Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

very interesting novel, a great read

This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashw...
This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore.

I just read a few pages and the typos are terrible. You have to fill in and guess what words they are trying to say. There is a reason it is free.

posted by 7520262 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    very interesting novel, a great read

    This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Favorite Austen!

    Sense and Sensibility is my favorite novel by Jane, if not my favorite novel period. The characters are charmimg and delightful!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love

    Thank you to Jim Hart at Bethany House for providing my copy of this classic. I couldn't help but wonder how the classic might have been improved.Historical and cultural details and definitions from England's early 1800s, facts about Austen's life that enhance the storyline, as well as many other notations, conveniently interspersed along the side margins make this an easy-to-use tutorial.I suggest that Homeschoolers, students of all ages and stages would benefit by the read or rereading. As a retired high school English teacher, I would chose this edition to teach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    A book to be read over again!

    After my first reading of this beautifully written romance, I found myself intrigued by Austen's ability to create characters and situations that draw me in and hold me close. I now find myself looking for more novels by her that I have to read. I want find out if these other novels are as captivating and emotional as Sense and Sensibility. I highly recommend this and all other Jane Austen books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Very good!!!!!!

    This is the first book I've ever read by Jane Austen. I think she is a very good author. I think this book is very good, so don't listen to the people who say it's bad or not worth reading. I'm beautiful and smart so take my advice and read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    I ...

    ...love it! Jane austen is my moms favorite author so I decided I should give it a try. I loved the 2h movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great

    Jane austebs book arw great. All of her books are amazing. Reading a book is better than watching the movie because books have more information than a movie. Like the twilight series the book had more info than the movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Maybe you should read and watch more 18 centery stuff

    I love the book the movie is very good also.
    Also story Pride and Prejudice
    It is a good book and movie but dont watch the older one thats really boreing watch the newer one with keira nightly in it
    Anyway five thumps up!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Prefer a book without models on cover

    I bought this book so that I could have it when I want to pick it up to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Happy to be finally reading this novel!

    Easy to find in the storeAlways friendly and helpful staff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Love it!

    Miss Austen knows how to write a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book. It kept me in suspense the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Well formatted version!

    I'm so tired of all the garbage versions of classics out there. This is a good version...nice attention to editing and detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Trivia, Notes, and Useless Information...What Fun!!

    This Insight Edition of Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen was a blast to read. I have to admit, I didn't know what I was getting myself into. At first, I thought all the little sidebars were a little annoying, but as I got further and further into the book, I found myself actually looking forward to them.

    This book is a classic written in the beautiful prose of the 18th Century writer, Miss Jane Austen. I can't remember the last time I had read one of her books, but I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this book. It even inspired me to rent the 1995 movie with Emma Thompson and Hugh Grant in it. I love the contrasts between the two sisters, the overly dramatic, romance-seeking Marianne, and the calm, steady, level-headed, Elinor.

    I look forward to seeing more books like this from Bethany House. This is a great way to get re-acquainted with the classics.

    This book was provided to me free of charge as part of Bethany House Book Reviewers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I fall in love each and every time

    I have read this book and seen the film several times and each and every time it feels like the first time. I am amazed at how Jane Austen transports the reader into her story so as to make you feel each character's emotions deeply. Like Marianne, I fall madly in love with Willoughby, only to be heartbroken and at the same time burn with the love that Elinor feels for Edward, but must keep to herself.
    All the characters are lovely whether you love to love them or love to hate them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Edition!

    I remember the first time I discovered Jane Austen. I was enthralled by the first few lines of Pride and Prejudice, and have been enrapt ever since. With Valentine's Day being mere days away, this week is the perfect time to read a romantic Austen classic. Bethany House Publishers just released an "insight edition" of my favorite Austen novel, Sense and Sensibility.

    This edition includes the original beloved manuscript, reprinted with the most lovely chapter headings. As an "insight edition," Sense and Sensibility also contains hundreds of margin notes. These things cover movie trivia, historical details, facts from Austen's life that are paralleled in the novel, and :) and :(rankings for characters. A reading discussion guide is included in the end of the book, perfect for a book club or even a casual conversation with a friend.

    I loved this edition. The insights were helpful for some of the trickier vocabulary and confusing geographical locations. I also appreciated the cultural facts to broaden my understanding of the setting of Austen novels. Personally, I am glad that I read the book without insights first because I am a very distracted reader! This edition may be just the thing to give to a friend who has never read Austen, though. This book is accessible for anyone! Pick up a copy and immerse yourself in this timeless love story.

    (Psst! They also have an insight edition of Pride and Prejudice!)

    This book was provided for my review by Bethany House Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    great book

    This book is just sooo great. I would recommend it to anyone. And it has like all of Jane Austin's books those Characters that are funny, annoying, lovable and then ther ones you really despise. Which makes this book so good! The 3 sisters really have a bond. Which is heartwarming, and the Leading man. O you'll love them! But I was upset when my Secound favorite Character( Mr. Willougby) turned out to.... o wait I cant tell you! It will surly ruin the surprise this book offers! Or I should say surprises, because there are many thrilling things you would never exspect. So if your reading this review to see if you want to read it, do! Even if you think that roamnce/adventure stories really arent your taste, give this one a chance. I also recommend the movie. It is very much like the book. But there are maybe a couple parts int eh book that are left out. But it is still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    The most beautiful book!

    This is the most wonderful, beautiful love story. It shows love on so many levels. I have read it over and over and still cry and laugh every time! Buy it and read it, then read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Great Book

    Sense and Sensibility was a more intriguing read than Pride and Prejudice. Its characters had more to offer, and its plot was more thoroughly engrossing. Austen carefully maintained my interest throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    Excellent

    This book was excellent, I loved it! At some parts it got a little boring but overall it was really good. Jane Austen is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8