SURFACE I raise the idea that life altering mistakes are meant to later lives. SEND makes me also wonder if sometimes mistakes alter lives--even when we don't mean them to.

    Blount also explores, as a society, whether we can be intolerant of bullies without becoming the very thing we revile. It can be a fine line. Reading this novel, I was reminded over and over again that while bullying is a problematic issue, so is our tendency to create a one-size-fits-all rule for anything that scares us. While this mentality provides broad bands of protection for most--it also lets many of us fall through the cracks. I'm afraid that we have stopped looking at people as individuals and this creates it's own kind of problems.

    As you can see, Blount wrote a book that has left me pondering much more than just the incredibly wonderful story between the covers of SEND. I HIGHLY recommend it and I'm looking forward to whatever she writes next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    luuuuuvvv it

    amazin book guess im just a sucker 4 happy ends

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raw, emotional, realistic read.

    This book deals with some important topics and has left me emotionally drained but it's well worth the read. Dan's experience is a heartbreaking one for everyone involved and while I'm all for crime and punishment, the punishment is null and void when it doesn't fit the crime.

    This is one of those stories that shows what can happen when we make stupid mistakes but it's also one of forgiveness, mercy and redemption.

    I have to say that I wasn't happy with the way this ended. After being drug through an emotional pit of hades and back, I felt like Dan (and the reader) deserved more closure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    KeeleyCHMS14  One unforgettable book that covers it all. Send is

    KeeleyCHMS14 
    One unforgettable book that covers it all.
    Send is one unforgettable book. It tells it all. I never thought I was going to like a book from a bully’s point of view. But I was wrong. I liked hearing how Dan recovers after he does something that he will have to live with for the rest of his life, something that he will never forget. Send covers everything. It tells how to deal with deaths, girls, and teenage life and how to make it through high school. It tells how to deal with your life as a teenager when they do something that will follow them forever and make them be forced to move. Send ends with some very important topics. We find out why Dan did what he did and what exactly he did. Dan ends up losing someone that means a real lot to him. As a reader, you find out how to death with problems like that and how to handle them. The story shows how important your parents really are and that you should make sure they stay a part of your life forever. Send shows me what some bullies may be going through. I have respect for some bullies no one knows what they could be going through to make them do what they are doing.  After reading this, Dan and the reader deserve more closure. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Amazing

    I could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Great book

    Normally books like this are in the victim's point of view but in send we follow the former bully who struggles to live with himself and what himself and what he had done.Dan was a character you have to like from the start ,even though in some parts you just want to strangle him.Oh and who could forget the "the curse" as Dan likes to call Kenny.The anticks of his 13 year old half can make anyone laugh and after awhile he grows on you.everyone has to love this pair.this book could warn bullies away from the wrong path or just be a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    WOW!

    This book is so good. It's relatable and it has a really good lesson hidden inside it. It is full of mystery and you keep telling yourself, "only one more page, then ill stop, but you never do."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    OMG PPL

    TALK ABOUT PROBLEMS IN YOUR LIFE NOT THE F U C K I N G BOOK BECAUSE IM THY ADVICE HELPER PUT MY NAME FOR THE TITTLE AND I WILL GET BACK TO U PORANTO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1