Customer Reviews for

Send Me a Sign

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book is about more than just a teenage girl's battle with c

This book is about more than just a teenage girl's battle with cancer and the decision to tell her friends or keep everything a secret. It is about the strength others find in someone that they can't find in themselves. Mia convinces everyone around her that she is a fi...
This book is about more than just a teenage girl's battle with cancer and the decision to tell her friends or keep everything a secret. It is about the strength others find in someone that they can't find in themselves. Mia convinces everyone around her that she is a fighter and that she is perfect--everyone except her long time friend Gyver. Gyver breaks down all of the walls she surrounds herself her and convinces Mia and the readers that life isn't about the 'signs' around us but instead the parts of life we often overlook. This book will give you a form of strength that you wouldn't think could come from a book and will inspire you to look more closely to the things, and more importantly people, around you. Gyver and Mia's love and deep understanding show the true strength in fighters--the strength given by people who love them and will always be there to support them emotionally and physically. Sometimes people aren't alone and just when they think they are, someone opens their heart and shows them a new 'sign.'

posted by 5572845 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mia's a popular, pretty, smart girl with everything, and then he

Mia's a popular, pretty, smart girl with everything, and then her life begins spiralling downward when she's diagnosed with leukemia. Mia could have kept her friends and much of her normal life if she'd admit the truth to everyone, but her mom convinces her to fake at n...
Mia's a popular, pretty, smart girl with everything, and then her life begins spiralling downward when she's diagnosed with leukemia. Mia could have kept her friends and much of her normal life if she'd admit the truth to everyone, but her mom convinces her to fake at normalcy--and that begins her life. Pretending that she's okay and denying everything else. Having been perfect all her life, Mia doesn't know what to do when she's not the golden girl anymore.
Mia makes a lot of wrong decisions. She hides her cancer from her friends. She falls into the wrong arms out of loneliness. She wants everyone else to make the important decisions for her. I can understand that Mia would be scared and rely on signs to tell her what to do, but she's too busy worrying about herself to see how much she's hurting the people close to her. Her mom doesn't help at all. Mia's mom is overly involved in Mia's life and presses all of her expectations on Mia. While Mia is trying to figure out her life with cancer in it, her mom is busy trying to pretend that everything is okay to notice Mia's pain and need to clue in people on what's happening in her life. To choose the right boy instead of the one her mom wants for her.
The gems in this story are Ryan and Gyver. At first, I thought that Ryan was with Mia because he wanted to get into her pants, but he turns out to be really supportive and caring. In fact, I felt sorry for him because of how Mia was stringing him along, wanting to find solace in his kisses without committing to a relationship. The same goes for Gyver, except that I liked him all along. These two guys are Mia's rocks in her confusion, and the nice guys that they are they didn't deserve to be used like they were.
I love sad stories, and this sounded like it would be for me with Mia dealing with the big C. In ways, it is. I appreciate Mia's struggles coming to terms with her life after cancer. Her character growth has its ups and downs, but she does figure things out in the end. At the same time, it takes too long for her to realize what was really important to her, and she lashes out at the world in the process before realizing her mistakes. I would have also liked to see more of the medical sides to leukemia and how it impacts Mia. Mostly, this book is centered on the characters and their development, which would have worked if I was able to like Mia more. Unfortunately, between Mia's mom and Mia herself, there was too much drama for me. As much as I liked much of this book, it ended up not being for me. However, for those who are able to sympathize more with Mia, I'm sure they'll find a gem in this book.

posted by ImaginaryReads on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    A Page Turner

    I realize this book is written for a teenage audience, but as an adult, I truly enjoyed it. It was a quick easy read about a high school girl who finds out she has cancer, and how she emotionally handles it. It's not all sadness and doom and gloom, but I did shed a tear. However, a few times I laughed out loud. I commend Tiffany Schmidt on her first novel. I can't wait to read her next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    This book is about more than just a teenage girl's battle with c

