Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

very interesting novel, a great read

This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashw...
This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore.

I just read a few pages and the typos are terrible. You have to fill in and guess what words they are trying to say. There is a reason it is free.

posted by 7520262 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Not her best

    I love Jane Austen as much as the next person, but I was bored stiff in this book, much to my disappointment. I found it hard to feel connected to the characters, and it was just plain dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    Not for me very boring

    I am 14 and I read this book for English and I'm not a big fan of the book here are some reasons why. There is one main reason why I chose this book. The reason I chose it was because I have never read a classic literature book so I decided to go with this book, wrong decision for me. I did not like this book because every time I read it my mind would run wild and if I really liked the book then I wouldn't have had that problem. If it was a really good book then it should have been able to keep my interest but it didn't it was like I was staring at a brick wall it was horrible. I have only read this book by Jane Austen but I just felt like she took way too long explaining things and I just got really bored reading the book. It also took me a really long time to read it because since it didn't catch my attention and didn't make any sense I would have to reread things over and over again I think I read chapter 1 5 times before I fully understood what was happening. I would not recommend this book for a person that doesn't read at a very high reading level. I have a pretty high reading level but this book was just too hard for me. After I read this book I watched the movie and then I got what was really going on and I liked the movie much more than the book. From other people that I have talked to about the book, have said that they watched the movie 2 or 3 times and then they read the book and they said that, that really helped them to understand the book so I would recommend doing that. One good thing that I have to say about this book is that it ended well, I don't want to spoil the book but I really liked the ending, it ended the way it should have. I know a lot of people absolutely love this book but I would have to give this a thumbs down but I am not a classic literature person so I would recommend it to those of you that like classic literature. I would have to admit that Jane Austen is a romantic don't get me wrong I like the idea of the book but I just don't like how long and descriptive it was. If I were to give this book a rating from 1-5 I would give it a 2.5 just because of the fact that is was boring. If you're interested in reading this book I would recommend that you read it but if you read it and you think its boring then don't say I didn't warn you. I also am going to try to read Pride and Prejudice because I have heard from other people that it is much better then Sense and Sensibility so I am willing to give Jane Austen another chance and I know some of you might think I'm crazy for not necessarily liking Jane Austen because I know a lot of people that absolutely love her, so just try it out and see what you think personally I did not like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Booooooooooooring!

    This book was soooooooooooo boring! It was like torture reading this book! I read this after I read Pride&Prejudice by Jane Austen, and was expecting this to be just as good, but I was DEAD wrong! I wanted to see the movie Sense and Sensibility, though, so I had to finish it. For 7/8 of the time, it was like staring at a brick wall. It didn't end very good, either. Pride and Prejudice was SOOOOOOO MUCH BETTER!!! I loved the book Pride and Prejudice, and loved the movie even more! But Sense and Sensibility.....it wasn't good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1