Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

very interesting novel, a great read

This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashw...
This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore.

I just read a few pages and the typos are terrible. You have to fill in and guess what words they are trying to say. There is a reason it is free.

posted by 7520262 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    good book

    I'm a fan of Jane's books, this is my second favorite. Only reason I gave it four stars is because there seems to be something lacking that I can't quite put my finger on it though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Pretty good

    My only complaint is that the pages numbers will not match the ones in the paper version. I know it sounds petty, but that is a pain when dealing with page to page assignments.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great loved it get it free some where else

    I totally loved thibook but you should get it for free on project gutenburg but that id the only thing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A well-written wonderful book!

    I read this for a bookclub discussion and everyone in the club enjoyed it. It was interesting to see how men and women lived in that era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This classic should be read by all

    While this book is written with syntax of an earlier time, and is therefore a bit difficult to follow, it is a classic that should be read by all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great classic

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it for a report and didnt feel horribly bored while reading it. I dont suggest this book if you have trouble understanding victorian age speeh or dislike books with events that seem to have no relevance to the story.
    Overall i really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    A Timeless Classic

    The Dashwood sisters are the true definition of sisterly love. The love between them, I believe, is loosely based on Jane Austen's relationship with her sister Cassandra. In believing that, I think it brings more depth to the characters and how the different events they encounter effect them emotionally. I love and adore how Miss Austen has given us stories that transport us from our hectic and unfair world, into a world where everything turns out all right for those who deserve it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dreadful Bliss

    Having previously read Emma, Persuasion, and Pride and Prejudice, I thought this love story would flow similarly to the other Jane Austen novels. I was however mistaken! I love that it is a love story for two very close sisters, Elinore and Marianne, but story is such a downer for so much of the book. When I only had three chapters left to read, I thought how can this story end well. In just three chapters, Jane Austen pull off another great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    It reads as if written last year!!!

    I love reading Jane Austin's books. Her writing is so clear and timeless. Her book grabs you and pulls you into the world of the Dashwoods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    For Someone Sensible!

    Sense and Sensibility is the first novel written by Jane Austen. I am very much a Jane Austen fan, and I pretty well enjoyed this book. I would have to say that I like Pride and Prejudice better, but that's just because it has a happier ending in my opinion. Sense and Sensibility is a book about the inevitable fates of two sisters and their lovers. Elinor is the oldest and Marianne the younger of the two. Elinor and Marianne both go through trials, suffering, and pain because of their love. The ending is surprising and unexpected, but it is, for the most part, pleasing and satisfying. This book is not as cheerful as some, but the story is very good. Jane Austen is a beautifully creative writer. She designs her characters to be as complex and interesting as the story itself. This book is wonderful for a romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    Satirical

    Elinor, a sensible, sincere girl, and Marianne, her passionate, adventurous sister, learn about the heartache, ecstasy, and devotion that often accompany love. After their father¿s death, Elinor and Marianne are forced out of their home by their greedy half-brother. Through the following year, Elinor, who is quietly harboring her own broken heart, attempts to calm Marianne¿s sensibilities as she first falls madly in love with a dashing young man and then throws herself into fits of despair when her hopes are disappointed. Sense and Sensibility is about two very different sisters who bond as they learn to understand each other¿s passions. With her clever insight into society¿s foibles, Austin has written an entertaining satirical novel about the love between two sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    A Quiet Triumph

    Just finished this book, the third Jane Austen book I've read, and liked it very much. I will sometimes read two books at once, if one of the books I'm reading is a slow paced read and this book happened to be the book I was planning to pick up occasionally. Well, it didn't quite turn out that way, because I became engrossed in this story. I love Austen's ability to tell an interesting story among the gentility, while making a social commentary. She is so subtle in doing this, interweaving critique of that culture with a story about the struggles of savvy but confined young women. I also love her use of irony-always showing that things are not always what they seem. I think some people may shy away from Jane Austen, but they're missing out on stories with as much depth and meaning, as some other authors, such as Dickens. She's just more subtle and quiet in her storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Sense and Sensibilty

    In ¿Sense and Sensibility¿ by Jane Austen, two sisters, Elinor and Marianne, experience the ways of the world at large. After their father dies, their brother and his wife inherit their house, causing them to move their lives to a different countryside. After they have both been later introduced to possible love interests (and both fall in love), they are shocked at the outcome of their situations: Marianne¿s interest leaves her for another girl, and Elinor¿s interest, Edward, is found to have been engaged to another girl for the past four years. After the girls realize how naïve they have been, they attempt to recuperate and put their lives back together. Austen uses situational irony to reveal her theme of people should never expect life to go just as planned but have faith that everything will work out in the end, by making the reader hope that everything will turn out for the best. Toward the beginning of the book, she makes the reader think that Elinor and Edward are going to be married in a very short amount of time. This however does not happen, and the reader finds out why when Elinor is told of his engagement to another woman. Austen does this again with Marianne and a man named Willoughby. They seem to be completely in love and ready to get married, when he leaves her for a richer woman. The reader expects the very opposite of all of this to happen. Overall, it is a very entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    "Sense and Sensibility: Great for Teenagers and Young adults"

    Over all, "Sense and Sensibility" was a great book. There were difficult parts throughout the story, but it was still a great read. This book is recommended to teenagers and young adults, because Jane Austen used difficult words and terms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    Read the book after watching the movie!

    Sense and Sensibility was Jane Austen's first full book. Not surprisingly, it shows. The story, though interesting, was hampered down by over-detailed descriptions. This book is not as enthralling as Austen's next book, Pride and Prejudice, but it is a starting in the right direction, and some of Austen's little aside jabs at society are but the foreshadowing of Elizabeth Bennet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4