    This book is about more than just a teenage girl's battle with cancer and the decision to tell her friends or keep everything a secret. It is about the strength others find in someone that they can't find in themselves. Mia convinces everyone around her that she is a fighter and that she is perfect--everyone except her long time friend Gyver. Gyver breaks down all of the walls she surrounds herself her and convinces Mia and the readers that life isn't about the 'signs' around us but instead the parts of life we often overlook. This book will give you a form of strength that you wouldn't think could come from a book and will inspire you to look more closely to the things, and more importantly people, around you. Gyver and Mia's love and deep understanding show the true strength in fighters--the strength given by people who love them and will always be there to support them emotionally and physically. Sometimes people aren't alone and just when they think they are, someone opens their heart and shows them a new 'sign.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    A Must Read <3

    When books usually grab my attention it's when the covers are interesting. This book Send Me a Sign I love the cover of this book and that's what drew me in to wanting to read it and I am so glad that I did :)!! I really could not put this book down and I would rush home from work to read it and take it where I went with me to read! That's how great of a book is! Wonderful writing! Love the story line. Maybe could have done with out some characters but I love the main character and the best friend the neighbor <3 don't want to give to much a way! Hope this helps:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mia's a popular, pretty, smart girl with everything, and then he

    Mia's a popular, pretty, smart girl with everything, and then her life begins spiralling downward when she's diagnosed with leukemia. Mia could have kept her friends and much of her normal life if she'd admit the truth to everyone, but her mom convinces her to fake at normalcy--and that begins her life. Pretending that she's okay and denying everything else. Having been perfect all her life, Mia doesn't know what to do when she's not the golden girl anymore.
    Mia makes a lot of wrong decisions. She hides her cancer from her friends. She falls into the wrong arms out of loneliness. She wants everyone else to make the important decisions for her. I can understand that Mia would be scared and rely on signs to tell her what to do, but she's too busy worrying about herself to see how much she's hurting the people close to her. Her mom doesn't help at all. Mia's mom is overly involved in Mia's life and presses all of her expectations on Mia. While Mia is trying to figure out her life with cancer in it, her mom is busy trying to pretend that everything is okay to notice Mia's pain and need to clue in people on what's happening in her life. To choose the right boy instead of the one her mom wants for her.
    The gems in this story are Ryan and Gyver. At first, I thought that Ryan was with Mia because he wanted to get into her pants, but he turns out to be really supportive and caring. In fact, I felt sorry for him because of how Mia was stringing him along, wanting to find solace in his kisses without committing to a relationship. The same goes for Gyver, except that I liked him all along. These two guys are Mia's rocks in her confusion, and the nice guys that they are they didn't deserve to be used like they were.
    I love sad stories, and this sounded like it would be for me with Mia dealing with the big C. In ways, it is. I appreciate Mia's struggles coming to terms with her life after cancer. Her character growth has its ups and downs, but she does figure things out in the end. At the same time, it takes too long for her to realize what was really important to her, and she lashes out at the world in the process before realizing her mistakes. I would have also liked to see more of the medical sides to leukemia and how it impacts Mia. Mostly, this book is centered on the characters and their development, which would have worked if I was able to like Mia more. Unfortunately, between Mia's mom and Mia herself, there was too much drama for me. As much as I liked much of this book, it ended up not being for me. However, for those who are able to sympathize more with Mia, I'm sure they'll find a gem in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Brilliant & Beautiful, Heartbreaking & Hopeful

    I could never resist picking a dandelion gone to seed, and I couldn't resist the beautiful simplicity of the cover of SEND ME A SIGN, either! The summer between Mia's junior and senior year is supposed to be the best time of her life, but instead of partying with her cheerleader friends and soccer star boyfriend, Mia ends up in the hospital battling leukemia. But SEND ME A SIGN isn't just a story about cancer . . . it's about fighting for control over your life, about friendships, secrets, omens, letting go, holding on, but most of all, SEND ME A SIGN is a phenomenal love story. This is one of those books where I ignored my family, friends and messy house because I had to know . . . what happens?!? Mia just wants to pretend everything is normal, but how does she explain so much time off from school and her mixed bag of symptoms? Tiffany Schmidt has a gift for creating realistic dialogue and her characters are genuine, multi-layered and at times, you'll want to yell at them, "Hey! Be nice to Mia! She's sick!" Brilliant, beautiful and alternately heartbreaking and hopeful - if I could blow on that cover dandelion, I would wish that Goodreads had more stars for me to shower this amazing story with!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I Want A Best Friend Like Gyver

    To tell the truth... I want a best guyfriend who is in love with me but doesn't push it. I want somebody to hold my hand and hug me close while I cry without actually being my boyfriend. It has always been my wish. I kind of have a friend like that but I haven' seen him and over six years now. And then the other one lives in California and I havent seen him in more than two years. So yeah kind of a bummer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    This book was really sad and adorable and crazy good, and hard f

    This book was really sad and adorable and crazy good, and hard for me to read for a few reasons. For one, one of my best friends is named Mia and the though of her having to go through what this Mia did broke my heart, another reason was because one of my other really good friends did go through this, and although the experiences were different for Mia and my friend, the thought of what she had to go through breaks my heart. (It happened while in college and we lived in different places to start with.)

