Customer Reviews for

Send Me Down a Miracle

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    recommended!

    Send me down a miracle was a wonderful book, I liked it because of the messaged that I got out of it... If you believe in God or not this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a definite enjoyment.

    This book has been permanently added to my collection. I read this book when I was about 12 for the first time, and then again. I am now 20, and just finished reading it a second time. That shows that Han Nolan created such an unforgettable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    Okay...

    This book was a very plain read. I thought that overall it was okay but if you want more action and interesting parts I would not recommend this book to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    How long i read it, and how good.

    the book is awesome,,, you should read it. i read it twice and i still want to read it again it is awsomee. 3 its Outsanding Rate 5 !! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Ok , could be better

    this book confused me at first but once i got it it was prettty good. Some parts make me want to cry and others make me want to fall alsleep. it depends on your tastes in books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    How it was on me

    This was a good story about a and her religious problems and tests her abilities of wrong or right I would recommend it to young s with some time to waste or a student in middle school that needs a good book to do a report on. Because that's what Im doing right now. Thank You

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    book lover

    i loved tish book it is so good. i could not put it down the book is about 300 and something pages but it only took me 2 or 3 days to read that how good the book is. belive me you will not put this book down i highly reccomand it to every one out there if u also have like sad and happy moments u will love this book there are good parts and sad parts but for the most part it is highly reccomanhd by me!!!!! love the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Awesome! Inspiring!

    This was a great book. I highly recommend it. this book is about a fourteen year old girl named Charity Pittman. Charity's father is the preacher of the small town that they live in, Casper. One day an artist from NY, Adrienne, comes to Casper to conduct an experiment. she locks herself in her family home for a month, and when she comes out she claims that she has seen Jesus sitting in a chair in her living room. Everyone goes crazy over the chair. The characters in this book are eccentric, but not over-the-top weird. Living in a small town myself, i understand what it's like for everyone to know your business, and how small town citizens can be. anyway. Rev. Pittman is jealous because everyone wants to hear about the chair when they come to church. Charity used to idolize her father, but when she sees how fallible he is, she tries to get Adrienne to take her to New York with her. 'Mad Joe is over there begging for his daughter's lives and daddy's just standing there quoting scripture!' Charity says. One of the other characters in this book that i admired was Charity's friend Sharalee. All in all, this was an awesome book, but it does have some disturbing content such as mention of The Apocalypse, or Second Coming. But aside from that, I highly recommend 'Send me Down A miracle' by Han Nolan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Nolan's Best Book

    I am intrigued in the direction Han Nolan took with this story. Contradicting the opinions of many of my peers, I think she put just the right amount of religion in Send me Down a Miracle, so it is still appropriate whether you believe in God or not. I have to say I only recommend mature readers (no matter the age) read it because it is a little difficult and what it leaves to interpretation is a little disturbing. Send me Down a Miracle also directs its theme(s) around - to some people - uncomfortable or controversial topics, like the Apocalypse (Second Coming). That is, however, why I like the story so much. It's heartwarming, hilarious, and, yes, horrifying, and definitely the best book I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Wow! She Did it Again!

    Han Nolan entraps her readers in the inspirational and controversial novel Send Me Down a Miracle. I have been reading Han Nolan¿s work for many years, and this by far is her best novel. Her poetic writing combined with her dogmatic characters makes this book one you just can¿t put down. Charity, the daughter of a preacher is thirteen and growing up in a small town Casper, Alabama. Charity¿s father, a devout Christian and the preacher of the town, shows his close-minded opinions early in the book. Her mother, a creative birdhouse maker, leaves for a long, three-week birdhouse show. Life in Casper was small and dull. When Adriene Dabney enters the town, all the residents¿ lives change. Adriene, with her big city ways, crazy clothes and disregard for what people think of her, intrigues Charity. Nothing could prepare Charity for what is next to come. Adriene has come to Casper to meditate. She is an artist and has lost her inspiration. The whole town questions her sanity when she decides to go into a decrepit house for three weeks to fast. Charity, with help from everyone except her pessimistic father, arranges a barbeque for Adriene. When she does come out she rises to makes an announcement to the entire town. In her time of fasting and meditation, Jesus Christ appeared to her. He had appeared to her many more times and sat in the only chair in the room. In a desperate attempt to rationalize with Adriene, Charity¿s father jumps up and tries to calm the bewildered crowd. The next few days were a haze. People went crazy over the chair. They acted as if the chair was God. Suddenly miraculous events started occurring, all small miracles were credited to ¿the chair.¿ The idolization of this chair drives Charity¿s father mad. During church people don¿t want to hear a sermon, they wanted to talk about the chair. Being against Adriene from the start didn¿t help, so he claims to the whole town it was witchcraft. Distraught and torn between her father's word, and her admiration of Adriene, Charity feels lost. The story turns when Charity overhears her father arguing with her mother on the phone. She finds out that when her mother left, she left for good. Out of spite and envy of this ¿holy chair¿ Charity¿s father goes to Adriene¿s house, takes the chair, and locks it in the church basement. The next five chapters of the book, were absolutely fantastic. I literally didn¿t put the book down the rest of the day. This book was inspirational and really gets the reader thinking. No one knows for sure if the chair was really holy, or if it had any effect on the miracles that took place that summer. I am a devout Christian and reading this story really was controversial for me. Can envy drive a preacher mad? Can a chair split a whole community? And can Jesus really appear to someone? This book answered all these questions for me. If you read it I am confident it will for you too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to any one who needs a good book

    I thought this book was good. It wasn't as religious as I thought it would be, which could be good for some and bad for others. It was a very exciting book because it was hard to tell what would happen next. I definitly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2001

    Really Good Book!

    Slightly odd and religious, honestly I never thought I would read the book Send Me Down a Miracle. I guess since it has to deal heavily with the Christian Religion, I thought it would be boring and would talk about the Gospel, among other things. Charity, the local preacher¿s daughter, has to deal with a horrid summer. When her mother leaves; her father goes insane and makes her life, her little sister¿s, and the town¿s peoples¿ lives hard. It gets worse when a long time resident of Casper comes back from New York and moves back in. Oh-oh. Between her sister, her father, Adrienne and the ever-popular ¿Jesus Chair¿, how¿s a girl supposed to spend her summer? Smacked into the lifestyle of a preachers daughter, trying to uphold her father¿s every expectation and demand of her, she grows up and finds that everyday could be a new adventure. Even if it¿s idol worship. If you like books from a teenager¿s point of view, I¿m sure you¿ll like Send Me Down a Miracle, by Han Nolan. I know I did. Sarah B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    Send me Down a Miracle

    This book is quite intersting. I like this book and think others would like this book as well. I think it is based on an audience of mature 12-15 year olds, and would even be great for younger or older audiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1