Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

very interesting novel, a great read

This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashw...
This book was extrememly interesting. I enjoyed the clever love triangles occuring thoughout the book. Jane Austen is a wonderful writer who has a talent of creating complex characters, with very real emotions and problems. The reader is able to relate with the Dashwood girls as they struggle with unrequited love. The reader is never bored with the captivating lives of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Typos galore.

I just read a few pages and the typos are terrible. You have to fill in and guess what words they are trying to say. There is a reason it is free.

posted by 7520262 on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    great book

    This book is just sooo great. I would recommend it to anyone. And it has like all of Jane Austin's books those Characters that are funny, annoying, lovable and then ther ones you really despise. Which makes this book so good! The 3 sisters really have a bond. Which is heartwarming, and the Leading man. O you'll love them! But I was upset when my Secound favorite Character( Mr. Willougby) turned out to.... o wait I cant tell you! It will surly ruin the surprise this book offers! Or I should say surprises, because there are many thrilling things you would never exspect. So if your reading this review to see if you want to read it, do! Even if you think that roamnce/adventure stories really arent your taste, give this one a chance. I also recommend the movie. It is very much like the book. But there are maybe a couple parts int eh book that are left out. But it is still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    The most beautiful book!

    This is the most wonderful, beautiful love story. It shows love on so many levels. I have read it over and over and still cry and laugh every time! Buy it and read it, then read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Great Book

    Sense and Sensibility was a more intriguing read than Pride and Prejudice. Its characters had more to offer, and its plot was more thoroughly engrossing. Austen carefully maintained my interest throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    Excellent

    This book was excellent, I loved it! At some parts it got a little boring but overall it was really good. Jane Austen is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    A Great Love Story

    The first book I read from Austen was Emma and it liked me very much, so decide to read Sense and Sensibility; which in my opinion was greater than Emma. The book refelcts the real feelings of a woman and it involves you in the story. Even is to sweet is GREAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2000

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS WRITTEN

    Even if I am only 16 I have a passion for reading books. Sense and Sensiblity gave me a window into young womens lives in that time. A must for young woman looking for a book with romance, but no corny lines. A true romance. The world needs more of that in this world. There is still problems since young love is so fragile and is burned. I feel every 16 year old should read this and think to themsleves, what is more worth? Marriage or the happiness in knowing yourself? Ask yourself that and buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    I could't put it down

    It was so COOL!!! My Mom and I read it at the same time like a race. We were mopping our eyes in the middle and at the end still mopping up the floor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    OH WOW!!!

    I love this book! I couldn't put it down. I cried I laughed and I smiled. It was great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9