    Anywho, I knew that this book was going to be all about Mia and how she grappled with cancer and she had to deal with what kind of an impact it would have on her life. One of her biggest decisions was if she should or should not tell her friends about what she was going through, and she would look for signs to see if she should.

    She does tell her neighbor Gyver about what she is going through after hearing a song that prompts the decision, but she chooses not to tell the &quot;Calendar Girls&quot; her friends who each represent a different season. I felt that her decision was fueled mostly by her mother who will not be getting any mother of the year awards in this book.

    I felt that her decision not to tell her friends was frankly a dumb one, and it was not the only decision that I didn't agree with. But more about her friends, I felt that her mother's pressure not to tell them was wrong, and that although it would have been awkward and uncomfortable at first, all she did was hurt herself by not having that extra support when she needed it most.

    I did like that the book went into the treatments that she had and the side effects she felt. I loved that this book didn't belittle cancer treatments and what happened to Mia as she went through her Chemo, it was brutal and honest and I really respected that.

    I did wish that Mia had stood on her own a little more. She relied so heavily on her signs that it almost seemed that she was incapable of making a decision for herself. I loved that Gyver got her a black cat named Jinx, and that he tried his best to put the cabosh on her sign obsession. I loved how supportive and caring he was even though she was with Ryan, and he didn't approve.

    I adored the book and these characters as they all struggled with Mia's diagnosis and her decisions along the way. I can't wait to see what Schmidt has in store for us in her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seeing the Real Signs One of the things that really resonated fo

    Seeing the Real Signs
    One of the things that really resonated for me about SEND ME A SIGN, was that absurd, but ever too popular notion that hiding the truth and going it alone are the right ways to navigate a life. I spent a lot of my teen years avoiding truths and reading the signs--anticipating others. Mia, with the help of some outside forces, has the misguided idea that keeping her leukemia a secret will allow her to slip back into her &quot;normal&quot; life again without any disruption. She uses signs from the universe to guide her deception, only to find that life and the people in it, are a little more complicated than what she might have imagined. This was a beautiful story about the importance of living your life truthfully and realizing that some times the disruption is the sign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Send Me a Sign is a sobfest, girl-with-cancer book. But here's t

    Send Me a Sign is a sobfest, girl-with-cancer book. But here's the thing: I wanted to roll my eyes at it, but it's hard to roll your eyes when they keep running across line after line of writing, and you can't find a good stopping place. Because with Send Me a Sign, the only good stopping place is the last page.
    The main character, Mia, is gorgeous, popular, smart, and oblivious to just how perfect her life is- until it isn't perfect anymore. We get to watch the house of cards fall. It doesn't all collapse at once, though; it comes down in slow motion, one piece at a time. Once Mia is stripped of all the glory of her former self, she can finally see who she really is and what is really important.
    There is a love triangle in this book, though it's not the kind that makes you want to throw the book across the room. And I'm not sure it even qualifies as a triangle, since Mia isn't aware of one boy's feelings for the majority of the book. These two boys really are equally wonderful, and neither stoops to worse than mild verbal attacks of the other. Another reason I couldn't put the book down is that the neighbor boy bff is SO much like Adam Wilde in If I Stay. I picked the book up to sneak 10 minutes over coffee at 5 AM because I was at a really good scene featuring him.
    Contemporary isn't my favorite, but once in a while, it's nice to have an excuse and permission to ugly cry. A hot boy is a bonus. Send Me a Sign delivers both, with a side of girl friendship. It's the best kind of reading indulgence. I recommend to a girl who's up for a guilty pleasure- one that you wouldn't be embarrassed if your mom caught you reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    How long?

    How long is the book? It sounds really good, but I would like to know the length before I get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1