BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility

Average Rating 4
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

very interesting novel, a great read

This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashw...
This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore.

I just read a few pages and the typos are terrible. You have to fill in and guess what words they are trying to say. There is a reason it is free.

posted by 7520262 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Typos galore.

    I just read a few pages and the typos are terrible. You have to fill in and guess what words they are trying to say. There is a reason it is free.

    15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    Love the Story...

    ...but not the free Google version...the problem with just scanning and relying on software to "error" check, is that it makes new and different mistakes. It's gotten to the point that I'm going to delete my free version and spend some money on a different copy.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    very interesting novel, a great read

    This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Bad copy

    This is a bad copy of a good book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Bad!!!!

    Its spaces out hard to read many typos and symbols in RANDOM places its bad!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Absolutely horrid!

    Could not read. Incomplete words, extraneous characters, special characters. Not worth being free. Someone would have to pay me to keep this.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    So many typographical errors on every page! Not worth trying to get through. Seriously - not even worth it for free.

    I would give it a rating of negative 5 if I could. I' m sure there must be a well transferred version out there, but this is not it. Horrific typos are so prevalent that it was difficult to even determine what some words were supposed to be. Even multiple pages that had half of the manuscript replaced by symbols rather than words. It may be a good classic novel if it were readable.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    An average book, not one of Austen's best

    I read Sense and Sensibility as a follow up to Pride and Prejudice, and honestly, I was disappointed. The plot of the story was predictable, although it might have intended to be surprising. I felt quite indifferent to the characters, and the whole book kind of dragged. On the average level, this books is readable, but not spectacular like Pride and Prejudice. So if you are planning to read this as a follow-up to Pride and Prejudice, my advice is don't. Instead, read Mansfield Park (also by Austen), which is ten times better, at least in my opionon.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    good book

    I'm a fan of Jane's books, this is my second favorite. Only reason I gave it four stars is because there seems to be something lacking that I can't quite put my finger on it though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Favorite Austen!

    Sense and Sensibility is my favorite novel by Jane, if not my favorite novel period. The characters are charmimg and delightful!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love

    Thank you to Jim Hart at Bethany House for providing my copy of this classic. I couldn't help but wonder how the classic might have been improved.Historical and cultural details and definitions from England's early 1800s, facts about Austen's life that enhance the storyline, as well as many other notations, conveniently interspersed along the side margins make this an easy-to-use tutorial.I suggest that Homeschoolers, students of all ages and stages would benefit by the read or rereading. As a retired high school English teacher, I would chose this edition to teach.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    A book to be read over again!

    After my first reading of this beautifully written romance, I found myself intrigued by Austen's ability to create characters and situations that draw me in and hold me close. I now find myself looking for more novels by her that I have to read. I want find out if these other novels are as captivating and emotional as Sense and Sensibility. I highly recommend this and all other Jane Austen books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Very good!!!!!!

    This is the first book I've ever read by Jane Austen. I think she is a very good author. I think this book is very good, so don't listen to the people who say it's bad or not worth reading. I'm beautiful and smart so take my advice and read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Pretty good

    My only complaint is that the pages numbers will not match the ones in the paper version. I know it sounds petty, but that is a pain when dealing with page to page assignments.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Poor Printing Mangles Classic

    Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility is a delightful novel, but this edition has mangled her classic, rendering it almost illegible. Stray symbols and letters make it nearly impossible to read. Please seek out another edition for your reading pleasure, as this particular eBook offers no benefits. Though the story is not to be missed, you would do well to find a different copy of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed this story. It keeps you guessing as to who will marry whom and if a characters flaws or assets will be found. I recommend it as a classic book that you can go to for a look back at the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    Love Jane Austin

    I always enjoy sitting down and reading a Jane Austin book. I have read and re-read Sense and Sensibility many times through the years. I am excited to now have this book on my Nook and available to me with the push of a button.
    Jane Austin fans will understand this. If you haven't read this book ,you are missing a trip into a young woman's look of love in years gone by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    This is such an excellent book!

    Jane Austen only gifted us with a few books, but they are all stellar. Each should be required reading for anyone who who aspires to be or says he is a well-educated person. Sense and Sensibility shows the reader what life was like during Austen's time. The manners of the time, the role of inheritance (or lack thereof), inter- and intra-family relationships...all are so intricate and important for the time. Dive in, enjoy the characters, enjoy the slower pace...you'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Highly Recommended Reading

    I LOVE this book, read many times. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Bad scan

    Poor copy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17